We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Nguyen Du St., Vung Tau, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Vung Tau
Ingham QLD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were booked into the Palace Hotel next door to the Grand,but something happned and we ended up in the Grand,it was a lot dearer but we did not have to pay extra,great hotel,grat service but rooms were not as modern as the Palace,but all in all it still was good,breakfast was huge and a good location.

Room Tip: not sure ,all rooms were in a good quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
10
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I love the charm of this hotel, it has that "old style" feel to it and was a great introduction for me to Vietnam. I was impressed with the antique decor in my room and the section with the Asian restaurant and bar, the staff were very friendly and helpful, I had a great four days here to relax before head off to work.
The swimming pool was fine, only a minor inconvenience to get a ticket at reception, but I planned for that and took the ticket at breakfast time.
Meals were great and the omelets at breakfast were perfect.
Very convenient location to walk along the beach and to other restaurants and banks.

I don't know why the post below complains so much. The only negative was the nightclub next door but it wasn't so bad that I couldn't sleep.

Looking forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, they are also quieter (away from nightclub next door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Very happy with their manners and patience. Good breakfast and great location in Vung Tau. Staff always happy to help and they did not try to rip off their customers.
Overall I give 9 out of 10. I will be happy to stay at Grand Hotel again

Room Tip: Well experience staffs with good english knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We've lived in Vietnam for 7 years now, and visited Vung Tau more than a dozen times, so this review is set against a comparison with many other (mostly 2-star) hotels we've stayed at in Vung Tau and elsewhere in VN. The Grand Hotel is well decorated with tinsel and shiny wrapping paper for Christmas - and this pretty much sums up the hotel itself, in our opinion (plenty of glitter but very little substance). Courteous staff, as you'd expect for USD95 per night(!), but when you actually needed them to do something it simply never happened, eg reset our room safe which was locked on arrival - never happened; fix the plug in the sink which wouldn't stay down - never happened; fix the aircon which wouldn't change temperatures - never happened; fix the toilet which kept flushing itself - never happened; fix the room wifi and/or cable internet connection - never happened. The only thing that DID happen was a lady in the restaurant offering to make our toast because we couldn't fathom the ancient toaster. Predictably, she couldn't make it work too well, either, because the toast arrived scorched around the edges and not even warm in the middle! And then the maitre'd who had assured us that he would personally attend to all of the above glitches, but didn't, had the nerve to ask us the next day if we'd enjoyed a good sleep! When I said it was OK except having to get up at 3 am to try and fix the aircon and stop the toilet continually flushing itself, he just smiled, nodded and walked away! And because the wifi didn't work, we had to try and use one of the only two free computers in the grossly mis-named "business centre" - but, you guessed it, they were never available because only one worked properly and there was always a queue! And did I mention the continuous banging from renovators at 6 am! Finally, I notice someone mentions the swimming pool - but omits to mention that it belongs to the Palace Hotel next door and you need to get a ticket from reception!!! Most of the 2-star hotels we've stayed at in VN, for average USD20 per night, are much better than the rather tired-looking Grand, and anything that doesn't work is usually fixed on the spot, unlike the Grand which promises much and charges for it, but eminently fails to deliver!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatehpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I have stayed in Grand hotel 2-3 times. this hotel is very well situated in vung tau. though there is no spa in this hotel but there are plenty of them around it so that compensates it. rooms are good with a small kitchen inside the room. nice and clean and a good view. located at a distance of less than 5 minutes from ferry station to ho chi minh. Another issue i found with this hotel is there is no lift on one of the wing. overall a good hotel with little bit room for improvement.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely suite. The only problem was that we apeared to be amongst about only a dozen people staying there. Perhaps we were out of season ! Close to plenty of bars and decent restaurants and very close to the ferry terminal. Vung taus not the greatest resort in the world , but if you are going there then you could do alot worse then staying at the grand !

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed at The Grand for 3 nights. It's a little dated and found it not very friendly towards guests with a feeling of them trying to rip you off at every corner. One of my travel companions had his parents join him for a couple of nights. There where enough beds in his room for them to stay but they wanted to charge him for another room. When he finally got to speak to the manager all he got was a shoulder shrug.

My room wasn't exactly the most fragrant off places - very musty, and the curtains on the windows had half the black-out material missing from the back - so not very effective at keeping the light out in the early mornings.

Be careful with some of the rooms - there is a disco out the back of the hotel, and if you end up backing onto that you will need to be a heavy sleeper, or out partying till the 2am closing time.

Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 2 Nguyen Du St., Vung Tau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.