We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not sure I'd return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xoai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Xoai to your Saves list
Hotel Xoai
93 Mau Than, Xuan Khanh, Ninh Kieu, Can Tho, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Can Tho
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Okay but not sure I'd return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I picked this hotel due to the attractive price. The rooms are perfectly clean with functional washrooms and air-con. However, they were probably the smallest comparably priced rooms I've encountered in Vietnam. Another problem is that the hotel is a way off from the riverside where there are several sights and restaurants. I wonder whether it might have been better to try and find a budget place in that area to avoid the long walks and taxi rides.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    59
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
81
49
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed two nights in a small budget double and it was exactly as described. Small but clean and comfy with good air con and nice big window so didn't feel claustrophobic. It's slightly away from the main centre of things but that didn't bother us too much. Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prostejov, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

PROS
- clean
- quiet
- very good price
- nice & English speaking staff
- they can help you to arrange a boat trip & Food walk


CONS
- a bit far (10 - 15 min walk) to riverside, where all the restaurants & markets are


The room was small, but for 2 nights it was enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stopped here two nights, its very clean and well ran. The staff were so friendly and extremely helpful.

We booked the Mekong delta cruise with them and it was perfect.

Its a great value for money and the rooms were basic but spot on for what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

What you expect, in very good condition. The cheap rooms were perfect as a backpacker - small but fine. Aircon, nice bathroom and lots of power outlets.

The staff was a little inflexible though. Only doubles available online, but singles available on arrival. However, we booked two doubles online before and when we wanted to change to single on arrival we had to pay deposit twice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed for five nights. We originally booked for three, in a budget double room, for two of us and our three year old. Yes, the room was tiny - the floor space was twice the size of the double bed. But it was perfectly clean and serviceable. Bit of a novelty, actually. Then they upgraded us, free of charge, to a larger room with a TV and a kettle. Just one example of the great service.

As mentioned in other reviews, it's a bit out of the tourist area, we ended up taking taxis in the heat of the day, but it's not too far to walk to the main sights.

We also booked three tours through the hotel, all of which we enjoyed. The city tour (with the gentle and articulate The Hao) was a great way to get a feel of the city. My favourite parts were the chaotic Can Tho market and lighting incense in a pagoda (haven't had the guts to do it by myself).

The three hour floating market tour was relaxing and interesting, the best bit was actually going to a rice noodle factory then eating the spoils.

I'm a bit of a foodie, so the food tour was a highlight (see Can Tho food tours reviews).

Back to the hotel - the staff were so kind, helping us arrange onward accomadation, calling taxis and answering my plentiful questions. They all speak great English. It really made our stay.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We arrived at the hotel late (11:00 pm) but could easily chek in. The staff was overall very friendly - they helped us finding good places to eat, getting a boattrip to the floating market and booked a bus to our next destination (Rach Gia). Very basic room - not much space, but enough for us, as we should only use the room for sleep. Also good price :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xoai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xoai

Address: 93 Mau Than, Xuan Khanh, Ninh Kieu, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mini-hotel 'Xoai' Can Tho is geared towards International travelers. Opened since 2012, the hotel is located in the centre of Cantho in the Xuan Khanh quarter close to Can Tho University, the Tham Tuong church and the Quang Duc Pagoda. The 23 rooms have double or single beds, a private bathroom with shower and toilet, fan, air condition and telephone. All rooms have windows with direct views of the Quang Duc Pagoda or Cantho University. The small and basic option for travelers - Budget Single and Budget Double rooms - offer a convenient set up many international travelers are looking for. Twin rooms offer two single beds. Standard Double as well as Deluxe Double rooms offer more space and a bigger bed, a desk, chair and closet or shelf and a large window and a PC. Computers with Internet access are in the lobby and free wifi throughout the hotel. An elevator brings you up to the roof terrace, where you can relax in a hammock. It is a perfect spot to escape from the crowded street, to catch up with other travelers and locals. The name 'Xoai' means mango. The owners love mangos. Behind the house is a small mango tree and the hotel itself is painted mango-colored. The English speaking staff of the 'Xoai' supports travelers in any possible way. The hotel offers free maps, free student tours, a free media library with over 100 movies and documentaries, moderate prices for floating market tours and no additional charge on bus bookings. The ‘Xoai’ promotes eco tourism. The house uses exclusively energy-saving lamps. The hot water supply is carried completely by solar collectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Xoai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xoai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.