We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Batur (Danau Batur)

Lake Batur (Danau Batur)
Kintamani, Bali, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$44*
and up
Private Tour: Bali Cultural Heritage Tour
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Kintamani
Type: Mountains, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This crystal clear lake, some 65 meters deep, was formed by an ancient volcanic eruption.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A tranquil place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Highly recommended for people or couples who want to spend their sweet moments in a cold and peaceful land.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    65
    27
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and spectacular view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I enjoy Lake Batur by viewpoint that located side of main road of Kintamani-Klungkung. But the best way is through restaurant that has canopy and has direct view to Batur Lake. I forgot the name of restaurant, but it located nearby the viewpoint. Just order hot drink and some snack from this restaurant, and enjoy the day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Volcano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

if you want visit to Batur Lake I suggest to go in the morning. The view around the Batur Lake can be seen from the shore of the lake. I suggest to visit the Museum Mount Batur and pray in Ulundanu Batur temple. During the journey you will offered with a beautiful view on the right side and left the road.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belem, PA
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Spectacular view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a lot of trouble to drive there. The roads are a nightmare in Indonesia, but it's totally worth it, the views from both up the hill and the bottom of the lake are stunning. There's a parking place down there and you can also take a boat to the other side of the river and visit the Temple of de Dead, which is nothing special, just a place full of skulls, but the way there is beautiful.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It looks good from the lookout but there is not much down there. At harbour, there is a big car park , public toilet and pushy street sales women. Toilets were disgusting but I had no choice to use with Rp2000 charge. The view is great, you can see fish farm as well as lakeshore farming. We went their by scooter. We tried to go around lake clockwise but there were lots of trucks carrying soils. Riding scooter among them was very dusty and I was getting sick from exhaust gas. So we decided to go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Batur (Danau Batur) also viewed

 

Been to Lake Batur (Danau Batur)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Batur (Danau Batur), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.