We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAI DINH PAGODA enroute to NINH BINH CAVES with Indochina Pioneer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bai Dinh Pagoda

Bai Dinh Pagoda
Van Giand, Ninh Binh, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 things to do in Ninh Binh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“BAI DINH PAGODA enroute to NINH BINH CAVES with Indochina Pioneer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A very interesting pagoda which we stopped at on the way to the Ninh Binh Caves. This tour was a great escape from the center of Hanoi! Great country roads and a very peaceful day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    65
    26
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“well worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Although everything is not completed in this ambitious pagoda complex I would absolutely recommend a visit. We saw it as part of a day tour from Hanoi to Trang An. The Stupa, huge bronze Buddha and Pagodas were amazing. The long passage ways down both sides of the hill house 500 huge marble statues of different monks, everyone different from the other. There is some walking and climbing but it was totally worth it. Mostly Vietnamese tourists here. A good place to stroll around for a couple of hours. Unique.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“New pagoda which still under construction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The temple look great and elegance but... too commercialize. Apparently this is the new temple. There were a more classic and historical temple further in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Pagoda but basic amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This Pagoda was amazing and we are very pleased we went to this place rather than the other more commonly known attractions in Ninh Binh such as the Bich Dong Pagoda. This will be the biggest Pagoda in Vietnam when it is finished in 2017 but the extensive buildings surrounding it are worth the visit now.

On the day we visited we were the only westerns there - this is very much a Vietnamese tourist attraction ATM. We toured here along with the Trang An boat trip with a guide that spoke some English and was able to tell us a bit about it but not a whole lot. We more took in the sites. The Buddha's are numerous and impressive.

The one negative is that the facilities - such as access and toilets was very basic and a long way from anywhere. The day we visited it had rained and there was a lot of mud. Our shoes and clothes become covered in mud. The toilets were very basic indeed and we had to pay for the privilege. They were also a long way from the entrance or exit.

I would still suggest this place to visit as it was very interesting and it was nice to not be surrounded by lots of other tourist - other than Vietnamese people who were very friendly and curious to find us there. We were recommended this place by our guide in Ha Long Bay.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

To see something so old and well maintained is amazing along with the facts and information that realte to the pagoda.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bai Dinh Pagoda also viewed

Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
 
Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
 

Been to Bai Dinh Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bai Dinh Pagoda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.