We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay in the mekong delta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kim Lan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kim Lan Hotel to your Saves list
Kim Lan Hotel
138A Nguyen An Ninh Street, Can Tho 92000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 79 Can Tho B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“perfect stay in the mekong delta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

we spent only 1 night at Kim Lan in March. it was a perfect place to stay.
the room was quite big, so even with the window facing to the corridor it was OK. it was clean and comfortable.
the staff was extremely nice and helpful. the Mekong delta-tour they recommended was great: the guide was speaking perfect english and we learned a lot from him about Vietnam. we made a boot tour combined with some cycling, which was a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    64
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
104
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of February 2014. We booked a Deluxe Double room and paid USD 45 per night including breakfast. When we arrived we were informed we had been upgraded to a suite (upgrades are very common across Vietnam in 2-3 star hotels and are entirely dependent on the hotels capacity at the time you arrive). Our room was located on the 3rd floor overlooking the front of the hotel. As with all 2/3 star hotels it provided the basics/what we expected - it was clean with a comfortable double bed (with the air con machine positioned over the side of the bed as opposed to over the top of the bed facing down on us), en-suite bathroom (with hot water at all times), wifi, mini-bar, hair dryer. We were disappointed to find there was no safe in the room, this should be a standard feature in every hotel in this day and age of security conscious travellers. Unfortunately we didn't eat breakfast at the Hotel and so cannot comment on the quality and or variety.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us with the main streets, markets, eateries and sights all within 10 -15 minutes on foot. Despite being located on a fairly busy road, we were not disturbed at night by the sound of the traffic. We felt safe walking around during the day and in the evening.

A couple of highlights from our trip to Can Tho:

1) Getting to/from Can Tho - we decided to make our own way to Can Tho as we could not find any organised tours that overly appealed to us in terms of itineraries and or the allotted time you were given. We also felt it was easy enough to independently travel given the distance between HCMC and Can Tho. We took a Bus from District 1 in HCMC, around 10.30am, and paid 120,000 p/p for our allocated seats on a direct bus to Can Tho. After approx. 3.5/4 hours, we arrived. After ignoring the non-licensed taxi drivers (who wanted to charge us 150,000 to take us to our hotel) who pounced on us when we arrived at the Bus Station, we found the licensed taxi rank and drivers. Meter on, we left the Bus Station and 20 minutes later arrived at our Hotel. Total cost = 80,000. Advice - always look for licensed taxi drivers and ensure the meter goes on as soon as you get into the taxi otherwise you`ll be scammed. We also took the Bus back to HCMC at the end of our 2 night stay - once again an easy, straightforwards experience and of course much cheaper than a private taxi. We felt safe throughout - we travelled by day and in the light.

2) Floating Markets - we booked a private one day tour (through the Nam Bo Boutique Hotel) starting at 5am and finishing around 4pm. A long day but we loved it. Rather than sharing a large boat with other tourists, we had a great time on a small wooden boat with the `owner & tour director` (who spoke hardly any English but was hilarious) throughout the day. He made small animals out of sugar cane throughout the whole day. Absolutely incredible, especially to-do so whilst steering our boat (yes he increased his tip at the end of the day by doing so...). We visited the absolutely huge Cai Rang floating wholesale market, and the much smaller Phong Dien floating market. We also visited the Rice Noodle Factory (all tour groups are taken here whether you`re part of a private or larger tour - it makes for an interesting stop tho) which was fun. Watching the sun rise, around 6am, whilst actually on the water in your own private boat is amazing - very surreal and special. We would highly recommend visiting Cai Rang, truly fascinating watching `real-trading`unfold before your eyes. We found Phong Dien a real treat too, however, the distance (far beyond Cai Rang) outweighed the sight itself for us. The floating markets are the real draw to the Mekong Delta having said that and so it makes sense to invest a day on the waterways to enjoy every sight, smell and sound around you. You`ll probably only ever do this once after all.

3) Massage - after much research on Trip Advisor, we decided to book a massage at GONY Spa Cafe Lounge (8-10-12 Nguyen An Ninh). We had read a mixed bag of positive and negative reviews beforehand and so were unsure what to expect. We paid 200,000 each for a 60 minute Swedish Back Massage. For the price and quality, the massages were fantastic. My boyfriend and I both commented at the end about the professionalism and standard. We would recommend this place ! In London & Geneva a similar massage would be x3 or x4 the amount.

4) Street Markets & General Orientation - on our first afternoon and last morning in Can Tho we lost ourselves in the streets and markets of Can Tho. It`s not an overly huge maze of streets, and fairly easy to navigate, and so we just wandered around taking in more sights. A cool place to just wander and chill.

5) Street Food - we decided Can Tho would be the place we would fully immerse ourselves in true Vietnemese Culture….Yes, time for the authentic street food experience. My boyfriend is much braver than I am with regards to trying different food and so I was a little more choosy around where to eat. We stumbled across a packed backstreet, at around 8.30pm, where a lot of the food being served was freshly BBQ`d in front of you. Brilliant ! A couple of beers and a couple of skewers of fish and chicken later and we were two very happy customers. We were the only foreigners in the street, yet we felt safe and at home eating fresh food next to our friendly Vietnemese neighbors who were more fascinated by us eating & enjoying the same food as them more so than anything else. Trying street food is a must !

4) Restaurants & Bars:

a.) Nam Bo Boutique Hotel/L`Escale - located on the waterfront in the middle of town & very easy to reach on foot. Despite some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor, we loved this restaurant. we ate outside on the rooftop when we visited and found it a tad windy hence cardigans and or warm clothes are a must to sit outside when eating in February. We found the service and quality of the food very good. Attentive waiting staff and helpful as my boyfriend tried his first Banh Xeo - tasty ! The white wine we ordered needed to be much, much, much colder….. small detail, however, it wasn`t a cheap bottle. We would return tho.

b.) Nhà Hàng Hoa Cau (04 Hai Bà Trung, Ninh Kiều) - our favorite place in Can Tho by far for morning/afternoon coffees, frappuccino`s, smoothies. Excellent quality and outstanding for the price vs. other establishments. We stumbled across this place on our first day in Can Tho (it was not in the Lonely Planet Guide) and continued to go back for the next two days of our trip for a coffee pit stop. An absolute must. How this place has not made it to Trip Advisor thus far is incredible. A real find. Wifi great too.

c.) Kimtho Hotel Rooftop Bar (1A Ngo Gia Tu St | Tan An ward - Ninh Kieu District) - beautiful view, not so great cocktails. Enjoy the view with a cold beer instead and enjoy a cocktail somewhere else. A nice way to start the evening view wise tho.

Can Tho Pro's: Amazing & interesting waterways.
Can Tho Con's: Limited sights/things to see and do. You do not need to spend more than 2 nights/days max here in our view.

Room Tip: Our suite was on the 3rd floor overlooking the main front road/entrance to the hotel, we were not di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our trip to the Mekong Delta. The hotel is situated in a good central location less than ten minutes from the waterfront. We stayed in a superior room which was very clean and spacious with a small balcony and good views across the city, although no tea & coffee facilities. The hotel staff were very helpful and arranged a trip to the floating market at short notice when we arrived.The breakfast was very nice, situated in the small rooftop restaurant. .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Comfortable, bathroom and bedroom with beautiful interior design, the room has a hummidifier, but slighly more expensive and no breakfast, have many better option in can tho, this hotel is just medium, if the price is less expensive this one should be very good

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We did stay at this Hotel when we visited the Mekong Delta. As soon as we arrived we felt very welcome and the girl behind the reception is very nice and helpful. She offered us a tour the Kim Lan Homestay and so far it was one of the best tours we did in Vietnam. The Hotel is really nice, clean and got awesome rooms. We stayed in a deluxe room, with window to the street but there wasn't any noise at all. Always would come back next time!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Kim Lan Hotel and had an extremely friendly wellcome by the wonderfull Kim. She recommended to make a 1,5 day trip to the Kim Lan homestay to get an authentic impression about the region and about the local people. We booked the trip and werde picked up the next day by Chau, our guide. He was great! He tought us so much about the culture, was very friendly and we had an amazing time together! The Kim Lan homestay is an idylic place. There are no tourists and it is so beautifull!! We went fishing, saw rice fields and went cycling.
This was one of our best experiences in Vietnam! Thanks Chau and Kim for making this trip unforgettable!

Stefanie and Lukas

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great place, very nice rooms, awesome staff, good tours.

The staff here was extremely helpful and very friendly. Nice rooms, good location. The tours from the hotel are more expensive but you'll have a great, knowledgeable guide who speaks english very well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kim Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Lan Hotel

Address: 138A Nguyen An Ninh Street, Can Tho 92000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tour is organized to get you new experiences of culture and lifestyles when participating in many everyday activities together with local folks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kim Lan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kim Lan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.