We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Can Tho, be careful when booking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimtho Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kimtho Hotel to your Saves list
Kimtho Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Ngo Gia Tu St | Tan An ward - Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Can Tho
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best value in Can Tho, be careful when booking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We booked this hotel over the phone directly with front desk staff as we are regular visitors to Can Tho and are repeat customers of this establishment. We were instructed over the phone that a deposit was not needed to reserve our reservations. We arrived at the hotel and were informed that they did not have either of the two rooms we had booked and that we would have to find alternate accomodation for at least two nights. Located in the heart of Can Tho. Rooms are clean and modern, WIFI is free and easy to access. Breakfast is excellent, with egg station and multiple hot and cold options that will satisfy all palates. Free parking for motorbikes in the basement. Staff are friendly and helpful. Still the best value for money in Can Tho.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    184
    78
    23
    5
See reviews for
62
220
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

If only for the roof-top view, the KimTho Hotel should be top of your list for any stay in Can Tho. We only spent one night here- but everything was terrific. the rooms were a good size, and the showers (after having a cold one at a homestay the night before) was fantastic. Breakfast had a vast array of choices.

The real plus of this hotel is the roof top and rooftop bar. Unequaled views across Can Tho and the Mekong- all taken in while drinking very well priced cocktail- just awesome! The hotel is only a few minutes from the main markets/ restaurants/ riverfront area of Can Tho- a very convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We only stayed one night here as part of our trip up the Mekong and was probably the best hotel of our entire trip (we stayed in 7 different hotels). It looks OK from the outside, but "WOW" was the only word we could use when we entered our room. It was just so unexpected. The beds were big and comfortable (we had a triple room and a double room), the bathroom roomy and super clean, and we had room to move, room for our luggage. The buffet breakfast was varied and great. Free internet too.
Would most definately stay there again, if we are ever in Can Tho again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here just one night on our way through the Mekong up to Phnom Penh (not on an organised tour, but DIY). We hadn't booked and the only available room was $80, which is more than we wanted to pay, but it was a great room for this price. Very large, with a nice modern bathroom and a view of the river.
The roof top bar is fantastic for a view of the river and city at night. Breakfast was OK, the usual selection of dishes that might not appeal to Westerners, but also the usual egg station so you can get your omelette fix. Better juice and fruit selections than other 3 star hotels we stayed at in Vietnam.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Kim Tho hotel
My husband, myself and 15 year old son stayed here for 2 nights in December. Our initial thoughts were WOW, as the family room was very large and the beds very big and comfortable, pillows were damn good as well! Air con worked a dream in such a large room too. Views across the roof tops and river just completed our awe!
Bathroom was huge with a giant tub, as well as a sperate shower stall. There was not enough hot water to fill the bath, but hey, we were not here for the bath, it was bonus!
Wifi came and went in our room, which really only annoyed the boy!
Breakfast was terrific and also early which was great, l think they have early breakfasts as most people are there to get out on the River early for the markets.
The birth control cabinet was a laugh!!
The location is good, just a short walk around the corner to the restaurants or onto the esplanade??
We enjoyed our stay here, but l do think it is slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

My Husband and I both agree that the Kim Tho hotel was the best we stayed at in Vietnam. The staff were friendly, the rooms very nice, it was quiet and the buffet breakfast was great. My only complaint was that often the restaurant and the rooftop cafe weren't sure who was open so we never knew where to get some food from if it was raining outside.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

On a recent 2D/1N Mekong Delta tour we stayed at the Kimtho Hotel in a spacious room with a super comfortable bed and a magnificent view of the Mekong River. The hotel is in a great location being close to everything. The breakfast was amongst one of the better hotel buffets we had with a good selection of hot and cold dishes. We wandered along the river for a short distance (right out of the hotel) and found a great restaurant on the river and had a table on the jetty. They served the best seafood steamboat which was a highlight of our culinary tour of Vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimtho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimtho Hotel

Address: 1A Ngo Gia Tu St | Tan An ward - Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kimtho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ninh Kieu Quay / City Center, Kim Tho Hotel is an ideal spot from which to discover Can Tho. Set 1 km from the excitement of the city, The three-star Kim Thơ Hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions.Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Ong Pagoda, Ho Chi Minh Museum, Can Tho Museum.Kim Tho Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Can Tho. The hotel provides luggage storage, bar, concierge, restaurant, room service to ensure our guests the greatest comfort.Guests can choose from 52 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as massage, steamroom, sauna to make your stay truly unforgettable. Kim Tho Hotel is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort and convenience in Can Tho. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kimtho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimtho Hotel Can Tho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimtho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.