We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lakeview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Penelokan, Kintamani, Bali 80652, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Kintamani
Bali
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Friends and I have stayed here twice and have been impressed as it just gets better and better. The owner is really charming and friendly and really goes out of his way to help. The views are quite stunning overlooking the lake and volcanoes. Our rooms have always been very clean and we loved the food especially the buffets. We visit the Kintamani region usually once a year to visit the hot springs, trek and chill out and will always return to the Lakeview Hotel for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your vote of confidence in our services. It was a pleasure hosting you. We wish you all the best for your travels, and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    55
    24
    23
    15
See reviews for
31
47
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated overlooking the most spectacular scenery of lakes, villages and volcanoes. We were quite impressed by the facade when arriving but the cleanliness of the place was quite disgusting. Our loose pebble bathroom floor, upon closer look, was covered with hairs, slime and even faeces! We requested a new room but the quality of the bathroom was still below par. Sticky floors etc. the rest of the room was nice and clean with coffee, tea and biscuits waiting for you when you arrived. The restaurant was pricey for the quality of the food. It was nice but nothing to brag about.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your candid criticism. I have translated and shared your criticism on our bathroom cleanliness to our housekeeping team.

We regularly scrub down the pebble-bathroom-floors, but damp mountain weather does encourage the growth of moss, some of which are brown in colour. In the scheduled wave of upgrades we are focusing on bringing more modern and easier-to-clean materials in the bathrooms.

I apologize that there were no suitable rooms to upgrade you into at the time, I'm glad you managed to enjoy your stay nonetheless.

Customer alert: those with a penchant for modern cleanliness are recommended to book our new suites (completed in April 2012) which have the most modern bathroom in the entire hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place is indeed strategic if you want to enjoy Kintamani area.
I felt lucky because i've got a room with great view, the room is very comfortable, fresh and clean. From my room, i may heard sound of truck, but it's not a big deal if you see the beauty scenery of mountain in front of your balcony.
I was there on July, with 2 friends, again we felt lucky, because on the date we've came there was food art event at their top deck, food and drink was very delicious, we love the unique taste of the cup cake, it made us hard to leave their top deck.
We have met Mr. Kadek Khrisna, as general manager of Lake View, we just have little chit chat but we can say that he's kind, friendly, open minded and smart, he will be glad if we can share our feeling about the hotel and give him any suggestion to make the hotel better, well i hope he still remember us :D.
We have good experiences during stay in Lake view, only little remarks regarding their dinner service, may need some improvement, hotel's employee kind of less-aware if the guest need something, so sometimes we need to call them several times to asking or ordering something.
The breakfast menu was not really good as well, but we love their coffee very much. I do remember, when breakfast time, a staff was offering us to made coffee, she's kind of savior at that time , helpfull, nice person and good coffee maker.
Definitely, i will stay here again to enjoy Kintamani area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
It's always a pleasure hosting Bali residents coming up for the peace and quiet at Lakeview. Thanks for your encouraging review and constructive criticism, and especially for posting some photos!

We introduced an a la carte breakfast menu at Danu Lounge last September, and a new revision is coming out soon. Thanks for encouraging us to improve.

Our next food art (Batur Edible Landscapes or BEL) event is coming soon on Saturday 27th of October. Looking forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The owner of the hotel was lovely - he did everything he could to make our stay comfortable. Unfortunately, the hotel needs some work. The restaurant in particular was let down by some of the worst food I've had in a while.
Rooms are perched on the cliff looking at the volcano - couldn't be better for the view! The noise of the trucks bringing rocks up the mountain however was loud and relentless.... not the hotel's fault of course, but if you want a good night's sleep, this wont be happening. The price and the rating of this hotel was really not appropriate. It is two stars at best.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
While our homestay has improved a lot in the last 48 years (gone are the days when a guest ordering chicken for dinner meant catching one out the back first!) I agree with you there is a lot to improve. Our clientele's expectations of service have definitely ramped up in the past decade.

Thanks for rating us two stars! We're definitely within that price-range, but we are an improved homestay, which in Indonesia is rated in jasmines. We're a three-jasmine hotel. Some nights there are thousands of nigh-blooming-jasmine and stars out here.

Wishing you a pleasant night's sleep in Jakarta, and wonderful holidays wherever you may go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Service quality: The front desk staff at the reception willingly helped us with our requests though some of them have difficulty understanding us.

Deluxe room: When we first entered our room, we were rather pleased with the room layout and design. But after walking on the floor with our socks for a while, they became black. We were very disappointment and tried to make a call to the reception from our room but there was no number indicated on or near the phone to call. We have to make our way down to the reception which is about 5-10 minutes walk and told them to clean the floor in our room. A staff went to our room to clean but it was still not clean. Not sure whether the staff used a broom or a mop to clean our room because I saw two staff cleaning the floor along the corridor just using brooms. Since we were only staying for a night, we just bore with the dirty floor. The water heater needs about 10 minutes to warm up so we were told by the staff to just let the water flow until it is warm enough.

Food: The food was not that great.

Special request: We had our dinner at Lakeview since it was very cold and foggy outside. We requested the kitchen to cook porridge for Dot but the staff told us that they could not cook porridge. Disappointed.

Ambience: The only reason why we chose to stay at Lakeview was to have a good view of Mount Batur and Lake Batur. Indeed, the view was stunning from our room and even from Danu Lounge.

Blog at http://prunenurture.com/2012/09/kintamani-where-mount-batur-is-still-active/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks so much for blogging about us! I'm glad you had a great time during your stay.

The wooden floors are polished with oil / polish, and that may have stained your socks. Our alternative would be to give them a polymer layer above them, and that would prevent the wood from breathing.

Rice porridge ("bubur") is on the breakfast menu, next time you have a communication issue and do not speak any Indonesian / Malay, I suggest you ask for the supervisor who should be able to help with "off menu" requests after hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the second year I have brought my writer's group on our Backstage Bali retreat to Lakeview Hotel. We are always so well looked after by GM Kadek Krishna and his staff. Food excellent, excursions wonderful - Kadek was our tour guide to temples, villages, even a wig factory! Every morning we would wake to the incredible views of sunrise through the mist rising over the Batur lake and volcano. Morning writing workshops were followed by excursions around the caldera tracing the map of Balinese cosmology. Evening readings by the open fire and then another delicious meal. Bring warm clothes and beanies -it get cold by night , but warms up in the day.
On the last day of our retreat we attended BEL, a monthly Bali Edible Landscapes event hosted by Lakeview where resident food artist Melati Gamens and assistants create a representation of the local landscape with food. The art work lasts long enough for photos and oohs and aahs, until everyone digs in to eat it! A most 'yum' experinence. We will be there again next year for sure.

Room Tip: The deluxe is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
It is always a pleasure hosting repeat customers, especially when they bring an interesting group of friends! Thank you so much for your support over the last two years, we look forward to hosting your writer's group next year.

As for the Batur Edible Landscapes (BEL), the next event is 27 October 2012, we will create a delectable desert (think after-dinner-sweetness, not Sahara) landscape featuring local pumpkin, cashews and chillies.

Til next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We absolutely loved our two nights at Lakeview Hotel. Booking was a breeze and we knew from the friendly, welcoming tone of the emails that our experience would be special. We had to check in early morning in the holy Kuningan Day and Lakeview had no driver available so the General Manager picked us up himself! Thank you for the delightful company, Kadek!

The room has warm decor with big fluffy pillows enticing us to relax, a cozy big bed with crisp white linen. The homemade cookie jar in our room was always loaded, quality coffee and tea ... Bedroom windows opened wide to the jaw dropping beauty of mount and lake Batur. We spent our two early mornings with windows wide, watching the sun rising as we lay snug in bed. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were tops. The menu selections at this resort are wonderful and the food was so divine that we enjoyed dining in all the time! Tea and coffee are top quality and the service perfect, staff are sweet and not intrusive, but there when needed.

I truly enjoyed a traditional massage which left me walking on air. The hot spring close by was also a delightful hot treat on a cold afternoon. A canoe paddle into the open cemetery of Trunyan Village and drive around the green valley was something not to be missed.

We leave here feeling pampered, relaxed, rejuvenated and wanting to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I'm glad you and your partner had a pleasant relaxing time at Lakeview. Thank you for trying out our new suite!

The quality coffee you mentioned is locally grown and roasted every three days at Danu Lounge. To ensure the freshness of our teas, we make herbal infusions from mint and lemongrass from our own garden. When it comes to coffee and tea, nothing beats the aroma-therapeutic benefits of freshness.

We look forward to hosting you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Penelokan, Kintamani, Bali 80652, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kintamani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Kintamani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Hotel is at the edge of a massive volcanic caldera overlooking Mt. Batur and its tranquil lake. The cool climate offers respite from the heat of the tropics, while the mountain setting invites nature lovers to explore. Just 56km north of Denpasar, it is a two-hour scenic drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.Each and every room, as well as the two restaurants at this hotel command magnificent views of volcano and lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Bangli
Lakeview Hotel Kintamani, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.