We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“rather basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yazd Hotel Kourosh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yazd Hotel Kourosh
Save
You added Yazd Hotel Kourosh to your Saves list
Off Imam Khomeini St., Yazd 8919954633, Iran   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Yazd B&B and Inns
Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“rather basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We ended up here because all the other hotels were full. Only one room was left, very simple, though clean. Breakfast is also rather basic. On the whole a bit disappointing for 1000000 although the lady at the reception is very helpful and the location is nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
9
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I choose this hotel for the good comments in the tripadvisor. Actually there is nothing wrong with the hotel. It just myself. I want a better hotel but not hostel. It is good for save money. The location is ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel was excellent as was the value for money. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful with booking tickets and taxis and it ended up being a good stay. The hotel has a nice courtyard to relax and drink tea and the hotel offers free wifi.

Initially however, it disappointed us, we had reserved a double room, agreed a price for the room and confirmed it the morning of our arrival. In the evening when we arrived we were told they had no double rooms left, only a 4 person room which was more expensive. We complained and said we would not stay if they could not honour our booking which they did. We were shown to our room, the sheet did not fit the bed (which we had to make ourselves), the toilet was a bit wobbly and we were not provided with any soap (other that liquid hand wash).

Some of these things however you must accept given the price and location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel Kourosh because of the good reviews on TA, but frankly speaking I was a bit disappointed.
Pros: The hotel is in a 400-year old house, which is nice. The hotel locates in the old city of Yazd and is not far from Alexandria prison. It's about 10-15 minutes walk to Jameh Mosque (a little bit far). We stayed in a double room at ~US$20/day, which is really cheap. Although the courtyard is a bit small, but it's just nice to chill out there. Lastly, the rooms are reasonably clean.
Cons: The worst breakfast we had in Iran. They only serve nang, jam, tea and a cold boiled egg. They didn't even bother to add some cucumbers, tomatos, fruits or juices. It shows how little attention they put in customer service. 2 out of 3 rooms our group stayed in had problem with shower, faucet or toilet stool. We ordered shisha at night and it cost ~US$4. We were ok with it, but our guide told us it's rape by Yazd standard. The staff were ok but definitely not very hospital by Iranian standard.
Recommendation: We visited Kohan Hotel and thought that is for sure a better choice at similar price range. Silk Road probably has too many people thanks to its popular restaurant (btw, it's very good and you shouldn't miss it). If you are willing to pay a bit more (US$40-60 for a double), I think Fahadan Great Hotel and Orient Hotel are both very good choices in the old city. If you are ok to stay out of the old city, we've heard good things about Hotel Dad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the door open to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenasia, Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Staying in the old city and Kourosh with its courtyard was really great. Reception and staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is basic (boild eggs , flat bread, jam, cheese, tea). Rooms are basic, bathrooms could be better and need a bit of sprucing up, but overall, you will love the ambiance and will really miss Kourosh when you leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice location, good price, hospital and helpful staff.

The building of the hotel has 400-year-old history. It is located in the Old City. Many tourist sites are near the hotel. You could take a taxi from bus terminal to the hotel. The building is quite special. It has local features.

You could exchange money. The staff of the hotel will help you book taxi from the hotel to the bus terminal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was recommended this place... and I definitely do not regret the choice. Relaxed and relaxing atmosphere. Air conditioned in rooms. A patio to rest, chat or read. Nice coffee if you request it. Great location (2 minutes walk from Alexander Prison). Kind and welcoming staff who helped me with my trip. 100% Iranian hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yazd Hotel Kourosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yazd Hotel Kourosh

Address: Off Imam Khomeini St., Yazd 8919954633, Iran
Location: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Yazd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
kourosh traditional hotel with over400yrs old and quite traditional architecture and equipment is located in the historical house of Najafi Yazdi at the middle of traditional context of city and kindly recieve tourists from all over the world. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yazd Hotel Kourosh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.