We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel In Tanjung Pinang City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“5 Star Hotel In Tanjung Pinang City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Aston hotel is one of the luxury and new hotel in Tg.Pinang. Room wise is quite small.
Price for local is a bit costly. For foreigners should be okay. My Aunt stay here so I come and visit her.

Swimming pool is just ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
23
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Rooms were nice. Staffs were helpful. only hotel stayers can open the door to their corridors at their own level. which is an added security. breakfast was good. lots of selections. in-house gym was not bad, with the basic equipments. lounge was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my 3rd trip to Tanjung Pinang and 1st time stay at Aston. Hotel provides free return shuttle from the Jetty.
Hotel looks new and the rooms didn't disappoint either. Rooms are spacious, cosy and clean.
Pool is quite large for this medium establishment which is good of course.
Breakfast is a complete fare of East meets West. Staffs always carry with them their smiles, are helpful and approachable. Hospitality wise, I'd rate them tops.
Overall, it was a great short getaway with my family of 19 of us and Aston played a big part in making it a wonderful family experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went to Tanjung Pinang for company business and stayed at this hotel for one night.

The people were friendly and helpful. During my stay, there was not peak season, so the hotel was relatively empty. The ambience was good. It was quite.

My room was clean and smelled good. The AC was good and the bathroom was super clean. The TV worked well and so did the coffee maker. I spoiled my self with hot water shower and a cup of delicious tea.

I absolutely will stay at this hotel again if I ever come to Tanjung Pinang.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were lured by the fabulous photos of the hotel rooms and great room rates on the tripadvisor website - so decided to explore Tanjong Pinang and try the hotel out. We booked & paid for the Premier room but at check-in were shown to what I suspected was their deluxe/standard room. We asked the front desk/reception staff several times if this is a premier room, showed them the copy of our confirmation online booking by HotelClub - and were told again yes, this is a premier room. When we returned to Singapore we double-checked the room photos on the website - for sure we were given a deluxe/standard room. The room itself smelt of stale cigarettes although there is a non-smoking sign, it is obviously not observed.
These rooms are located on 1st floor - main lobby & restaurant are on the 2nd floor. I am sure their premier rooms are probably on the 3rd floor. We were not able to sleep at all since these rooms are right below the restaurant and you can hear the sounds of the restaurant though the ceiling all night long.
We did try the restaurant & ate dinner there - surprisingly the food was quite good & price was reasonable. However the complimentary breakfast buffet offered quantity & variety, but not quality & not great standard. Definitely decided not to extend our stay and return home as soon as possible.
Tanjong Pinang is NOT interesting to visit, and the hotel is located 30mins by car from the ferry harbour through an under-developed uninteresting town area. The hotel itself has a complimentary car shuttle to & from the harbour, but this information is not forthcoming and it was only after many many questions on how to get back to the harbour and where to buy the tickets was it finally revealed that they have this service. If you do not speak Indonesian you will not find it easy to get around here.
After we contacted HotelCub about our downgraded room, they contacted the Aston hotel but could not get any co-operation from the hotel. Probably this is a regular scam by the hotel to get a little extra revenue dollar by not honouring the grade of room booked & paid for!
Definitely will never go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Pinang hotels

markham, ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Complete waste of my vacation. Stepped into a disaster zone. Hotel is far from the city therefore the only transportation is hotel taxi which charges you min 3 hrs roughly 30 sg. The hotel is outdated and last lighting. Kinda spooky. The first night in the hotel I didn't sleep at all. The noise from the road kept me up all night. I request to change the room and they didn't until 7 hrs later. They claim it was fully booked. Liars!!!! I checked online and there were rooms available. I kept calling to change rooms and they kept hanging up on me. Such good service right? No one wanted to attend to resolve my situation. Lack of service, lack of politeness, lack of respect. Finally they changed my room... To the basement. Yep. I paid money to stay in a complete crap hole. I will not recommend to anyone, and I will definitely let all my friends know about my experience. A vacation turned into a waste of time and money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While our room was clean and modern, I will always judge a hotel poorly if it's Internet reception is poor. This hotel offers "free WiFi Internet" but, in reality, it was almost impossible to get from one Web site to another. This may have been due to the fact the hotel was fully booked, but that is no excuse in today's world for a property that calls itself 4 star. Also, the food at the restaurant was poor. An expensive barbeque by the pool featured beef that could not be eaten, one rice offering and one poor pasta dish. The buffet breakfast, while expansive, was also poor, with beef bacon that was not edible and orange juice that was orange drink. In addition, the room rate was relatively expensive for the location and was 40% higher than what was offered online, probably due to the fact it was a holiday weekend and the time to get more from customers for the same accommodations. Add to this the hotel's poor location 45 minutes from anything by taxi and you have a bad experience. Staff was courteous.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Address: Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Tanjung Pinang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference hotel committed to the highest International standards and a wide range of service and facilities to suit the need of frequent Business Travelers and Conference Organizer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel And Conference Center Bintan Island, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.