We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Should Try"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Should Try"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

3 nite..Actually not bad..When we reach Aston on first nite, the staff greet us such a warmest welcome..they gave us the room that we want..but a bit disappointing the wifi is slow like tortoise and the drinks in the mini bar are not free.."Confused" you have to pay for it..The room is clean and we get to watch so many channel..Breakfast are marvellous!..we had a great food especially the tea smell nice n tasty..Spa & massage are amazing.. good massage with low cost..The hotel provide fitness ctr but we had a short work out..completely with swimming pool and bar..The location wise is very far to the beach resort but to shopping mall is near and they provide shuttle service so dont worry mch..Overall its a great stay..Their customer service is excellent..indeed very helpful..compliment to (Ruziana) and all the staff .Applause to them..Thank you..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
23
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed there with my friends for 2 nights on 12-14 Jun. It was a great experience. The hotel is in good shape and the rooms were up to standard. The breakfast buffet was good with lots of choices. The service from the receptionist, concierge and waiters was excellent.

The bad things I have to say about the hotel is that there was often blackouts in the hotel. My friend was bathing and he even slipped in the toilet and got bruises on his head. The hotel location was also bad. We wanted to have our lunch or dinner but there was no restaurant nearby and there is no shopping mall nearby the hotel also. So we cant do much walking as there was no interesting places nearby.

Another thing is that the swimming pool was closed at 9am in the morning. We were disappointed because we really wanted to try the pool and relax there.

Overall, it was a great hotel with good service from the staffs and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston_TPI, Manager at Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Hilmi Hakim,

Thank you for taking your time to share your great experience while staying with Aston Tanjungpinang Hotel and Conference Center. It is our pleasure to give you a very best service in our hotel. Thankyou also for your great comments for our development.

We sincerely apologize for the problem that you faced. We also apologized for the inconvenience and the accident that happened to your friend. The team has been informed about your complaint. We will discuss about the available time of the swimming pool.

Glad that you and your friend had some time for enjoying your time with Aston Tanjungpinang Hotel and Conference Center. We look forward to welcome you back. Best wishes from Aston’s team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

i stayed here for just one night on our way to other island.service was ok,hotel room is quite small but clean and cozy.food at the restaurant also nice.
but i think this hotel is a bit old and gloomy.we did try the spa(traditional massage) and i think it was not up to standard..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston_TPI, Manager at Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear syaz82,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience through TripAdvisor. Thank you for your great comments about our hotel and our services. We sincerely apologize about your complaint about the spa, it is our responsibility to serve you better in another chance and also for improving the services. We look forward to welcome you back. Best wishes from Aston’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel wise , its average , its a three storey building in the shape of a rectangle , in it has swimming pool in the center of he hotel , a karoke , a pub which has life band playing at 1030pm ( that was what I was told ) nonhing much to say BUT their service standard is the best , they give you full attention, I had a pleasant surprise as I was not hoping for much when I went in AGAIN the service was superb ( Note :this is my experience ) . Another thing you should know is before entering the long stretch of rooms , there is actually a door which you have to swipe to enter ( security door ) as this is due to meeting rooms on the same floor so security for the guest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston_TPI, Manager at Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Thunderrave,

Warmest Greeting from Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel & Conference Center !

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience while staying at Aston Hotel Tanjungpinang.Thank you too for taking and enjoy our services on our hotel. We are really proud for providing you good services.

Glad that you had some time for enjoying the time, especially enjoyed every package and every services that we have offered you. We look forward to welcome you back. Best wishes from Aston’s Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

~Something good!~

Overally, we felt satisfied with the hotel! Thumbs up!
Both the room and breakfast is also up to standard! ^.^
Surprisingly the TV channels are just so attractive as there are channels from Indon, Singapore, Malaysia and seem like Thailand also! I enjoy it to the deepest!
My first attempt to hotel room service. I had ordered ayam bakar berbumbu and nasi timbel which presented so well and of course yummy!


~Something not so good!~
Just that the internet speed is just too BAD in room, cant even load a facebook new feed page properly.
On the other hand, nothing to shop or walk around nearby. It is dark out there and we are not dare to walk further down the road.

Anyway, Aston hotel is still highly recommended provided that beach is not your priority.
All the best to Aston hotel management team!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I chose to stay 3 days 2 night at Aston Hotel in May 2013 as I read the positive reviews written here.

The hotel shuttle picked my husband and I up from the ferry terminal and it was about a 30 minutes car ride from the ferry terminal to the hotel. There is also a free shuttle service back to the ferry terminal and we took that when we left.

I chose to book directly at the hotel website instead of with agoda as one of the perks for booking directly was a complementary upgrade (if available). However, I was disappointed when I was told by the front desk that there will not be any complementary upgrade and I would have to pay extra if I wanted an upgrade.

However, the front desk manager soon came along and when I told him that it was my husband's birthday, he very kindly arrangement for an upgrade for us and got our rooms ready by 1pm (usually it is by 2pm) and even arranged for a slide of cake to be delivered to our room. It was really nice of him to make the arrangements for us.

The room was neat and tidy and it was very comfortable. We had a good night rest and the swimming pool was decent as well. We had a massage at the spa as well and it was good. The price was also cheaper than what you will find in Singapore.

We had the breakfast and it was decent with a good variety of food like cooked food, pastry, yougurt, cornflakes, fruits and an eggs station. We wanted to try their BBQ buffet on saturday night but was told that there would be no BBQ by the poolside as the weather did not look good and we were disappointed. However, the staff came us a recommendation for a seafood dinner and that was good.

However, there are a few areas that are not so good.

Firstly, the hotel is far away from the main city area and you need to take a transport out each time. It cost rp75,000 for the hotel to arrange a one way transport for you and rp 150,000 for two ways. And it is always almost a 30 minutes ride to places with food or shopping. There is nothing much right outside the hotel, just a few small eateries and mini-mart. The resort that is further down, Comfort Hotel seems better in terms of location as it is right opposite some sort of a market and there are much more eating places and shops at that stretch.

Secondly, there is also the issue of the electricity tripping in the night. On our first night, the electricity started tripping at around 2am and it tripped a total of 4 times in the night. All the lights and air-conditioning went off but it restarted within a few seconds. When we spoke to the front desk manager, he told that that it is due to the electrical cables laid to transport electricity to the areas around the hotel.

Lastly, even though the rooms were clean and comfortable. The sound-proofing of the room was not done so well. My room was on the ground floor and the lobby was on the floor above mine and I could hear it quite clearly when people are running around in the lobby through my ceiling. Also, in the middle of the night, we suddenly heard some loud noise that sounds like someone playing a trumpet and when we went to check the noise out, it was the staff cleaning and vacuuming the lobby area with a huge cleaner. We were not able to sleep with the noise and the staff kindly stopped the cleaning.

All in all, it was a comfortable and relaxing trip. This hotel can be considered if you are not that interested in going around Tanjung Pinang for sightseeing and shopping. Compared to the smaller and more dingy hotels around town, Aston would be a better choice as you do not mind the travelling back and forth.

And alternative way to travel would be to take those white vans that are waiting along the roadside. You can flag one down as well and just tell them where you want to go. It cost much cheaper than the hotel shuttle and it might take you longer to get to where you want to go as the van picks up other passengers along the way and the hotel shuttle being a proper car, might be safer too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the higher floors to avoid noise coming from the pool and the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston_TPI, Manager at Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear HappySnappyC,

Warmest Greeting from Aston Tanjungpinang Hotel & Conference Center !

Thankyou for taking your time to share your experience and write your positive reviews while staying at Aston Tanjungpinang Hotel & Conference Center. Thankyou too for your positive appraisal and also your motivated complaint for us. We promise to serve you and all the guests better in every chance.

Glad that you and your husband had some time for enjoying your quality time, we also proud for making you relax and comfortable in your stay at Aston Tanjungpinang Hotel and Conference Center.

Our team also has been informed for the inconvenience that you experienced and we sincerely apologize and make this as our responsibility to serve you better. We look forward to welcome you back. Best wishes from aston's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I took their Easter Package last March and it was WORTH EVERY BITS. I lived all over indonesia for about a decade, so I can tell this hotel is a bit expensive for its league. However, everything was so nice.

The junior suite was okay (however, most of junior suites in other hotel are bigger in size), everything was tidy clean. Front Officers spoke poor English, but then you got this problem all around Indonesia.

The breakfast was okay, there were generous amount of food and very hospitable staff. There wasn't my son's fave cereal on the buffet, yet one of the chef was gladly accommodating his preference and served it on our table. Very nice.

There were a nice gimmick I remembered, it was a donut decorating class. My kids were so happy, and I was surprised that the chef who conducted the class spoke english very well. Not to mention that the donuts are delicious (marshmallow as condiment? that is nice and cool.)
I managed to hop by their pastry shop, and bought their black rice brownies home, it was strangely sooooo good.

The experiences on the morning didn't hesitate me to go to their restaurant for lunch and dinner. our pasta and chicken rice was okay, Our steak was slightly overdone, and our oxtail soup was really delicious.

I read this "Aston Heartful Service" somewhere around the hotel, and now I can say that the heartful service is well felt.
A definite come back when I visit the city again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston_TPI, Manager at Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel & Conference Center !

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience while staying at Aston Hotel Tanjungpinang.Thank you too for taking our easter package and proud for providing you good services.

The team has been informed of the problem that you faced with the communication, and we sincerely apologize and make this as our motivation to serve you better in another chance.

Glad you and your family had some time for enjoying the time, especially enjoyed every package and every services that we have offered you.

As our motto , “Delightful Moments of Heartfelt Service”, we will always promise to serve you with heart and best in every ways. We look forward to welcome you back. Best wishes from Aston’s Team.

--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Address: Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Tanjung Pinang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference hotel committed to the highest International standards and a wide range of service and facilities to suit the need of frequent Business Travelers and Conference Organizer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel And Conference Center Bintan Island, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.