We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nam Phuong Restaurant, Harbour View.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel

Save Saved
You added AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Tran Phu Street, Haiphong, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Haiphong
Hai Phong Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nam Phuong Restaurant, Harbour View.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

When I think of dining on authentic Vietnamese food, I imagine little blue stools, rubbish on the floor, lots of noise, diners crowded together and the ritual of taking a napkin and cleaning off the bowls and chopsticks before using them ... and delicious food.
But tonight I had the pleasure of dining on delicious, authentic Vietnamese food in a restaurant that is elegant and spacious, yet intimate and relaxing. Nam Phuong Restaurant, in Harbour View Hotel is a treasure. Decorated with charming artefacts, the room is arranged so that each table has its own space, apart from the others. The chairs are comfortable, the table settings are spotless and picture perfect. No cacophony from other diners here, just soft Vietnamese music in the background. No need to call out “Em oi!”, the waitresses are on hand to serve. Beautifully attired in áo dài’s, they serve with gentle grace – and they speak English.
The menu has over sixty dishes to choose from – a delicious array of flavours and taste sensations from all over Vietnam. The food is presented beautifully as you would expect. There is an extensive wine cellar as well as fresh fruit cocktails to accompany your meal.
Tasteful elegance, excellent service, and delicious food in an atmosphere that invites you to relax and linger – an entirely pleasurable dining experience in Hải Phòng.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
18
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were 8 to stay here in Haiphong. This was a wonderful experience to stay at home away from home.
Harbourview Hotel management and facilitating staff was very well trained and professional. They put in all possible efforts to provide us homelike comfort. The staff at reception desk was very polite and helpful despite language barrier.
The Hotel has a good western look having a nice bar and cafe.
We stayed here for two nights and I believe that these two nights are unforgetable for all of us.
Apart from all the facilities and level of comfort that the Hotel provides to its guests, one thing is missing, that is is the proper and adequate communication between the guests and the hotel staff.
I would like to suggest that staff may be encouraged to learn english language for more better communication with the guests that will certainly improve the level of sevice and comfort for the guests.
I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THANKS TO MS. THUY LING AND
MR. THANG AT RECEPTION DESK.

SHERAZI

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night en route from the Hanoi airport to Cat Ba. Based on what we saw of Haiphong before getting to the hotel -- basically the train station and the taxi ride to the hotel -- we had VERY low expectations for what the hotel might look like, especially given the low price (by USA standards) and apparent lack of tourists in town. Luckily, it was a good surprise.

The lobby reeked of cigar smoke from the bar, but otherwise reception was fine, with a welcoming staff that speaks adequate English. The room was fairly standard for an upscale hotel anywhere, and was clean. Breakfast was excellent, with a mix of Western staples and local fruit.

Minor complaints: the hallways are covered but open-air, so are really hot when the heat index is above 40C/105F (but the room was comfortable). Also, there were two brief power outages in the morning (a few minutes each). Not the hotel's fault, I assume, but it made us a little nervous about getting into the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here for a night and the cleanliness was a relief. Stayed at a "4 star" hotel for a night before coming to Harbour view and was very disappointed. On the other hand, this hotel has a nice western feel and the bar/cafe had a fair amount of western foods available. I tried the Hawaiian pizza for dinner and in the morning ate a sandwich with an egg and boy it was delicious. It has been almost 2 weeks since I've eaten anything western. The city doesn't offer too much western foods or decent restaurants to sit in but there are a lot of authentic delicious street foods that this city offers. I would definitely come back and eat at the cafe, seems like the menu items are all delicious.

The comfort of the room was decent. I have no complaints about the bed and the TV was a good size with all the channels. The bathroom was nice and clean as well. The downside of the room was low wifi connection and when I opened the window I had a view of the construction happening next door. There was no privacy when I opened the window. With that said, the staff and employees are very helpful and spoke a good amount of English. Would want to come back but it is a bit pricey for this city. Paid almost 160 for a night. You really have to search for a hotel in this city because it's not a touristy area with a lot of choices of hotels, restaurants and places to see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We knew when booking that we were only going to be Hai Phong for 15 hours as we were coming from Cuc Phuong in the late afternoon and going off to Cat Ba on the 9am Mekong hydrofoil. I was surprised at the apparent lack of hotels in a city the size of Hai Phong so chose this after reading a couple of early reviews. This is by far and away the most expensive place we have stayed in Vietnam. We were unable to get a family room so it ended up costing $300 for the 1 night for 2 rooms. Whether this is due to lack of competition i don't know but i would certainly try and find better value if I was to stay longer in Hai Phong.

Rooms were fine, bathrooms were clean but unlike every other non-western style hotel I've stayed in here, there was no computer in the room. If you wanted to use one you had to pay to use the business centre which was a bit rich! There is weak wifi in the rooms however.

The biggest disappointment (though hardly a surprise) was breakfast! The full Western - Special K and fluffy sweet white toast - none of the great baguettes that are available on every street corner!

On the positive side, the hotel staff, like everwhere in Vietnam were really freindly and very helpful. They called ahead to the Mekong booking office first thing in the morning for us and arranged tickets to Cat Ba (150,000vnd each).

The location is also good - yes, there's no harbour view but its located near to some interesting street food venues. We braved the streets for Pho for 4 which came to a whopping 120,000vnd ($6).

I'd like to come back to Hai Phong again but would choose to stay elsewhere i think.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in Haiphong for one night. It's not a very touristy place (walking around the town we didn't see any other westerners), so there is not a huge choice of hotels. We found the Harbour View hotel to be very comfortable, if a little expensive. It's in an attractive colonial building with rooms set around a courtyard. The room was huge, with a nice bathroom and suited our needs well. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. We had an evening flight and they let us stay in the room until 6pm with no extra charge. The hotel doesn't have a view of the harbour, but to be honest the habour is a working port so not very attractive anyway. There is quite a nice park area nearby, We ate dinner at the hotel bar which was good, but expensive by Vietnamese standards. The breakfast was a la carte, probably because the hotel seemed to be fairly empty while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We spent 9 nights in Harbour View Hotel - my husband was working in the nearby Office Towers. Excellent welcome, perfect cleanliness of the rooms and of the restaurants.
Employees at your call and willingly willing to help - not the case in most European or American hotels - Maybe the English skills could be improved but after all HaiPhong is not the most favourite place for tourists, except a few ones stopping over on their way to Ha-Long Bay, it is mostly business people in relation with the Harbour.
The Chef has prepared some delicious meals and proposed to cook anything we wished !
The business center ladies are great and helpful and their English quite good.
The street in which the hotel is located is relatively quiet for a busy place like HaiPhong and the hotel gardens are well presented. My husband and I warmly recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel

Also Known As:
Harbour View Haiphong
Address: 12 Tran Phu Street, Haiphong, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Haiphong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Haiphong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel that offers all the right ingredients for a convenient and satisfying stay? Just a short distance from Hai Phong's town centre, AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View is ideally situated. If style, choice and service matter most, you've found the perfect place. Blending French colonial decor and an international ambience, you'll find relaxing comforts, as well as superb accommodation and facilities. Traditional Vietnamese hospitality makes everyone feel welcome, and winding down after a day of sightseeing or business meetings is a pleasure. Feel revived with a gym session, a few laps in the pool or a massage. Find fresh ideas for dining at our restaurant, cafe, pub and bar. If you have time to explore this fascinating region, AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View is a great base for excursions to highlights like Hanoi City, Catba Island and magnificent Halong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.