We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but this is the best you can get in TNJ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Jakarta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Average, but this is the best you can get in TNJ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The room is clean but small. It is true that I reserved the studio room, as the cheapest one for 5 nights on my mission to TNJ. It was a single bed room equipped for one person only. One tea bag, one strip of coffee, one strip of creamer, and one strip of sugar (so if I made a tea, i cannot make a coffee because there is no sugar anymore), one pillow, one bottle of water. For business purposes it's really okay. The breakfast is average, even though sometimes they have chicken curry for breakfast.

The staffs do not speak any english, except a guy in the restaurant. The environment is quite islamic or maybe because of the Ramadhan, but everybody was wearing veil and long big tunik and skirt.

They have a big nice swimming pool with some frangipani trees around, however they only open between 8am to 6pm. Don't ask me why, I asked the guy but he could not explain the raison d'etre of the policy (of course the answer was 'it is the policy'). So it's about twisted, they want to be a hotel for business but not opening their swimming poon outside working hours. Dont they think that people went there for business trip, which means they have to work between 9-5 (which they have to get ready at 8 and can only swim after 5.30 at least). So to be honest i don't know their concept.

I also had a problem with the key, everytime i went back from work my card key did not work, for three days in a row. So I have to go down to the receptionist and asking why and they did I don't know what to my card and climbed up, with hands full of dossiers, laptop bag, and purse (i was on mission!!). I paid it in advance in order to avoid this kind of problems, but apparently they didnt get it.

They also stingy in providing shower gel and shampoo btw. So it's better if you finish your shampoo and shower gel and they will replace a new one, if you left a half, they won't even refill the remaining. They forgot that sometimes the next day you can take shower more than yesterday.

The staffs are friendly, yes, but it's common in indonesia. So.. yeah it's okay. It's average. But dont expect too much.

Oh ya, my room was heading toward the streets so it was so noisy with the traffic at 5 in the morning, the hotel put prayer calling on loudspeaker (yes on loudspeaker inside the hotel), including in the morning, so I could not really sleep well. It was crazy.

Room Tip: dont ask to have a room close to the street !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
22
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a very 'business' hotel which caters quite a lot for business travellers. I see quite a few conference going on during my 2 days there. This hotel is pretty far away from the ferry terminal. Nothing much to do nearby. IT was good enough for hubby and me as we are not looking at much shopping, but a place to relax and rest. Pool was big and clean. Food at the hotel was generally nice. Ordered light snacks to eat after some time of dipping in the pool. Seem to have some pool BBQ but it's under renovation.

Room was big and spacious enough for both of us. But the hot water shower is cold. Bed was spacious too but only 2 pillows. I forgot why we didnt ask for extra pillows.

Ordered room service and the food tasted pretty good. Cheap and nice. We were glad we ordered room service instead of wandering around the place to look for food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The tour package included the free ride from the ferry terminal to the hotel, but it is a good 15 minutes. We got the Superior Room which come with free WiFi coverage. The room was nice and spacious, and very comfortable. There's a nice pool, where we spotted another couple having candlelight dinner just beside it. They offer dimsum buffet for lunch but we didn't try it. The staff is also very friendly. Only problem is the location, but if you can arrange transportation with the local tour guides, it should be fine. However, the drivers are mostly Malay and do not speak much English.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, 30 min from the ferry terminal, No shopping or restaurants around. Service is very basic and simple although the staff, in general terms, show a good attitude.
Rooms are big and clean although I had a very bad and unnaceptable experience: I discovered, unfortunately too late, that there was not toilet paper in the bathroom,... you can imagine the experience.
The restaurant is clean and nice but the food variety is poor and scarce; I had to call the waiter on several occasions to request more food at the buffet ba, most of the food containers were totally empty. Smiling, being kind and nice is not enough, the staff need to show a real commitment to customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We first arrived in our room, noticing that the aircon was not working, so we called the reception. They sent someone up to service our aircon after several reminders (45mins wait). It was in the afternoon, so we decided to head out in hope to return to functioning airconditioned room, after exploring the island. Before leaving, we informed the serviceman that he can just come in to service even if we're not in the room.

Imagine our dismay when we returned around 8pm (indo time), with the aircon still not fixed. Called the reception at once and they said they will look into it. Over the next hour, we made 3 similar calls to the reception due to their tardiness in sending the serviceman over. An hour later, the serviceman was still no where to be seen. Imagine how it felt like to return to the hotel after a hot day out and finally return hoping to unwind and relax only to find yourself in a stuffy room with faulty aircon that you have requested to be fixed earlier on.

We made another call after the hour, only to be hung up by the receptionist after her quick and rude reply of "looking for another room". This was the tipping point. Who gets hung up for bad service, seriously. We stormed down to the reception and they gave us a change of room then.

I would not penalize the whole service crew, but the female receptionist who hung up on us made us feel really disregarded as customers, much less guests of the hotel. This incident just happened and I'm writing this immediately so that it would be a fresh and true account.

Perhaps it was just that one female receptionist (working on 22/06/2012, afternoon to night shift, cause we didn't get her name). Overall, I do recommend staying at the resort cluster if you are coming to bintan (instead of this hotel). Because the town area (which Aston quoted as being near to) does not have much entertainment, probably closest to how Singapore was like in the 1970s.

Enough of the ranting, just a piece of advice on my part. Enjoy all your stay in bintan!
PS: Seafood here is cheap (:

Room Tip: Choose another hotel (Eg Nirwana, banyan tree, do not save on this kind of money) at the resort clus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Pinang hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Indonesian service people are nice. BUT they are nice with LITTLE service delivered:

1 I called for a morning call at 8AM. The reception said OK, then no morning call at all.

2 We went to the breakfast buffet, and found the coffee pot was missing. So we asked the service people to bring us some coffee to our table. He said OK, but he never come!

3 The HOTTEST bath water we can have in our room is basically COLD!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Aston Tanjung Pinang provides praying robes & praying mats upon request for free.
Room is spacious. Swimming pool is quite big but still under renovation.
Restaurant is cosy. Breakfast is good. Staff is courteous, helpful & friendly.
Hotel provides complimentary return land transfers and also provides return transportation to Ramayana Mall for a fee.
There are foodstalls selling cheap & yummy traditional food & snacks opposite hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Address: Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Tanjung Pinang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference hotel committed to the highest International standards and a wide range of service and facilities to suit the need of frequent Business Travelers and Conference Organizer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel And Conference Center Bintan Island, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.