We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Ein Avdat” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramon Crater

Ramon Crater
Mitspe Ramon, Mitspe Ramon 8060000, Israel
0524433286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Mitspe Ramon
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Go to Ein Avdat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I understand that the "Crater" is geologically interesting, but it really isn't much to look at. Once you've been driving through the desert for a couple hours (which you will have done to get here), you've seen this kind of scenery. Don't get me wrong, if I was passing through I'd stop to take a look. And the wild Ibex were neat. But if you're looking to spend 1/2 a day doing nature in this area, go to Ein Avdat. There you will see something beautiful and unique.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    39
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokneam Moshava
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
177 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“The place for desert lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Come when it's cooler and enjoy a unique geological phenomenon that also offers a variety of attractions in the close vicinity. Wander the small canyons, watch the colors of the rocks and ground, enjoy the peacefullness.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A hike through the Maktesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Noam, a member of the mountain rescue squad and a free-lance guide led us through a great day hike in the Maktesh - we walked from the cliff down into the crater, through a number of wadis, and ultimately we were picked up by his friend driving a land rover on the far side of the Maktesh. We learned about the geology and fauna of the Maktesh.and ultimately hiked for 6 hours. We had real hiking boots and Alpine walking sticks with us, and were glad we had them. You can't do this hike in flip-flops.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular jeep ride in Ramon Crater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had a great time in the Ramon Crater, a gorgeous desert "canyon." Take a jeep tour and enjoy the surroundings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“This is a large crater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not as deep as the Grand Canyon but very interesting nevertheless. We just admired it from an overlook and drove through but visitors with more time might want to bike or hike.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramon Crater also viewed

Mitspe Ramon, Southern District
Mitspe Ramon, Southern District
 
Mitspe Ramon, Southern District
Mitspe Ramon, Southern District
 

Been to Ramon Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramon Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.