We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a one working day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfect for a one working day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, 30 min from the ferry terminal, No shopping or restaurants around. Service is very basic and simple although the staff, in general terms, show a good attitude.
Rooms are big and clean although I had a very bad and unnaceptable experience: I discovered, unfortunately too late, that there was not toilet paper in the bathroom,... you can imagine the experience.
The restaurant is clean and nice but the food variety is poor and scarce; I had to call the waiter on several occasions to request more food at the buffet ba, most of the food containers were totally empty. Smiling, being kind and nice is not enough, the staff need to show a real commitment to customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
22
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We first arrived in our room, noticing that the aircon was not working, so we called the reception. They sent someone up to service our aircon after several reminders (45mins wait). It was in the afternoon, so we decided to head out in hope to return to functioning airconditioned room, after exploring the island. Before leaving, we informed the serviceman that he can just come in to service even if we're not in the room.

Imagine our dismay when we returned around 8pm (indo time), with the aircon still not fixed. Called the reception at once and they said they will look into it. Over the next hour, we made 3 similar calls to the reception due to their tardiness in sending the serviceman over. An hour later, the serviceman was still no where to be seen. Imagine how it felt like to return to the hotel after a hot day out and finally return hoping to unwind and relax only to find yourself in a stuffy room with faulty aircon that you have requested to be fixed earlier on.

We made another call after the hour, only to be hung up by the receptionist after her quick and rude reply of "looking for another room". This was the tipping point. Who gets hung up for bad service, seriously. We stormed down to the reception and they gave us a change of room then.

I would not penalize the whole service crew, but the female receptionist who hung up on us made us feel really disregarded as customers, much less guests of the hotel. This incident just happened and I'm writing this immediately so that it would be a fresh and true account.

Perhaps it was just that one female receptionist (working on 22/06/2012, afternoon to night shift, cause we didn't get her name). Overall, I do recommend staying at the resort cluster if you are coming to bintan (instead of this hotel). Because the town area (which Aston quoted as being near to) does not have much entertainment, probably closest to how Singapore was like in the 1970s.

Enough of the ranting, just a piece of advice on my part. Enjoy all your stay in bintan!
PS: Seafood here is cheap (:

Room Tip: Choose another hotel (Eg Nirwana, banyan tree, do not save on this kind of money) at the resort clus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Pinang hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Indonesian service people are nice. BUT they are nice with LITTLE service delivered:

1 I called for a morning call at 8AM. The reception said OK, then no morning call at all.

2 We went to the breakfast buffet, and found the coffee pot was missing. So we asked the service people to bring us some coffee to our table. He said OK, but he never come!

3 The HOTTEST bath water we can have in our room is basically COLD!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Aston Tanjung Pinang provides praying robes & praying mats upon request for free.
Room is spacious. Swimming pool is quite big but still under renovation.
Restaurant is cosy. Breakfast is good. Staff is courteous, helpful & friendly.
Hotel provides complimentary return land transfers and also provides return transportation to Ramayana Mall for a fee.
There are foodstalls selling cheap & yummy traditional food & snacks opposite hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is 30 minutes from the ferry terminal and remotely located.
No shop in the vicinity and heard it is too costly to hire a taxi to the lively Bintan. It will be excellent stay if all you want is to get out of busy lifestyle; eat, sleep, swim and watch TV shows.
My experience with the reception staff is not a pleasant one and disappointing due to lack of initiative but the servers @ Moonlight BBQ were friendly and helpful. Morning breakfast was average and it will be good if the coffee served do not come with the coffee residue.

Room Tip: Do not pick room by facing the main road ranging from room no.: X00- X10, rather noisy. *X represen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel located a bit far from ferry harbour,but there is free pick up service from tanjung pinang harbour.Hotel staff were very friendly and polite.Food and beverage from hotel restaurant very nice and reasonable price.I like the room..it was very clean,huge and modern.If you looking place for relax or run away from busy life..this hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The room was fine although, when we were there, there was still extensive building work going on. Food was very good. The hotel provided us with complimentary transfers from and to the ferry terminals and one free shuttle into town. The rest of the time, we just used the local minibuses. Given how new the hotel was, we had a couple of problems but they were sorted out promptly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Address: Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Tanjung Pinang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference hotel committed to the highest International standards and a wide range of service and facilities to suit the need of frequent Business Travelers and Conference Organizer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel And Conference Center Bintan Island, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.