We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best sunrise ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Bromo

Mount Bromo
Taman Nasional Bromo Tengger Semeru, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Soaring over 2300 meters above sea level, Mount Bromo is the only active volcano inside Java's spectacular Tengger Caldera national park.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“One of the best sunrise ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

at 3 am in the morning, we drove our car to Pananjakan to catch a sunrise, so many people already there and looking for the best spot to take a picture, and a wait is worth it, since you will see the most beautiful sunrise ever right in front of your eyes with the beautiful background of Bromo mountain. You will not disappointed, and will wanna go there again and again...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    208
    53
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An adventure suitable for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are in Surabaya, do check out Mount Bromo. It takes about 2 hours by car to get there and another hour by jeep up the mountain. We went on a weekday and skipped the sunrise trip (many visitors like to catch the sunrise there) and literally had the place to ourselves. Parked the car at Probolinggo and took the jeep for rupiah 400000. The driver then brought us to 4 look out points at our own time and convenience. The scenery was amazing and beautifully green with fields. The air was cooling and enjoyable. The ride up the mountain is a little bumpy which is why you need a 4wd to get up there. You can then take a horse to ride up to the crater (but note, you will still have to climb a flight of stairs to reach the top on your own). We had our packed lunch at the foot of the crater. If you want, the little stalls sell instant noodles, drinks and hot beverages.

Mount Bromo is indeed beautiful and it was pretty amazing to see nature's beaty up close. The sand on some parts were dark grey and extremely fine and looked like sand dunes. Pretty! The entire area is still not very touristy, hence still retains its natural beauty. Our toddler loved being up there. We have been advised to stay a night to catch the sun rise but did not. Not too sure as well if there are any good accommodations up there. Note that you will need to pay an entry fee after you ride up the mountain on the jeep. I am not able to recall how much as we went with a local and we paid local prices.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“To The Top of The World: Bromo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was quite a challenge at first to engage the tour agency since there was no reference so I go with one name that mentioned by a friend and trust my guts after 5 other agencies that I contacted. Bromo Discovery - http://www.bromodiscovery.net/, they earn my trust =) They help us with the transportation with our route and they finalized the itinerary for us. We started our journey from Surabaya to Cemoro Lawang, on the way we passed by Lapindo mud flow. We stayed 1 night at Café Lava in Cemoro Lawang, one of the small hotels that located nearby mount Bromo. The staff at Cafe Lava help us to get rooms for our group since there was an error with the booking. The weather is chilling, and getting cold at night and at very early morning. Windbreaker jacket is a must to keep you warm, 2 layers of clothes is more than enough, get a good jacket to keep you warm, not necessary big jacket, binnie is an option. It's better for you to wear something thin as 1 of the layers, it will be hot after 6 or 7AM and it's really helpful when you climb Mount Bromo after the viewing from Penanjakan.

One of the highlights of visiting Bromo is to catch the sunrise from Gunung Penanjakan, where it’s believed as the best place to view the volcanoes. There are 2 options to go there, by walking or hire jeep. We woke up around 3AM and we went up to Penanjakan by jeeps, and while we walked a little bit we also competed with the motorcycles to reach the viewpoint. We went there during the public holiday in Indonesia, end of March, you might want to avoid this timing to avoid the crowds. Along the way, you can enjoy streetfood, bbq corn, instant noodle, etc.

The view is amazing, it's worth the wait. you might need to fight for a good spot if it's crowded. Just enjoy the view, no need to rush. If you have more time go to other spot. Watching stars in the dark, the layers of clouds that are going off slowly, lightning, it's given a sparkling in the dark, and the beautiful colors on the horizon when the sun rose.

I missed savana and pasir berbisik, heard good review on those 2 places.

Heads up, you might want to avoid the toilet if you are very particular =)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Clever marketing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently returned from Mount Bromo.

We stayed at Yoshi guest house, they tried to convince us that we needed to pay to get a jeep to take us to the view point of sun rise an extra £14 for my partner and I.. We opted out!

We got up at 0200hrs and walked from the guest house to the view point. We left very early as they told it is was 18km walk! We did not believe them! We are so glad that we walked!

We got to the view point at 0420 and chilled just us to. Then the keeps arrived and people piled out. We waited until sunrise which was beautiful!

The people who get jeeps had to leave at 0600 and they felt rushed! We just chilled and we were the only ones at the view point after 0600 and it was amazing!

We then took a leisurely stroll to the volcano and walked to the top.. It was relaxed and we had all the time in the world to take photos. Again due to the jeeps rushing people we were the only people at the volcano.

All in all that day we walked about 8 miles but it was beautiful, not rushed and we saw everything at our own time.

I would recommend the walk! The views are spectacular.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great view, great experience ... but the crowds!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Mt. Bromo is getting into tourist trap: we counted more than 100 jeeps plus all the motorbikes for the last view meters, the crowds are enormous and the pollution horrible. But ... you go there for the view ... amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Bromo also viewed

 

Been to Mount Bromo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Bromo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.