We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel passing off as 5 star hotel due to lack of good hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Tran Phu Street, Haiphong, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Second Room
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Haiphong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ok hotel passing off as 5 star hotel due to lack of good hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is my 2nd time staying in this hotel. There is nothing in the hotel to "shout" the 5 star that they claimed other than u have no better choices. Lacking in amenities & comfort. A bit pricey at US$150 with taxes. Staff are nice though. Breakfast is nice if you are using 5 star as yardstick.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAvaniHaiphong, General Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Always_travelling88
I would like to thank you for the feedback which is important to us to enhance our service in the future. I see we were not able to live fully up to your expectations and would like to apologize to these shortfalls.
It is great to see you have enjoyed the service of our staff and our breakfast buffet as you mention it does reach 5 star standards which we are very proud of.
AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View is a 4 star hotel as its official ranking. This is publicized on all channels. We do aim to deliver 5 star services as you have acknowledged with the breakfast, but do not claim the hotel to have 5 stars.
I am looking forward to welcome you back in Hai Phong soon on your 3rd visit. I do hope this will be soon and you give us an opportunity to convince you of our good Vietnamese hospitality.

Best personal regards
Christian Bernkopf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    42
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
21
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great staff and service attitude but there are real problems with this hotel. I rarely write bad reviews as I understand things can go wrong occassionally. But here I will make an exception.

The building is realtively modern (its "heritage" style, but you won't feel any real character). But the problem is despite the relative newness the building has significant failings. Firstly an incredibly noisy roof mounted air-conditioning compressor made it impossible to sleep in our 3rd storey (top floor) room. The layout of the hotel means you can hear this piece of equipment clearly in many rooms. The hotel swiftly gave us an extra room on the 1st (ground) floor to sleep in which was OK, but this really shouldnt be necessary.

But then to add to the issues the next morning the water supply in both rooms failed. The hotel are apparently changing the pipework throughout the hotel. Hence the interuption. There was no warning of a loss of water supply.

So 5 star prices. No sleep. No water. I'd strongly advise you go elsewhere: at least until the renovations are complete and theyve replaced the main airconditioning unit. (I sayed in June 2014).

The hotel is ownered by the Thai Mint Group PCL which should be a recommendation, But theyve severely underinvested here.

positives? excellent service. good breakfast. reasonable location.

Room Tip: If you must stay here go for a 1st floor room, but check how loud the mechanical noise of the roof c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAvaniHaiphong, General Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear SingBob,
Thank you for your review about your past stay with us in June.
I am very pleased to see your praise of our associates performance and the comments on breakfast. We do work hard to train our teams here at AVANI and appreciate your positive comments to this.
We are currently undergoing some maintenance works as we do change all of our existing piping in the hotel. Related to this we did have to cut the water supply on a few occasions. The water shutdown was planned well in advance and communicated to our guests. This happened during the night only.
During your stay we did not have any comment from any guest nor did we face any water interruption anywhere in the hotel. If it did happen in your during your stay, we do sincerely apologize. We would have been able to fix this with our engineering team would we have known.
The noise you are referring to relates as well to the project as we do have additional equipment installed which is needed during the course of the renovation. We did learn from your case and allocate rooms more carefully now.
I would be happy to welcome you back here in Hai Phong on your next trip in the region to meet you in person.
Best Personal regards
Christian Bernkopf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed during a short Weekend break at this lovely hotel. Love the location, close to main center with the old and beautiful Opera House. Nice room and nice swimming pool. Good Breakfast. Nice terrace in the front of the hotel for a nice evening cocktail. Enjoyed the Massage at the Spa.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The room was decorated to a high standard and the bed was very comfortable. There was an excellent bathroom and an ample supply of toiletries. The towels were also nice.

The breakfast was an extensive buffet but when we visited there were only about four people taking breakfast.The staff were also very pleasant and helpful.

You can walk to the town centre but there is not much to see at night. The harbour is also close but you cannot walk around the dock.

The door staff were very helpful in getting a taxi to the bus station.

Overall we were happy for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here just the one night, so perhaps little chance to sample hotel too much. Came away with a good impression.

A little bit of a mix up at the airport on the way in, the pre-booked transport somehow didn't show. Didn't cause too much of a problem and the staff did handle it well.

Nice semi- colonial style hotel, large rooms and comfortable bed. The breakfast was great, wide range and decent quality. Service was good, friendly and efficient. I liked the look of the Cheers Pub, but arrived maybe a little too late to sample it.

Nice touch - I was leaving the next day around 2pm and was prepared to check out early and leave my bags. Reception just suggested I keep the room till 2 and return in time to freshen up before the drive back to Hanoi. Usually you have to negotiate for such things, their forward thinking saved me a lot of hassle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and your great comments towards AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View, we appreciate it.

We, including all associates here at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View, feel so encouraged by your feedback and your satisfaction during your stay with us.

We would like to apologize for the mixing up of the transportation on the way in, we would also have been feeling uncomfortable in the same situation. Thank you for letting us know, it will be useful for us to improve our service further.

Thanks again, and look forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon, please do not hesitate to contact me should you need anything to make your stay a comfortable one.

Best regards,

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We really enjoyed a pleasant stay at the Avani Harbour View Hotel. Rooms are clean and beds are very comfortable. Excellent breakfast every morning, options to dine in the hotel and the Cheers pub for drinks.

The location is great and the staff was really amazing. From the warmest, most genuine greetings every day to the many suggestions of activities on what you should do and where to eat whilst in Hai Phong. They really made us feel like we were staying with family.

We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to enjoy Hai Phong being well taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

My apologize for taking for quite while to response!

Thank you very much for the nice comments towards AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View.

We were so happy to have such positive encouragement, it really helped us to continue our mission to reach our vision as every guest feel like home and leaves with satisfaction.

Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me if I could be of any assistance.

Best regards

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night during a business trip to Haiphong. It is a very nice hotel. the architecture evokes pre-war French colonialist Vietnam in a nice way, understated but with lovely little classy touches that set it apart. The buffet was excellent, the little gift shop is charming, the staff were falling over themselves to be friendly, polite and efficient and the amenities are every thing you expect from a modern hotel. Free wi/fi is a bonus, and the shower although old is a real showstopper - awesome. It is dating a little bit in some ways but everything works and it feels secure and relaxing. When I come back to Haiphong next year I'll be staying here I'm certain. Ticks all the boxes for me - literally cannot find fault.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

My apologize for taking quite while for the response!

Thank you very much for such positive comments towards AVANI Hai phong Harbour View, we appreciate it.

Our vision is to make every guest leaves with satisfaction, and here we are confident that it's on the right way.

The staff were very happy to receive such encouraged comments for our guests, it made us grow stronger.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Best regards,

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 12 Tran Phu Street, Haiphong, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Haiphong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Haiphong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel that offers all the right ingredients for a convenient and satisfying stay? Just a short distance from Hai Phong's town centre, AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View is ideally situated. If style, choice and service matter most, you've found the perfect place. Blending French colonial decor and an international ambience, you'll find relaxing comforts, as well as superb accommodation and facilities. Traditional Vietnamese hospitality makes everyone feel welcome, and winding down after a day of sightseeing or business meetings is a pleasure. Feel revived with a gym session, a few laps in the pool or a massage. Find fresh ideas for dining at our restaurant, cafe, pub and bar. If you have time to explore this fascinating region, AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View is a great base for excursions to highlights like Hanoi City, Catba Island and magnificent Halong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Haiphong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.