We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and Peaceful Temple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avalokitesvara Graha Temple (Guan Yin Temple)

Avalokitesvara Graha Temple (Guan Yin Temple)
Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Big and Peaceful Temple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Was in Tanjung Pinang for a weekend getaway with friends in 2010.
What attracted me is the rural living and sea food.
Tanjung Pinang is a very rural area, if one is going to compare with developed city, Tanjung Pinang is not. There are many 1/2 developed buildings, or non developed areas or such, but the scenaries are definitely beautiful if you are into portrait and into still scenes.
The local guide brought us to this gigantic temple. It was quiet and peaceful. Not easy to get to, so best is to hire a transport which many tourist does.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
427 reviews 427 reviews
283 attraction reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Not small”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We found this temple whilst out on ride on our little hire bike, set in extensive grounds it really does look impressive. The temple is very ornate with some beautiful carvings, not only as stand a lines, but as part of the structure such as the pillars. I think this temple is only just beginning and I would not be surprised to see it grow much a larger as the years go on. A little way out of the city but on the main road, worth avisit .

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful and serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We visited the temple last year during our trip to Bintan, Indonesia. It was beautiful. It is quite far from the resort we stayed in, so we visited on our way back to Kuala Lumpur. We went in noon, so its was very hot and sunny, that that helped the photographers. Its a must visit if you are in Bintan. Very colorful and state-of-art temple. You can spend time looking around and sitting inside peacefully.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

A lot of big statues and the temple was really nice. Although location is quite far from the resort, it's a nice place to drop by. Try to arrange for a tour.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chinese temple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I just passed requested tour guide not to alight us, haha no interest. But over slight over the hill look very grant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalokitesvara Graha Temple (Guan Yin Temple) also viewed

Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
 
Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
Bintan Island, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Avalokitesvara Graha Temple (Guan Yin Temple)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalokitesvara Graha Temple (Guan Yin Temple), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.