We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place in over 3 weeks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Ba Eco Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Cat Ba Eco Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cat Ba Eco Lodge Resort
3 Xuan Dam Hamlet | Cat Hai Town, Haiphong, Vietnam (Formerly Suoi Goi Cat Ba Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Haiphong
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst place in over 3 weeks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Where do I start?. On arrival the industrial smell of varnish filled the rooms. On closer inspection they were painting the columns below the rooms. The painters had on facemasks to protect themselves no such luck for the guests. Dinner consisted of frozen crinkle cut chips, unidentifiable fish with the texture of clay, frozen western style vegetables, assorted other ordinary course followed. After over 3 weeks in Vietnam this was clearly the worst meal we have had on our trip. Off to bed to be awaken my some large mammals (rats!!) running through our room, very difficult to sleep over the sound of gnawing as they ate through plastic bags and decided it would be fun to run over the tops of the bed. Nothing worse than feeling a rat run across your sheet, during the night. Next morning you guessed it, worst breakfast for the entire trip. So being an eco lodge maybe you can hire a bike noooo ….not enough bikes four people so you might like to hire a motorbike!!!! Just to add a to the whole experience friends of the manager were driven to the ferry in the air-conditioned Eco lodge resort bus. Which left us, the paying guests to be transported by an unroadworthy non air-conditioned truck. A perfect ending to awful eco "lodge"

Overall thank goodness we had such great accommodation service and food before we arrived at Cat Ba Eco Lodge

Room Tip: try to book into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Exotic location In the jungle. But far from the town. If you are looking for relaxation and isolation this is great. We are a bit too antsy for this place but loved the vibe and hospitality. Rooms are clean. Food is ok and staff are great!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hai Phong, Hai Phong, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My family stayed at Cat Ba Eco Lodge for three days at the end of March. We had fantastic time during living there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the food was really delicious and fresh. We live in a twin room which was clean and nice. Specially all rooms were made from wood which called House On Stilts. So it were really stranger to us. In the evening, we decided to enjoy the meal on the pine hill. The fresh air made we feel comfortable and relax. Not only can we had an happy meal together but we also saw the beautiful scenery of green forest. It made us close to the natural.
It was a memorable time when visit Cat Ba island. I hope I and my family can come back this place soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Two nights at this eco resort were relaxing and enjoyable. Bike ride and trekking through the mountain coastline and countryside. Lots of great food, rooms were comfortable and simple. Staff was helpful. internet service was accessible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cat Ba Eco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Ba Eco Lodge Resort

Address: 3 Xuan Dam Hamlet | Cat Hai Town, Haiphong, Vietnam (Formerly Suoi Goi Cat Ba Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Haiphong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Haiphong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cat Ba Eco-Lodge is nestled in dramatic forested hills 13 km from Cat Ba Town. (Information on arriving and getting around.) We have a warm, friendly, Vietnamese staff and our restaurant proudly serves some of the best Vietnamese and International cuisine on the island. Even if you do not stay at our hotel you are still invited to stop by for a memorable lunch at our acclaimed restaurant. Our Eco-Lodge was designed and constructed with comfort in mind and it is immaculately maintained. The rooms are arranged in three separate buildings centered around the restaurant and common areas. Each room offers total privacy and has: Full Bathroom Hot Water Heating / Air Conditioning / Fan Mini-Bar Flat Screen TV Telephone Wireless Internet Luxuriously Comfortable Beds In the hotel's common areas you will find our restaurant and our full service bar and lounge. In the lounge computers are available with free, fast, reliable Internet. Scattered around the 7 hectare property you will find our garden, fruit trees and hidden hammocks at your disposal. We also offer free cooking classes for those interested. There are marked walking trails of different intensities leaving from our lodge's front door. A self-guided walking tours explain the area's natural features including the unusual karst landscape that makes Halong Bay so famously beautiful and a UNESECO World Heritage Site. Several beaches (including our gorgeous private beach) are within 15 minutes on bicycle. Many guests like to discover a new beach or panoramic mountain top everyday of their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cat Ba Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Ba Eco Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.