We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not as bad as it seems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Agro Resort & Convention

Hermes Agro Resort & Convention
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermes Agro Resort & Convention to your Saves list
Hermes Agro Resort & Convention
Jl. Raya Kawal Km. 25, Toapaya, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“It's not as bad as it seems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed there with my family of 8 people altogether for 2D1N. Got it from a deal of just 100$++ for a night stay. Wasn't bringing high hope to this resort after reading the following comments but turns out, it wasn't as bad as it is being stated.

For a short vacation it was alright.

Cons:
1) The travelling time from ferry terminal to the resort can take up to 1 1/2 hours of car journey. The price was at 50$ SGD

2) There isn't any beach, food and sports anywhere at the surrounding of the resort.
: 15min shuttle services to the beach

3) The swimming pool had some algae at the base and water spider but it was still swim-able. We still swum and played in the pool for 2hours before checking-out.


Pros:

1) The services provided at the resort was great.
: Reception staff do speak english only the driver don't. Communication wasn't a very major
problem.

2) They gave us complimentary shuttle service to and fro the beach without having to wait. (you just have to fix the time with the reception staff) The driver drove at a very comfortable speed.

3) Paid a reasonable price for the driver to drive us down to city and have dinner. They are able to drop you by the nearby shopping centre for a stroll too! (Fix a pick-up time with the driver will do)

4) Breakfast was alright even though with limited choices.


By paying 100++$ SGD, you can't ask for a 4-6 star resort service. But my family was satisfied with the service they gave us. The room was generally big and clean. We were driven up to our resort after every trip to the beach or city area. We also swap for complimentary driver to drove us back to the ferry terminal instead of city. The reception staff will plan your time for you to leave the resort.

F.Y.I
- My room electricity wasn't cut off in the middle of the night.
- We don't really need a phone either. Reception was within walking distance of 1min only.
- They can serve the food to your room once you ordered it from the reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hi All,
This is the worst resort that i ever been to. Below are the points for easier reading....

1) Bad location - No beach nearby, have to take a shuttle at limited times to go the beach
2) Room - Old, air-con not working well, limited tv programs, no phone!!!(WTH), no switch to switch off the lights???!!!! In fact, the power tripped around 1-2am, finally the lights went off.... together with the air con...
3) Dinner - Cannot make it, in fact we ordered something extra, it was horrible
4) Swimming pool - Have to walk 10-15 mins to reach. Beside an old building, swimming pool like ....... left there for so many years without maintenance.
5) Breakfast - 2-3 choices, nothing to choose from
6) Pool table - Full of dust and dirt

Basically it is so terrible that if someone offers free for me, i wouldn't even considered it!!! Please go to resorts in Bintan.. only regret that i never research much before committing in this trip.

Please learn from my lesson.

Room Tip: Please don't choose this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Pinang hotels

2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Hard old pillows that should have been destroyed during the dark ages,, no phone in the room (2min walk to reception without cover walkway), tv and arial cables not plugged in (do it yourself to watch tv), shower rose installed for Oompa Loompa's, breakfast lacked food. I'll stop, this gives you enough to work out you should avoid at all costs. By unplugging your phone you would have a better time at home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast Included means you have to ask the kitchen whether they want to add the empty trays.

The pillows in the room has passed its due date. Good luck trying to complain cos the staff don't speak English & no phone in the room for you to reach them anyway.

HORRIBLE!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Most of hotel staff can't speck English. No doubt room is spacious but surrounding was terrible...no phone in the room. If we need to check thing or need room service, we got to go to the lobby to check with recept. Food is terrible and limited item available. swimming worst...very very dirty. You really turn off when you see the swimming pool. Very run down resort and if you wanna play water sport, u need to take shuttle to another resort. No convenience shop there too...basically its dead town !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermes Agro Resort & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Agro Resort & Convention

Address: Jl. Raya Kawal Km. 25, Toapaya, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Tanjung Pinang
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermes Agro Resort & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Agro Resort & Convention Bintan Island/Tanjung Pinang, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Agro Resort & Convention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.