We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful and jolly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Temple

Banyan Tree Temple
Senggarang, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Colourful and jolly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went by road and it is a little, but well worth the effort. It is a bit of a mix, with colourful statues, ponds and traditional structures. My favorite was a drunk laying in the shrubbery and the happy Buddha wearing glasses. A good place to go for young and old, it brought a smile to my face. Recommended

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lagoi, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One Banyan Tree's Temple with 200 years histories...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is amazingly that a Temple which is surrounded by Banyan Tree roots is indeed a good place to visit. especially If you are a Buddhist, you could spent your time to visit to that temple. it was an old and historical temple which is located at Senggarang Island. The island is not big, no shopping mall, but market selling local foods are available. it is a small island but filled with many 100 years historical temples. There are others old temples which you could visit if you were there. It worths... pray and make a wish... who knows, will turn into reality ^^....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Banyan Tree Resort.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had booked a suite for my client at Banyan Tree resort. He had too many good things to say about the resort. Especially the Banyan Tree Temple and the management of the Resort. Only thing was he said that if you are scared of lizards then you should avoid going to BIN TAN islands. There is nothing much a person can do about it, considering the d but I thought

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Decor was lovely, food was good, country and western/ Latino trio(what the...) were great

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This temple is across the estuary from Tanjung Pinang so we hired a boat. half way across, a torrential rain storm suddenly appeared. We sheltered in the main Chinese Temple first then found out that the Banyan Tree Temple is about one kilometre east of the main temple. After more sheltering, we got there, soaked to our skins, but it was worth it. The tree has wound its way around the temple very thoroughly.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banyan Tree Temple also viewed

Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
 

Been to Banyan Tree Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.