We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna
Jln. Bintan No. 51, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good location, food stalls everywhere, about 5 mins walking distance to ferry terminal.
We booked deluxe room, it was spacious, bed very comfortable, various TV channel, good room service. The cleaning staff was friendly and say hi to us! There is an open air rooftop with fantastic view, and credit to Irene (the staff) who provide very good quality services & arrangement upon our late arrival!

There are also many things need improvement:
The breakfast buffet was so-so only, incredibly slow "refill" when run out of foods served. They use heavy-duty air-conditioner but we felt no cold air~~~ so we set it to lowest temperature, and we heard 'cracking' sound in the mid-night, and a few ice pieces falling from the air-con, still not cold... I think they mis-checked the whole rooms toilette, we were not provided towel, our friend's room did.. The roof-top seems never clean for long time, broken glass everywhere.
The reception staff is less helpful and the information is not accurate...after a long wait, we wanted to make reservation for the massage (as mentioned in the brochure) and they told us no reservation needed just walk-in to the spa (inside the shopping mall next to the hotel), and they closed for the day due to public holiday..

Overall it's a "okay-stay" in a budget price..as we were outside most of the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The only good point of the hotel just the location. On the heart of the city, next to market, next to seaport, very easy to find food. But for business trip purposes, if u r travel for leisure, far from nice attraction.

Lack of breakfast. Fried rice, noodle, tempe, scramble egg, little fish, syrup. Very simple.

They dont have business center, the WiFi comes to room but with a very slow connection.

Service just standard. They r trying the best to give u hospitality, but dont hope too much.

Room with old furniture, air conditioner in a good temperature, the hot water is not working, dont expect hot water not warm water, instan of the water is not too cold.

Price is little bit expensive, but still ok. A night for 38 dollar.

If u go outside hotel at night, u will see a lot of hustler around the street. Haha just pick one ur favør the fat one, the old lady, the transgender, Haha they are all ready to give u service.

Anyway dont expect too much, at least u just need a room near to business spot, ac room, and clean.

Recommended for business trip only

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Check-in at 4pm via booking through a tour agency in Singapore. (Rm 620) First room we get was stuffy, smelly, air-conditioned not working. (Rm 624) They assigned a second room which has almost the same problem smelly, dirty linens, mosquitoes flying around, airconditioned blowing out hot air. Request for change of room again. They asked to go back to the first room which they already had repair the air-con. Same problem air - con blowing hot air. The aircon maintenance told us all the rest of the rooms are occupied. Check out of the hotel in less than 2 hours time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Pinang hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Room and overall was fine and good...there wifi that we need...and was linked to a shopping mall which have so much good deal...The staff over there was friendly and nice as we had so many qns and they manage to help us out..however I guess not all of the staff knows English as we encountered some problem when one of the staff came and help us with the extra bed...we can't really communicate...so we just have to communicate awkwardly...lol...and i was excited about the open area cafe before going to this hotel...But was quite disappointed only to find out it was closed...I not sure if it was close for the day or close forever...as the "poster" in the lift stated that it closes at 9pm or 10pm if I'm not wrong and the time we were going was around 8pm...so was kinda disappointed to know its close when we asked the staff...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

All are very nice especially service ( although only receptionists can speak English)and premire cafe roof top dining. It would be great if mini-bar is included in the rooms. Location is not suitable if you are looking for beach side hotels or city hotels although it is very near to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Agoda recommend our business trip to this hotel. The hotel is very close to the harbour you could see also from the signboard at the ferry terminal, we think this hotel is already wellknown. Overall hotel is clean, friendly staff, good breakfast. Not sure 3 or 4 stars, anyway doesn't matter since we came for a business trip, tour package from the hotel was great, snorkeling at Mapur Island was great combination of adventure at very descent price. Thanks to the the guide and also the hotel manager for the advice to take this trip. Also thank you for arranging last minute romantic dinner at roof top. ( i recommend to take romantic dinner at roof top with additional menu Lobster Sashimi, really amazing )

Room Tip: Laguna Suite simply the best, very spacious with private living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Actually it was my second stay in hotel Laguna. Not much choice of hotel in Tanjung Pinang. Hotel Laguna probably one of the best there. Nothing much change from my first visit. The standard room is spacious enough and clean, though the bathroom need some refurbishment.
Pros, it near the market where you may easily find local food and there is mini plaza behind the hotel though not much to see.
Overall it is an average hotel. Don't expect much, just enjoy Tanjung Pinang.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: Jln. Bintan No. 51, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Tanjung Pinang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Bintan Island/Tanjung Pinang, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.