We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Samosir” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samosir Villa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samosir Villa Resort to your Saves list
Samosir Villa Resort
Jalan Lingkar Tuk Tuk | Lake Toba, Samosir Island, Samosir Island, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Samosir Island B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay in Samosir”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

In full honesty, we did not stay here.

It started with a dinner in this beautiful place which we chanced upon. The hospitality rendered us was the reason we came back to have breakfast here again.

Food is average and cheap. Breakfast buffet is at RP30,000, serving Asian food. Dinner for 3 (Fish, Gado-Gado, Hotplate Beancurd, Brocolli, 3 plates of rice) for RP126,000 - very affordable.

The place is clean and well kept. It is so scenic just to be there in the Batak style architecture. There are also 2 pools to swim in. For whatever reason, there are Merlions (Singapore icon) at the side of the pool. There is also private, cordoned off area to swim in the Great Lake Toba.

Despite not staying there, the staff treated us well and we had a good time lazing in the common area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    55
    38
    22
    11
See reviews for
31
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at a Deluxe Room. Very basic room with poor cleanliness. Surrounding view is fantastic but be prepared to have minimum sleep as walls are super thin that you can hear all the noise from all directions. Food is bad, tasteless and cutlery used are stained. Should really improve on food quality. The only nice dish was the fried fish and prawn! Don't expect any great customer service encounter because there's none. Enjoy the scenery and do not have any high expectations!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwood, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the best things about this place is the fantastic view straight down beautiful Lake Toba from the common areas and many of the rooms. Rooms are large and airy and the Western style bathroom even had a tub (everything worked as expected). TV has one English-speaking channel. Free WiFi is available in the common areas and rooms near pool. Breakfast is filling if not inspired, and the same each day: fried rice & mie goreng that can be topped with thin omelet wedges, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and some interesting pistachio-green bread that is made from a local plant. There are many small restaurants nearby on the street, such as Elios (great) and Sekapur Sirih (very good). There is a nice pool and we enjoyed swimming in Lake Toba in a roped-off section of water—just be careful on the slimy concrete landing (it could stand a scrubbing every now and then). The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke decent English. Service was good and rooms were cleaned promptly each morning—one day we said we didn’t need service because we were just hanging around, but they insisted on bringing fresh towels, bottled water and other sundries.

Room selection is important, depending on your needs. The quietest rooms from the perspective of the common areas and restaurant, which features amplified music in the evenings and sometimes noisy gatherings of large groups and families, as well as boisterous merry-making from the pool table and ping-pong table, tumble down to the lake, but you will still hear some noise from the small ferries that ply the waters, the occasional jet ski, and sometimes music that bounces across the water from the opposite shore. Weekends are busy and after that things settle down. If you want continuous Wi-Fi and easy access to the restaurant choose a room around the pool or the two rooms off by themselves behind the ping-pong table, behind the kitchen (rooms 07 and 08).

Motor bike rental was much cheaper at the hotel than the store nearby, and bicycle rentals are available down the street (turn right on the street, walk a short distance and it’s on the left side of the street).

Room Tip: Choose lower rooms for quieter stay or select rooms around the pool for continuous Wi-Fi and conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Just landed in Singapore about an hour back. 6 of us checked in to three villa (rooms). First night, as our ferry arrived at about 9pm, the hotel gave away one of our rooms to another guest and insisted on putting us in a room that could compete head on with a barnyard at the same prices as the villas. Obviously, I resisted and managed to bring it down to half the cost.
The walls in the rooms of this resort are paper thin. We could hear the guy in the room next to ours use his washroom. The breakfast remains limited to 4-5 repeat selections every morning.
Staff is helpful, the pool is clean and the facilities like table tennis and pool tables, make it comfortable for a staycation experience.
Recommendation: not ideal for a romantic getaway or a quiet and peaceful holiday as you can damn well be sure that you'll be woken up by the jet ski noise at 7:30am every single morning.
Given that its one of the best properties in lake toba, it worries me a little.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Samosir Villas has the premium spot in Tuktuk - absolute waterfront with no reeds or marshes to interfere with your swimming, a beautiful south facing view which takes in the shores of the lake and distant mountains, and do make sure to get up for the sunrise. The waterfront rooms are the pick, where you'll hear nothing but gentle waves as you sit on your balcony.

Rooms are clean, well appointed and spacious, with western standard bathrooms, although the water pressure is a little low, and it takes some time to find the sweet spot on the shower temperature (they seem to flick between "arctic" and "thermonuclear"). Staff are friendly and helpful and speak plausible English.

On the downside, the food is average, although there are much better options within a short walk. Breakfast is awful, oversweet coffee and monotonous nasi goreng. The TV has only Indonesian channels and ESPN, but really, if you want to watch TV, stay at home. Dinner time can get noisy as the place gets invaded by groups.

It is significantly more expensive than other nearby options, but still cheap by global standards.

Room Tip: Ask for the waterfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Horas.This was my first trip to lake toba with my parents.I have booked 2 night at Samosir Villa with the recommedation by the hotel coordinator, Hendrik.It was a long day for the first day.We reach Medan and have a early lunch ard 11am and transit to Lake Toba.It was a hot day and it tooks us around 6 hours to reach the harbour to transit to Lake Toba.I was feeling very uncomfortable by the time i reach Lake Toba, feeling sick and uneasy after the long hours inside the car.It was raining when we reach ard 730pm in Lake Toba and we checked in the our family room.
There is 2 rooms in the family room, with 2 queen bed , wardrobe and dressing table.There is only 1 bathroom available, and the living room sofa is already quite worn out and it is not comfortable to sit on it.The TV is the traditional TV and there is only few channels out there.The bed are spring bed and i believe since this is family room, kids may jump up and down and make the bed not really comfortable to sleep on.

Family room is lake view and while you step up from your room, you can see the beautify lake toba in front of you.The next morning when i saw the lake, any uneasiness and uncomfortable feeling is gone.It was really a breathtaking panaroma overlooking at Lake toba and surrounded by mountain.After we have ordered our ala-carte breakfast, me and daddy started to take a lot of photos of the awesome creation of God.It is a pity it was a gloomy day and we couldnt have nice sunlight to take nice photos.You can feel the tranquility when you are there...

We went out for a day trip with our driver and i was back to the hotel around 4pm.The food in the villa is really cheap.The price of the beer which i order from the hotel is almost same price with the price of beer which i bought from the small sundry shop outside the hotel.I have order some french fries to enjoy with my beer, sitting on the bench overlooking at lake toba.How i hope i have more free times to enjoy the tranquility and peace in this small town.My mind really feel relax when i am here.

Since the food is very cheap here, i have ordered dinner here and enjoy the free batak dance perfomance in the hotel .Another good thing of the hotel is there is actually wifi access and to my surprise even though my room were towards the end of the hotel, the wifi signal is still very strong.

Overall, i enjoy my stay at Samosir Villa Resort and if i would have the chance to visit again, i would definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you do have higher budget, i would suggest you to take the suite/vip room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Horas!

This was my second visit to Lake Toba and first time staying in Samosir Villa. As I was travelling with my mum who was on her first ever vacation abroad (yes Sumatra is a bit adventurous) for my brothers wedding, we dedcided to book into somewhere a bit more luxurious than the usual accommodation around Toba.

My mum felt comfortable straight away with the hotel, rooms and western facilities, so it was definitely worth the extra money.

The room was newly built, clean and well designed. There was a large bath, good hot shower and complementary toiletries. The beds were comfortable, TV had some english channels, storage space and a fridge.

The pools were lovely to swim and the scenery around Samosir Villas is amazing. Breakfast is included: noodles, rice, fruit, coffee, tea etc.

The staff speak good english and were really polite and helpful.

On the weekends the hotel gets a bit busier with locals from Medan or China and can be noisy, but part of being in Lake Toba is to stay up late and enjoy the local music. I would reccomend Rumba pizzeria for some good food and entertainment in the evenings and Roy's Pub where you can watch a live band have a few Bintangs and dance! Or even Brando's for some very cheesy music (local bar/club).

I would definitely stay again if I was to come back to the lake!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samosir Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samosir Villa Resort

Address: Jalan Lingkar Tuk Tuk | Lake Toba, Samosir Island, Samosir Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Samosir Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samosir Villa Resort is a new Villa Resort addition to Tuk Tuk - Samosir Island . Located in one of the most dynamic and strategic area right beside of the Lake Toba.This newly build, all suite.Imagine an island right in the middle of the biggest volcanic lake in the world, Lake Toba.Wake up to the sun rising over the lake just a few steps from your bed, in a perfect vision of tropical paradiseThe elegant design schemes of the villa resort areas are embrace throughout villas, cottages, unique design of the restaurant, swimming pool, play ground, parking place . Some of the villas spacious more than one-room suites, separate living room area with sofa,dining room,balcony, refrigerator, TV,1 bathrooms with bathtub and garden.We are proud to introduce the Samosir Villa Resort and our entire hotel team looks forward to establishing our hotel as one of the most contemporary, upscale villas in Samosir Island. Wheater your next visit is for business, vacation , and weekend getaway , our team members welcome residents and travelers from around the world, to experience the Samosir Villa Resort. ENJOY OUR NEW INTERNET WIFI SERVICESSamosir Villa has various of facilities such as Meeting Room, Fitness Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Samosir Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samosir Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.