We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have only good, if not great, things to say about Horas Family Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horas Family Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samosir Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horas Family Home
Save
You added Horas Family Home to your Saves list
Jln. Lingkar 3 | Tuk Tuk, Siadong, Samosir Island 22395, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Catch of the Day
Ranked #1 of 10 Samosir Island B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“I have only good, if not great, things to say about Horas Family Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay entirely there!!! OK, we enjoyed our stay even before we stay there. Hahaha. Mr Berend, the owner, is very very helpful in our email conversation, and replied my emails promptly. The four of us planned to stay there for 2 nights - Friday and Saturday, but unfortunately they only have Saturday vacant. So we have to find another hotel for Friday night. Straightaway Berend emailed me and said they can help picked up our luggage, and US, from the other hotel when we check out. That's very thoughtful and lovely. Then I screwed up my booking on the other hotel, and was forced to move to another hotel on Friday, I emailed Berend and got his positive reply right away. The new hotel was even further away, no question asked from Berend. And we met his staffs 9am in the morning outside the new hotel as promised. They came with 2 motorbikes and they have to make 2 trips to send 4 of us to Horas Family Home. All the staffs there are super friendly and helpful!!!

I think you will know a lot about the place by reading the other reviews, which are all true! if not, better! Quote Berend himself, a lot of things there are INCLUDED.... hahahaha... if you want to fish, the rods are there for use, you can ask the baits from the staffs, that's included too. they have a kayak there, we took advantage of this "included" facility and kayak for about 1 hour. if you want to feed the rabbits, carrots and vege are ready besides the rabbit homes. If you cook, all the veggies planted there are free too. All in all, an amazing experience!!! and if I'm to travel to Lake Toba again, Horas will definitely be my first choice!

Room Tip: They only have 2 rooms - Horas Family Home and Horas Indah. So, be sure to book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
132
61
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A wonderful place with superb service. Mr.Bakker and his wife Mian were very helpful. They kept in touch with us all the way from Berastagi to make sure eveything went well in heavy holiday traffic to Samosir Island.

The house we stayed was spacious with well equipped amenities and beautifully peaceful Lake Toba view. Horas BBQ dinner was also a good experience. We enjoyed plenty of food in a long dinner with Mr.Bakker and drank all the beer in Horas Family Home. We thought we had to go to bed but Mr.Bakker brought us a complimentary bottle of Irish whiskey and we all continued to have a great time until 3 am.

We woke up early in the next morning to catch a ferry back and were surprised to see Mr.Bakker also woke up early to say farewell to us as we left Horas Family Home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice and relaxing place to escape from hectic life of the city~ The people there are extremely friendly and helpful~ The hotel host is vary caring and will very helpful from the moment we step foot on Medan airport till we leave for the airport~ The food is nice and the place looks clean~ A great place to just kick back and enjoy the scenery~

Accidently finish a book in two days while on the vacation due to the relaxing environment -___- Either that or i need a bigger book next time i go...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timika, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were stayed at Horas Indah for 2 nights (5 - 6 Jan 2013),
Excellent hospitality been showed by all the persons at the hotel since we arrived untl we out especially from the owner and his wife (Mr & Mrs Berend Bekker).

The room were big. clean, tidy and completed with all we needed such as kitchen with all the tools to do the cooking also enough pilow and blanket.

My 2 children love to stayed at this hotel because they can do many things. Fishing, feeding the rabbit, playing with dog, canoeing and etc.

My daughter ask us to extend for 4 more days but unfortunately it can not be done.
As the replacement she asked to do the revisit for the next leave without staying at Parapat.

Excellent experience..........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We, a family of 9 persons, stayed at Horas Indah from Dec 30 2012 to Jan, 01 2013. It was a memorable stay for us, we were impressed by the hospitality and excellent services of Ibu Mian and staff there. We became friends to young Eva, a smart, nice, and not a shy- young girl, as normally many young girls at countryside are. The accommodation is comfortable, homy and CLEAN. The kitchenette is fully equipped. All are beyond expectations. Our teenage nieces and nephews enjoyed kayaking and swimming, while the youngest can’t stop feeding the rabbits..:) Wifi is also available at our room. We were also allowed plucking home-grown vegetables for our own breakfast making. Highly recommended for family or group travel, a worth money value for the service, hospitality, cleanness, completeness of facilities, etc. We got more than expected. This type of excellent service for B&B/Inns category (even for star hotel) is perhaps among a few in North Sumatra. Keep it up, Mr and Mrs Berend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Best fuss free resort-like stay ever. Loved the rabbits, fishing, private swimming deck and home grown produce! BBQ was delicious and Mr Bakker a colourful host and character to be remembered. Well worth the price!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went to Lake Toba on 30 Nov 2012 & stay in Horas family home is very homely & fun home stay.

My children love the rabbit which raise outside the Horas Family Home,

Owners' wife is a good cook, I like the fried rice, chicken satey withe peanut sauce, 'keropok', fresh vegetables which is fresh from their organic farm and chicken. I love the fried egg plant which I plug from garden in front of Horas Family Home dip with the chili sauce. Over all the dinner suits every family members of mine.

You can

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horas Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horas Family Home

Address: Jln. Lingkar 3 | Tuk Tuk, Siadong, Samosir Island 22395, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Samosir Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apart from providing a perfect base for exploring Tuk Tuk and Samosir Horas Family Home, directly on Lake Toba, is a destination in its own right especially for groups of friends and for families with children. Fishing, swimming, kayaking, feeding rabbits, orchid garden, organic garden, cats, dogs, chicken, building castles on our small sand beach. From the Horas Family Home kitchen we serve specials such as the famous Horas Family Home Fish BBQ, Roasted Suckling Pig (Babi Guling), Small wild forest pig (Bayi Babi Hutan Liar), Forest Snakehead Fish (Ikan Bujuk), Roasted Village Chicken (Ayam Kampun Guling) and of course the regulars out of our pond Crayfish (Fresh Water Lobster), Tilapia (Ikan Nila) and Catfish (Ikan Lele) Horas Family Home is a complete two storey house in Batak Architectural style and comes with a fully equipped kitchen. Horas Family Home sleeps 8 guests in two double king size beds and 4 single beds in two rooms. Horas Indah is a spacious apartment on the second floor in a separate building. It is fully furnished and comes with a kitchenette and an upstairs attic. Horas Indah sleeps 6 guests in two double beds and two single beds. Horas Mini ORAS MINI consists of two rooms on a second floor in a separate building. The two rooms share a spacious bathroom and balcony. Horas Mini sleeps 5 guests in one double king size beds and 3 single beds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horas Family Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.