We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Can Tho Resort

Save Saved
You added Victoria Can Tho Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Can Tho Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cai Khe Ward, | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 32, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 hotels in Can Tho
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Small room, pool not very big, coming in from mui ne we found the place a bit small. Not too many food options,their early morning river excursion on their steamer boat is over rated, the river is huge and is a sight to behold

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuanThu, General Manager at Victoria Can Tho Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Umeshhippo,

We are happly to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish to thank you for your nice comments about the Lady Hau - our cruiser.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria Can Tho Resort.

Wishing you all the best.

Yours sinscerely,
Xuan Thu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    193
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
89
329
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Köln
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Victoria Can Tho Resort is a very old style hotel - it looks like an old mansion. The rooms are very nice, fresh fruit are provided as welcome present upon arrival. The service is very good, the rooms are clean and very well equipped. The food is very good, the breakfast buffet provides everything one needs. I can recommend having the boat trip with cocktails and dinner in the evening - this is an incredible nice experience and not very expensive. Overall I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had read reviews, so were aware of the construction. Unfortunately, the first room they took us to was overlooking the roof where they were cutting tiles 5 metres away! We requested another room overlooking the pool (as stated in our reservations) and were moved to a room with a great big tree in front of the balcony (blocking off any view). Another call to reception had us upgraded to a suite! Throughout the process, they were very nice and polite-but was this really necessary? Why would you put guests next to construction when you don't have to (it was not full)?? The rest of the stay was wonderful. Buffet breakfast was very good and pool surrounds pleasant. The boat shuttle to town was comfortable and regular They packed us a breakfast for our early morning boat tour. Unfortunately it was extremely high in sugary and fatty treats. I think they should have tried to add a few more carbs and fruit (maybe sushi) and I would request this next time. All in all, a very pleasant and relaxed stay after Saigon. Worth the extra money over lesser hotels.

Room Tip: Pool view and ask to be changed if they put you in a room you do not like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Victoria Can Tho is likely the finest place to stay in Can Tho. Although not in town, the free shuttle into town is very convenient. Not being in town is a blessing because it makes the hotel very quiet and peaceful. Service was good at the bar and around the pool. The breakfast was decent. Overall, very solid hotel that may need an update soon, or at least some fresh paint in certain places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Victoria Can Tho Resort and would like to recommend to those who plan to stay in Can Tho. The resort is charming with french architecture, pleasant service and its rooms give a warm feeling upon first step in. Last, price is reasonable (we book at 100USD/nite without breakfast). A lot of good local restaurants around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Victoria Can Tho is likely the finest place to stay in Can Tho. The rooms are lovely, the pool is fantastic, the restaurant is excellent, they have demonstrations of weaving at two looms in the lobby and a conical hat maker in the evenings -- all a fine atmosphere. We also did their evening cocktail cruise, which was absolutely fantastic, and arranged our tours, to the floating markets and bicycling around the delta and orchards, with the hotel, and they were absolutely first rate and a good value (perhaps more, but good guides, nice boats and bikes).

The staff does try to make this hotel like a major resort -- but in both the good and bad ways. Good with the range of amenities, but the service can tend to the impersonal, and quite distinctly miss the mark at times, for example looking for ways to extract more revenue from guests with not always a clear idea of the value added - to their credit, however, whenever we pushed back, they appeared quick to realize it and change course, and in the end everything was perfect (just needed a little effort on our part, though).

One small example, we booked a room without breakfast included, which was probably a mistake since the rate difference was only about $7 as I recall (we're not big breakfast people, so the big buffet spread is lost on us--our usual breakfast is a piece of toast and a glass of juice or, at times in Vietnam, a small bowl of pho ga), but anyway we arranged a tour one morning that started before the breakfast service, the tour description noted a takeaway breakfast was included (not a big selling point in any event but since we were hitting the river at 6:30 not a bad thing), but then later that evening, after we'd gone to bed, the phone rang us awake and the front desk informed us that since our room didn't include breakfast, they would charge us $10 per person for the take-away breakfast. I got up, got dressed, went down to the desk, and discussed their ridiculousness and concluded we would not be taking their breakfast; BUT alas the next morning as we embarked upon our tour, they gave us two very nice, generous, and delicious take-away breakfasts and informed us they were complementary. As much as we take for breakfast, we couldn't finish one of the two shared between the two of us (hurrah, the next day's breakfast!), but we were duly impressed with the way they thought this through and ended up providing a good experience.

The elephant fish in the restaurant, Spices, is superb.

In addition, the Victoria Can Tho has a nice spa that provided us with very good mani-pedis (though provided in an open air setting, not air-con'd), though in our opinion, the Victoria Can Tho's spa is nowhere near as nice as the absolutely spectacularly superb spa at the Victoria Sapa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very pleasant hotel surrounding a good sized pool on 3 sides with the 4th opening onto the river. The room was nice and the public areas spacious and airy. The free shuttle boat from the hotel’s jetty to the town centre was a real boon, we popped into town for the evening for a spot of dinner and shopping. Only had the one day here but would have been happy to spend 2 and take advantage of the pool and revisited the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Can Tho Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Can Tho Resort

Address: Cai Khe Ward, | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 32, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Can Tho Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mekong Delta, Can Tho is home to charming riverside landscapes, green paddy fields, floating markets and myriads of canals. Experience a sunrise or sunset cruise on board the Lady Hau, a traditional wooden rice barge to the floating market. Set in a magnificent garden on the banks of the Hau River, the colonial architecture of Victoria Can Tho Resort complements the natural beauty of the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Can Tho Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Can Tho Hotel Can Tho
Victoria Hotel Can Tho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Can Tho Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.