We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xoai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Xoai to your Saves list
Hotel Xoai
93 Mau Than, Xuan Khanh, Ninh Kieu, Can Tho, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Can Tho
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 months from May to July, 2013 as my partner was doing some research in the local University. The hotel is very clean, well run, affordable and extremely comfortable. The WIFI is excellent and there are PC's in some of the rooms with access to hundreds of TV shows and movies. What really makes this hotel special though is the staff, they all have an excellent level of english and always on hand to make your stay as comfortable as possible, we really felt as if we had a second family at hotel Xoai. Since we were long term guests, we were also allowed use the kitchen facilities which was really kind of them. The location is great, just outside the busy riverside district and close to all the shops and markets. There is also a great rooftop terrace with hammocks to chill out and maybe join in the odd party if you're lucky! If you're passing through Can Tho, this place is highly recommended and the staff will always go that extra yard for you to ensure you are happy.

P.S, Do the local food tour with Phuoc, a young member of staff, a lovely way to see the city and sample the local cuisine and an excellent guide.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    70
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
94
50
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is excellent for the price, probably one of the most value for money hotels we have stayed in while travelling SE Asia. The rooms are perfectly functional and have everything you need (good AC, comfy bed, super-fast WIFI, hairdryer etc., if you are tall opt for one of the bigger rooms for a few dollars more!), but the real value here comes from the young staff who help to run this place, they are an absolute credit to the hotel. The reason we booked here is because I was interested in the complimentary food tour that Phuoc, a young member of staff, provides-I had read the reviews and had to try for myself. Many food tours in Saigon will charge 50 dollars to go on a food tour, and so these are out of a backpacker’s budget! Phuoc was such an amazing guide to us during our stay. He has designed a fantastic food walking tour for the guests, to nearby local restaurants that will serve you some of the best (and cheapest!) food we have had on our trip so far. There is no way you would find these places on your own-they do not have a menu the locals know what to order ‘their signature dish!’ so you really need someone who can order for you! He started the tours two months ago as wanted to provide an informative service for the guests (you just pay for your food) to show then the local eateries and give an informative walking tour around Can Tho. He does all this without charge (we gave a tip); he is currently studying French at University so can speak French in addition to his perfect English! He has a great sense of humour and it was one of the best evenings I have had in a while. It was so interesting to learn more about his life and the city. His tour runs every day starting at 6.30pm except Wednesdays and Fridays so make sure you time your stay when he does a tour-it is not to be missed! He also makes sure that vegetarians are catered for with vegetarian versions of the dishes. In addition to the excellent service, I really liked the location of the hotel; although a 15-20 minute walk to the riverside, the streets on the way are bustling - lots of shops, restaurants and people, so gives you a great interesting walk before you hit the riverside. We ate on a street 5 min up from the river on the first night (Phuoc gave us a map and wrote down where to go so we could explore on our own) with some excellent food and all very cheap. The prices shoot up on the touristic riverside and the food is just not as good. So do yourself a favour, book Phuoc’s tour while you are there and find the real food! We also did the floating market tour booked through the hotel - It was very interesting and also another highlight of our stay. Can Tho has a lot to offer if you stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: If you are tall go for the bigger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Given that we just needed a place to sleep for one night, this hotel served us well. The room was small but with large windows, it was difficult to cool down. We could only relax after killing the mosquitos which were already in our room. The bed was up against the wall which is ok for a single but not a double. It was clean and functional. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Were in our early 60’s. Our prerequisites and not necessary in this order are; Location; (+/-) clean; (√) quiet; (√) Wi-Fi; (√) being able to communicate with staff. (√). Start with the minor negatives. As others have mentioned, the bedroom is a tad small, in that the double bed is butted up against the sidewall and our age, it’s not the best to be climbing in and out of bed from the foot of the bed, that way, but that’s a very minor issue as we only stayed the 1 night. Location might be considered by some as being too far from “tourist “ area, but we had no problems walking there and back and besides you see more by walking. There is a good bakery diagonally (at 10 o’clock) opposite them and lots of local food carts and places that will make you a ca phe sua da (Vietnamese ice coffee) No problems with wi-fi; our room was quiet; towels were of a good quality and length; plenty of hot water and the floor drainage worked well and was spotless. The bedroom did have a desk also, but the Pièce de résistance has to be the front desk help. We wanted to catch a bus to Rach Gia and a Ferry to Phu Quoc. The beautiful Hong Phuc (whose parents own the hotel) rang the bus company and organised seats on the 8 am bus which would give us time to purchase tickets in Rach Gia for the Superdong ferry. She rang the ferry company and organised us seats on the 1pm ferry, which they would hold so long as we were there before 11.40am. All of which we paid for when we arrived at the bus and ferry office. She wrote in Vietnamese instructions for the bus drivers where we had to go, as the last leg in Rach Gia is done by a shuttle bus to the port and if you still need to buy tickets, the office is 300 mtrs from the wharf. All of which worked a treat thanks to Hong Phuc. She even sent us a email, asking if things had gone ok and if we have problems in Vietnam to contact her. How sweet and considerate. It’s these acts of going the extra yard and kindness that you remember, long after you have forgotten climbing into bed from the foot of the bed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel Xoai was a very pleasant experience, extremely fresh and clean by Vietnamese standards. We met other people on the rooftop terrace which has a really nice view over the city. The only downside is that the room we had was quite small, and probably most of the rooms are relatively small. But for the price it's probably one of the better if not the best hotel in Can Tho. The reception staff was helpful, arranged bus bookings, taxis etc for us. Prices of drinks (like water) in the reception was relatively expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, maybe ask if there are big rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were in Saigon and couldn't decide where to go or what to do next and saw a lot of trips down to the Mekong delta so decided to head down. We found this hotel online and had lots of great reviews, which were definitely correct!! The rooms are a little on the small side but perfectly adequate, cleaned every day, the only down side was that the room had quite a lot of natural light therefore having a lie in was not an option for us as we like it dark, overall the rooms were very nice and worth the money. Staff are all very helpful and Phuoc speaks the best English!! We went out on phuoc's tour the first night, he does them 3 nights a week to see a bit of can tho and try some local foods, the evening was very enjoyable and we loved Phuoc's company. The few days we were there Phuoc became a good friend to us and helped us out with our plans traveling through Vietnam.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Phuoc, who works at the front desk, offers an amazing culinary tour of Can Tho 3 times per week (currently). He takes you to 3 different local restaurants, helps you order and explains how to eat each dish. You just pay for the food (cheap) and tip him whatever you think is appropriate. This was definitely a highlight of my time in Vietnam -- these are not places or dishes that you would find on your own. They're both delicious and very cheap. Phuoc speaks excellent English and he is great company -- funny, genuine and kind.

As if that weren't enough, the hotel is great. The rooms are tiny but they have everything you need, and they're spotless. The rooftop terrace is a nice place to end the day with a nice view of the city. They give you a watermelon juice as a welcome drink. Everything about this hotel is great -- highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xoai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xoai

Address: 93 Mau Than, Xuan Khanh, Ninh Kieu, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mini-hotel 'Xoai' Can Tho is geared towards International travelers. Opened since 2012, the hotel is located in the centre of Cantho in the Xuan Khanh quarter close to Can Tho University, the Tham Tuong church and the Quang Duc Pagoda. The 23 rooms have double or single beds, a private bathroom with shower and toilet, fan, air condition and telephone. All rooms have windows with direct views of the Quang Duc Pagoda or Cantho University. The small and basic option for travelers - Budget Single and Budget Double rooms - offer a convenient set up many international travelers are looking for. Twin rooms offer two single beds. Standard Double as well as Deluxe Double rooms offer more space and a bigger bed, a desk, chair and closet or shelf and a large window and a PC. Computers with Internet access are in the lobby and free wifi throughout the hotel. An elevator brings you up to the roof terrace, where you can relax in a hammock. It is a perfect spot to escape from the crowded street, to catch up with other travelers and locals. The name 'Xoai' means mango. The owners love mangos. Behind the house is a small mango tree and the hotel itself is painted mango-colored. The English speaking staff of the 'Xoai' supports travelers in any possible way. The hotel offers free maps, free student tours, a free media library with over 100 movies and documentaries, moderate prices for floating market tours and no additional charge on bus bookings. The ‘Xoai’ promotes eco tourism. The house uses exclusively energy-saving lamps. The hot water supply is carried completely by solar collectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Xoai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xoai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.