We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room near to the harbour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Tran Phu Street, Haiphong, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend promotion
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Haiphong
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good room near to the harbour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The room was decorated to a high standard and the bed was very comfortable. There was an excellent bathroom and an ample supply of toiletries. The towels were also nice.

The breakfast was an extensive buffet but when we visited there were only about four people taking breakfast.The staff were also very pleasant and helpful.

You can walk to the town centre but there is not much to see at night. The harbour is also close but you cannot walk around the dock.

The door staff were very helpful in getting a taxi to the bus station.

Overall we were happy for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
23
5
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here just the one night, so perhaps little chance to sample hotel too much. Came away with a good impression.

A little bit of a mix up at the airport on the way in, the pre-booked transport somehow didn't show. Didn't cause too much of a problem and the staff did handle it well.

Nice semi- colonial style hotel, large rooms and comfortable bed. The breakfast was great, wide range and decent quality. Service was good, friendly and efficient. I liked the look of the Cheers Pub, but arrived maybe a little too late to sample it.

Nice touch - I was leaving the next day around 2pm and was prepared to check out early and leave my bags. Reception just suggested I keep the room till 2 and return in time to freshen up before the drive back to Hanoi. Usually you have to negotiate for such things, their forward thinking saved me a lot of hassle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and your great comments towards AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View, we appreciate it.

We, including all associates here at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View, feel so encouraged by your feedback and your satisfaction during your stay with us.

We would like to apologize for the mixing up of the transportation on the way in, we would also have been feeling uncomfortable in the same situation. Thank you for letting us know, it will be useful for us to improve our service further.

Thanks again, and look forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon, please do not hesitate to contact me should you need anything to make your stay a comfortable one.

Best regards,

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We really enjoyed a pleasant stay at the Avani Harbour View Hotel. Rooms are clean and beds are very comfortable. Excellent breakfast every morning, options to dine in the hotel and the Cheers pub for drinks.

The location is great and the staff was really amazing. From the warmest, most genuine greetings every day to the many suggestions of activities on what you should do and where to eat whilst in Hai Phong. They really made us feel like we were staying with family.

We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to enjoy Hai Phong being well taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

My apologize for taking for quite while to response!

Thank you very much for the nice comments towards AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View.

We were so happy to have such positive encouragement, it really helped us to continue our mission to reach our vision as every guest feel like home and leaves with satisfaction.

Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me if I could be of any assistance.

Best regards

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night during a business trip to Haiphong. It is a very nice hotel. the architecture evokes pre-war French colonialist Vietnam in a nice way, understated but with lovely little classy touches that set it apart. The buffet was excellent, the little gift shop is charming, the staff were falling over themselves to be friendly, polite and efficient and the amenities are every thing you expect from a modern hotel. Free wi/fi is a bonus, and the shower although old is a real showstopper - awesome. It is dating a little bit in some ways but everything works and it feels secure and relaxing. When I come back to Haiphong next year I'll be staying here I'm certain. Ticks all the boxes for me - literally cannot find fault.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

My apologize for taking quite while for the response!

Thank you very much for such positive comments towards AVANI Hai phong Harbour View, we appreciate it.

Our vision is to make every guest leaves with satisfaction, and here we are confident that it's on the right way.

The staff were very happy to receive such encouraged comments for our guests, it made us grow stronger.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Best regards,

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

It was my second time in this hotel and I must say that the Visitors to Hai phong must stay in this hotel due to following reasons....

- It's a beautiful property, specially the reception area and the central courtyard.

- helpful staff, always there to help you. Speak comparatively very good English

- rooms are nice and cosy

- food is excellent

- bar area gives a feeling of being in an English Pub. Great place to have a drink or two

Some tips, those who like Vietnamese cuisine, and do not have qualms for eating food at moderately priced place; do try a restaurant (famous for its chicken) just around the corner (right side when you come out of the hotel). Good food...

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

My apologize for taking quite while in response!

We were so happy to learn that you had been feeling comfortable with AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View and being loyal to it.

It's great that you recommended some local restaurants around in order to make the time more experienced. I am very pleased to inform that the new menu for our Nam Phuong restaurant (Vietnamese & Asian) has been launched, an authentic ones to add in.

Once again thank you very much and looking forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me if I could do anything to make your stay a comfortable one.

Best regards

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Only stayed for 1 night, so did not use the facility. The room is spacious and comfortable, the service in the breakfast room was surprisingly very good, though the food selection was limited. .......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

My apologize for taking quite while for the response!

We appreciated your comments about our hotel as well as the service overall - through this encouragement, we will positively continue with our improvement to make things better and better.

Thanks again, and look forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon. Please contact me if you need anything to make your stay comfortable and memorable.

Best regards

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed one night. The basic twin room was comfortable, there was a fruit plate and a note from Management. There is a folder with a map of Haiphong and other helpful information. The bathroom is bright and spacious with lots of amenities. The highlight of our stay was the buffet breakfast set in a nice dining room with an attentive staff. The Front desk people were helpful.
The room rate is a bit high for Vietnam but there isn't that much choice in Haiphong.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarbourview, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

My apologize for taking quite while for the response!

Thank you very much for your pleased comments towards AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View.

We were so happy to learn that you had been satisfied with our hotel including the efficiency of our staff during your stay with us.

This encouragement is part of our spirit to be moving forward in order to meet every guest's expectation.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to welcoming you back to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could do anything to make your stay a comfortable one.


Best regards

TM Tan
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiphong
1.0 mi away
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
#2 of 31 in Haiphong
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nam Cuong Hotel
Nam Cuong Hotel
#12 of 31 in Haiphong
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#2 of 16 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Pearl River Hotel
3.1 mi away
Camela Hotel & Resort
Camela Hotel & Resort
#5 of 31 in Haiphong
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#7 of 31 in Haiphong
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 12 Tran Phu Street, Haiphong, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Haiphong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Haiphong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haiphong
#2 Best Value Hotel in Haiphong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel that offers all the right ingredients for a convenient and satisfying stay? Just a short distance from Hai Phong's town centre, AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View is ideally situated. If style, choice and service matter most, you've found the perfect place. Blending French colonial decor and an international ambience, you'll find relaxing comforts, as well as superb accommodation and facilities. Traditional Vietnamese hospitality makes everyone feel welcome, and winding down after a day of sightseeing or business meetings is a pleasure. Feel revived with a gym session, a few laps in the pool or a massage. Find fresh ideas for dining at our restaurant, cafe, pub and bar. If you have time to explore this fascinating region, AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View is a great base for excursions to highlights like Hanoi City, Catba Island and magnificent Halong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Haiphong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.