We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“comfortably Numb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silk Road Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silk Road Guesthouse
Save
You added Silk Road Guesthouse to your Saves list
No 5 - Taleh Khakestary Alley | Jame Mosque Street, Yazd, Iran   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Yazd
Shiraz, Iran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfortably Numb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Yazd is a wonderful place for walking around. you just search and found! sometimes you see something that surprise you and make you walk for another hour....
Suddenly you found your self tired, thirsty and hungry. you need a place to rest, somewhere quiet, pacific and cosh... Silk road hotel is that place. with friendly crew, enlivening atmosphere and very low prices of course.
you can also find good friends in there and share your Information and memoirs.

Room Tip: Room No.3 is a single room with a big bed. you can also use it as a double room if you travel as a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    14
    7
    18
See reviews for
13
43
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The courtyard is fantastic: covered and heated during wintertime.
I paid 300.000 ryal (16 euros) for a single room with private bathroom and breakfast.
Rooms are not fantastic like the courtyard but they are not so bad. Beds are very hard like everywhere in Iran!
You can taste very delicious traditional dishes overall when they prepare buffet dinner.
The owners can arrange for you tour and excursion in the desert but if you need some information about public transport they seem not to know it, maybe because they want to arrange for you a private transportation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had 2 nights here while we visited Yazd. The owners are very friendly and the courtyard is great. It had a lovely friendly feeling about it. The meals were very nice and buffet breakfast had quite a bit of variety.
We stayed in a double room which was nice, but the bed was so hard and the bathroom could have done will a thorough clean, although it wasn't too bad. The wifi was a bit hit and miss.
For the atmosphere I would recommend staying here, but it wasn't a comfy sleep - I'm sure some of the other rooms are better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt barker, WA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The owners here seemed to not give a stuff and were more concerned for the well heeled tourists coming in for the overpriced meals.
The buffet was excellent, rooms small, but the courtyard great.
Restaurant meals were overpriced

The dorm would be an excellent choice for the single traveller but pretty small and not enough washing and WC facilities. We let some friends use our bathroom because of it.

Later in our travels we were told of a few better places up the street, but we met some friends here at the silk road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

People were just fantastic - stayed in the dorm and everything about this place is fantastic. You hear about this hostel so much when you are travelling anywhere in Central Asia.

Food was absolutely fantastic - the owner is a really nice person.

Make sure you visit Zoroastrian sites in this fantastic city - Atashkadah , Chak Chak , the village and towers of silence ( absolutely amazing at sunset) if you are into that kind of stuff.

Also the ruins of Kharanaq are beautiful.. a must

I am Indian originally but not sure why such an important place of Parsi/Zoroastrian interest didnt have many Indians visiting. such a shame. The owner's wife is Indian and wanted to know how to have more Indian visitors to this place. any suggestions?

would love to go back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This place may go down as one of the coolest hotels I’ve ever stayed in. It has a huge courtyard to chill out in, a restaurant with a wide range of international foods and local specialties, free buffet breakfast and wifi (although it is a little unreliable – my mac connected at first but then refused to acknowledge the connection, but I do know of this problem occurring with macs elsewhere as well). We stayed in a room with a double bed, bathroom with shower, western toilet and – wait for it – toilet paper! It also had air con, a small fridge and a desk. The reception staff are helpful and organised our bus tickets to Shiraz for us. A little pricy at 400 000 a night but definitely worth the cash.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at the silk road. It was the only backpacker style place i stayed at in Iran. Free wifi and some great trips out. This place is bound to be succsesfull. Also a rarity for Iran - decent coffee. I recomend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silk Road Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Road Guesthouse

Address: No 5 - Taleh Khakestary Alley | Jame Mosque Street, Yazd, Iran
Location: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Yazd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silk Road Yazd

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silk Road Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.