We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel and gardens on the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Can Tho Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Can Tho Resort to your Saves list
Victoria Can Tho Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cai Khe Ward, | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 32, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Can Tho
yorkshire,
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel and gardens on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Only stayed one night here as part of my Vietnam/cambodia trip, but it was a tranqil oasis with beautiful gardens leading down to the river with even a booklet provided detailing th eplants on view and the water buffalo!. Met with cool drink of juice on arrival and a lovely room with a very comfortable bed. A most elegant atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    244
    36
    11
    1
See reviews for
118
442
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Victoria Can Tho is a beautiful hotel, set around well manicured gardens and a swimming pool on the banks of the Hau river on the outskirts of can tho town. On checking in they provide cold towels, juice and a shoulder massage and staff appear very attentive. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The balcony of the deluxe room looked over the swimming pool, some of the rooms would however look over the restaurant next door.

We ate dinner jn the restaurant which was very tasty, serving both vietnamese and western food. It does of course have the price tag for in hotel dinning but the location is beautiful. Citronella oil is provided if you want to sit outside to prevent mosquitos but we found we needed to use our DEET!

The buffet breakfast is also extensive, and was one of the best we have experienced in vietnam. Both Western and Asian options were available.

There is a free shuttle boat to take you into Can tho town, however this only runs between 7-11am and 4-10pm. otherwise you would need to take a taxi as it is probably too far to walk as the route is indirect. Can tho town however offers very little, we attempted to go to the military museum but due to the timing of the boat we could not get there when jt was open. We spent maybe 2hrs at most in the town including eating dinner.

We took two tours organised through Victoria. The first was a countryside cycling tour. We paid around £30 a person for this and were led to believe it was a 4 hour cyling tour. It started well, the bikes on a short boat journey and then we visited a brick factory (was actually really interesting if sounds a little bizarre), we then cycled on concrete paths (referred to as roads but actually just wide enough for bike or moped) around farmland and small canals. it was really interesting and pretty, but then our guide took us on the main road saying that the paths were under construction . We returned to the hotel less than 2hrs after leaving, supposedly the paths had been under construction for at least a month! We complained to the tours manager, who initially offered us 15% of another tour, we eventually managed to get it for free! This was to the floating market, rice noodle factory, fruit orchard and rice processing factory, it was very interesting and i would highly recommend. The hotel manager also apologised for the tour problem.

The only other issue with the hotel is that there is currently building work going in, just next to the swimming pool. We were emailed to advise us of this a few weeks before our arrival but as we had a non refundable booking we could not change anyway. It certainly ruined the ambience of the pool area, but we appreciate it is low season and work needs to happen. Perhaps some compensation for this should have been offered?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

very French provisional hotel well laid out clean great service from friendly helpful staff nothing outstanding about the rooms except roomy clean but being French provisional they felt a bit dated food was good no complaints great for a couple of days but wouldn't recommend for a long stay as there are so many other places to see

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The moment we arrived we were greeted with passionfruit juice in ceramic cups. The resort is classic French colonial style, with everything performed in an understated, elegant way. The grounds are delightful, complete with swimming pool, and a short walk to a promenade along the Mekong. At dawn, stroll into town to hear the monks chanting their prayers. When night falls and the humidity drops, catch the hotel boat into Can Tho to explore the markets of have a meal.
The hotel restaurant is excellent, a choice of either traditional or French-inspired cooking. Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip, and I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, Cheshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The rooms were comfortable but we had stayed in much better on our trip round Vietnam. There was nothing special to make the rooms better than 3 star. The pool was nice and the area well laid out.
The restaurant breakfast was the ok but we had much better in all the other hotels we had stayed in. As we were in a group in the evening we had a set meal in the dining room and the only thing I was able to eat was the dessert (something I don't normally have). The starter had too many things mixed in with it and I was unable to eat it because of some of the ingredients. Neither my husband or I managed to eat either the starter or the main course, it was the worst food we had the whole holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The perfect hotel to stay in when visiting the Mekong Delta area/region in Vietnam!!

Perfect for a one or two night stay/stop over in this area!!! Great breakfast

Upon check you are welcomed with a welcome refreshing drink as well as a mini back massage and it most likely much needed.

The pool here is very nice and nice to just sit and relax in for a few hours in between activities in this area!

I highly recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It is a beautiful hotel...third time here..low season, so very quiet & lots of maintenance going on. They said they had upgraded us but that was not correct. Breakfast is excellent & the staff are very helpful. There are no other hotels in Can Tho of this standard, so you must stay here!

Room Tip: You can get a room that has a view to the river & that is first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Can Tho Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Can Tho Resort

Address: Cai Khe Ward, | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 32, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Can Tho
#2 Romantic Hotel in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Can Tho Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mekong Delta, Can Tho is home to charming riverside landscapes, green paddy fields, floating markets and myriads of canals. Experience a sunrise or sunset cruise on board the Lady Hau, a traditional wooden rice barge to the floating market. Set in a magnificent garden on the banks of the Hau River, the colonial architecture of Victoria Can Tho Resort complements the natural beauty of the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Can Tho Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Can Tho Hotel Can Tho
Victoria Hotel Can Tho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Can Tho Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.