We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Beautiful interior courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dad
Save
You added Hotel Dad to your Saves list
241 | 10th Farvardin Ave, Yazd 8913875639, Iran   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Yazd
Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel Dad in Yazd is like a traditional hotel from the outside. Once inside it is a very complete venue to stay in Yazd while getting local flavor and covering international comfort needs. The rooms are all around the central Yard, some of them have windows directly to it, or to the hallway.
Check in was fast (something that does not always happen in Iran). Room was very clean, but at the begging had a strange odor. After a while of open windows and use, it was okay.
Décor is one of the nicest in Iran. Bathroom is good sized and it is cleaner than the average hotel.
Breakfast is the weak link here.
Certainly I could stare here when in Yazd again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
31
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel in the central part of Yazd. According to the pictures hanging on the internal patio has been recently restored which to me it does not like, maybe for the lack of maintenance.
The internal yard looks nice but then you realize that all the fountains are broken or not working.
The rooms do not have a window but they are all facing the internal patio so you must keep always the curtains closed otherwise people going into their rooms they will see through.
My bathroom was small with some used slippers (!) and the hair dryer very close to the bathtub with the risk of having the water coming from the shower going on the hairdryer (my compliments to the architect). Another strange thing for a new hotel were the stairs from gound floor to first floor infact they were steep and high and once you were down to the ground floor you had to watch not to hit the head to the ceiling since the stairs were misplaced.
They claim to have a pool I tried to follow the directions but I only found a room full of chairs.
My bed was full of hair from the previous customers.
Internet is not working at all in the rooms while you can check your mails in the lobby.
Breakfast is buffet and is served in a huge room with very few people inside. There are not too many choices if you do not like Iranian food.

It was my fisrt time in Yazd I hope next time they will book me in another place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location on a noisy street (but the hotel not noisy at all). Nice reception- appreciated the glass of juice at the entrance (in a wine glass- nice touch!). Very clean and elegant hotel (go on the roof to seehow nice the courtyard is!) ..we had a room for three people and it was a really good size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Hotel Dad (“generous hotel” in the Farsi language) is well located in Yazd, one of the oldest towns in Iran.

My rooms was spacious, extremely quiet (toward the rear of the hotel), clean and well furnished with two full-size beds, a love seat, TV, mini-bar, writing desk, and pretty carpet. The bathroom was especially wonderful with a very large tub, plenty of clean towels and lots of hot water with excellent pressure.

The food in the hotel’s restaurant was superb, including a very abundant and tasty breakast.

The swimming pool was closed for whatever purpose, but that didn’t detract me from enjoying the ambience provided by the magnificent courtyard.

I most definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the REAR PART of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had an enjoyable two night stay at Hotel Dad. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful enough, our room comfortable, and the location good. On the first night my husband and I thought about going out exploring to find a restaurant for dinner, but decided it was easier to stay in and eat at the hotel restaurant - no regrets, the food was nice (Iranian style) and we enjoyed sitting out in the beautiful courtyard until a sand storm kicked in which was quite dramatic and a novelty for us! (we retreated with all the other diners inside to finish our meal with bowls of delicious ice-cream).
The breakfast selection was also good.
We had our own laptop and ipad, however the public computers in the lobby were a bonus for us - free wi-fi, and for the first and only time in Iran I was able to connect to Facebook there.
Yazd was my favourite city in Iran; it's a beautiful city with much to see, and staying at Hotel Dad just added to the charm.
It's hard to comment on the value because, as with most of our accommodation in Iran, we don't know what it cost us per night (the tariff was paid for in advance as part of a lump sum for the tour). I'd happily return to the hotel however.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent two nights here in April 2013. I liked the Dad a lot, and would happily stay here again. By Iranian standards I thought this hotel was quite good, and my “star” rating is based on Iranian standards.

Positives.
- The hotel has a nice courtyard with lots of seating, and good views over the city from the outdoor rooftop terrace.
- The hot water termperature and pressure in the shower was excellent.
- The bed was comfy, not too firm or too soft for me.
- The room was large and very clean.
- The lentil soup at the breakfast buffet here was particularly good, as was the halvah, which was of the Yazd type - soft and almost peanut-buttery in consistency. (I loved the lentil soup in Iran and had it for breakfast whenever it was available - the soup here was one of the best I had on the entire trip.)
- The hotel’s location is good, within walking distance of the old town.
- There’s a postal facility, at which you can buy stamps and send mail, right across the street.

Negatives/other factors.
- The rooms open to the outside rather than to an interior hall, and there was a fair amount of noise from people passing back and forth. Because the windows also open to this outer area (at least on the ground floor, where my room was), I had to keep the curtains drawn to keep people from being able to see in.
- In April, the AC wasn’t functioning, and because of the windows situation, I couldn’t leave the curtains open. This made for hot sleeping conditions, which I don’t enjoy.
- There was a VERY LOUD call to prayer at 5 AM.
- The plumbing kind of had to be coaxed, but eventually worked well enough.
- The lights by and above the bed were quite weak - not really bright enough to read by.


For me the positives definitely outweighed the negatives, and I would stay here again if I returned to Yazd.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Writing this from the free internet station at the lobby of this hotel (connection quite fast). The hotel is absolutely charming and quaint, particularly with the courtyard (whether viewed in day time or in evening). Our room is a double room which faces the courtyard, and everything inside the room is in order. The furnishings inside the bathroom are very well maintained. Mattress relatively hard/solid so comfortable, but the pillow seems to be too high. As mentioned with earlier posts, the a/c does not seem to be working, which is really not a big problem anyway as it cools down in the evenings. There is no in-room safe and guests are asked to leave their passports at Reception until they check out. No free water or kettle either, but you can get water cheap for IRR 5,000 per 1.5L bottle at one of the takeaway food places nearby. Breakfast is somewhat basic in the sense that you don't get fruits, other than tomatoes, cucumber (not a fruit) and sweet dates. However, managed to buy some strawberries and oranges in one of the fruit stands on the way to/from Old Town proper. Had dinner in the courtyard al fresco last evening and that itself was an experience. Some of the staff members speak very good English, others not so well, but everybody (including the cleaning staff) puts on a big smile and will try their best to make your stay comfortable. Been reading about the swimming pool in the basement however the actual door to the pool seems to be locked. Not sure if it is still in operation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dad

Address: 241 | 10th Farvardin Ave, Yazd 8913875639, Iran
Location: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Yazd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the second ancient city in the world with more than 3000 years history, Dad Hotel enjoys a privileged position to main tourist attractions including Zoroastrians' Fire Temple and Amir Chakhmagh Complex. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
International Hotel Yazd

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.