We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petro House Hotel

Petro House Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Petro House Hotel to your Saves list
Petro House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Tran Hung Dao, Vung Tau, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Vung Tau
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Petro House is located in a beach area called Vung Tau, approximately 2.5 hours from Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam. You can either take a minivan or hydrofoil boat. It is easy to walk to the beach, only like 5 mins. There are lots of nice little restaurants and bars in the surrounding area where you can find both traditional Vietnamese and international cuisine.

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to an executive suite which has around 50 square metres and has balcony with an amazing view of the city. All the rooms have TV, AC, hairdryer and minibar. The breakfast is included in a room rate and you can choose from 8 different menu selection which starts again both cuisines. We ended up paying 50 USD dollars for this 3 stars hotel.

You can easily spent few days in the city, there is always plenty of things to do. You can take a cable car or just rest on th beach

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
5
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We had 1 of the 2 modernised rooms, which was adequate [cleaners did not wash used coffee cups]. We had a view of a corrugated asbestos roof & the wall of the building next door. Windows should be double glazed to reduce the traffic honking [even at 445am]. Inward facing rooms have no windows.Breakfast was poor, main part was freshly done but other bits [eg saute potatoes] seemed to have been cooked beforehand and left. Evening meal, also poor, curry was 1 chicken thigh in curry gravy. Pool has been closed so they can build an extension on the lot next door. You can use the [very shabby/many tiles missing] pool at the Rex Hotel, 200m walk away and 60000VND cost [they provide towels] but only 6 sunbeds!. Hotel booked a taxi from HCMC airport to Vung Tau for $85, which seemed very expensive. It didn't appear on the check out bill but on a separate bill so I suspect it the excess was going in someone's pocket.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I was in Vung Tau for the weekend in August 2010 on pleasure with a friend. The Petro House was an older hotel and while it wasn't 4 star hotel when compared to 4 start hotels in the United States it was easily a high 3 or 4 star hotel when compared to similar countries. The rooms come equipped with complimentary web access, bottled water, HBO and other movie channels and a menu-based breakfast is included. The hotel's staff is helpful and while they don't speak very much English, they are more than willing to suggest good seafood restaurants, flag down cabs and exchange currency. The hotel additionally has great restaurant where you can eat breakfast lunch and dinner. Also, while the hotel doesn't have room service any meal you order at the restaurant can be brought to your room and while they don't have a swimming pool, they have a partnership with the Rex hotel which does have a pool.

As far as the neighborhood, the hotel is only a ten minute taxi ride from the main port where the Petro Express ferry and other ferries drop you off which is really convenient. In general the hotel is in a great neighborhood which is pretty close to some great stores, restaurants and clubs. It isn't in the tourist district, so you will get the more authentic Vung Tau experience. And the hotel itself is mostly stayed at by people in the city for pertroleum related business.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed from 15th May - 26th May. 11 days.

The room was reserved by PTSC for me. At check-in, i was informed that the deluxe room was not available and thye have upgraded me to a Suite Room. Nothing like wat u see in the brochure, but it has the Classic, spartan Indo-Chine feel to it. Many would think high end luxury when Indochine is mentioned, but this is just the original indochine feel minus the luxury. Took a few pictures.


I have no complains about the staff, as i know they did their best to accomodate with whatever they have.

Food was ok. They have a Malaysian Cook, for those from Asia, and a fair share of Burgers and Fish & Chips. The longer you stay, the more it feels like a 2nd home, as the staff starts interacting with you more. Probably due to the culture of the Vietnamese people who requires time to warm up to you.

Cable TV, WIFI at the lobby, and internet cable in the room.

So, if you dont mind the occasional 2-5 minutes blackout (5 times during my stay), and the internet service outage ( 3days during my stay), this will be a good place to stay.

Wudnt suggest this hotel to holiday makers though, as the action is on the otherside of Vung Tau. Would suggest this hotel to Oil & Gas personnel who needs to travel to and fro PTSC Supply Base and its vicinity if you prefer a laid back hotel with the necessary amenities.

If im going to Vung Tau for work, yes, i might consider returning

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie on the Road
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Having looked at the reviews from other travellors - maybe a few words of explanation.
This Hotel was originally the PetroVietnam Company guest house. If you were visting a PteroVietnam Company in Vung Tau, this is where they put you (we are going back MANY years!). Back then it wouldn't have rated any *!
Now it is much improved and whilst not being anywhere near the "luxury" star rating, it is a Hotel that I don't mind staying at. (Given that I spend 10 months a year staying in Hotels in Asia and usually on the Excutive Club floor!).
Travellors must also recognise that Vung Tau is two cities - the small fishing village next to the ferry terminal & the city over the mountain! It took me 5 years to find the CITY of Vung Tau.
It also amazes me that the Palace Hotel is rated as No.2 - they must have re-built the thing! From my experince, I would class the Palace as one of the worst Hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Have stayed here many times over the last 12 years, quaint architecture but looking a little tired and worn now, especially in some of the rooms. Bathrooms can be a little pokey.

Good location in reasonable area, close to Front Beach and the some of the better bars and restaurants.

Avoid the rooms at the front, can be noisy.

Dependable service, but nothing special. At the price, it's not a steal but it's not unreasonable.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

Stayed here for one night...wasn't worth the money. Bathtub has a hole, carpet has stains, and room is small. Heavy traffic outside and the honking guarantees a bad night sleep. Hotel doesn't even have a converter! Try other bigger hotels instead of this...

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Petro House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petro House Hotel

Address: 63 Tran Hung Dao, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petro House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Petro House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petro Hotel Vung Tau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petro House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.