We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful mid-range place with a terrific breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bukhara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amelia Hotel
1 Bozor Hoja Street, Bukhara 200118, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Bukhara
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful mid-range place with a terrific breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Service was excellent and friendly, the room was outstanding, and the huge breakfast in the seventeenth-century breakfast room (which has never needed restoration) was memorable. The hotel is located in a close-in area of Bukhara accessible by car but very close to the pedestrians-only area. For $65 a night twin room in an incredible town this was the best of thirty-days of independent travel from Bishkek to Sukhumi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    33
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
53
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wonderful! English speaking, helpful manager has a brother doing tourism/business course in UK and I think it shows; this boutique hotel is lovely. We stayed in the gorgeous mirror room with the lattice work decoration. The hotel has been updated so has hairdriers, lovely bath etc, but the best bit is the untouched, unrestored dining room whch allows you to see the original decoration of an Uzbek home.

Bukhara is a delight - lived in history and lots to see and do - loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed downstairs in one of the single rooms. Wonderful painted patterns on the walls and ceilings that I had never come across before. Very clean and well looked after. Probably the best breakfast of the hotels we stayed at in Uzbekistan and a unique breakfast room too. The reception staff could not have been more helpful (two blokes) so maybe the staff/owners have changed since last year? On the TV the booklet says 1,000 channels but I could only get about 10!! and only one in English (it said there were 2 remotes but only 1 was there)

The only negative is next time I would probably pay the extra for a double. For fresh air you have to open the only window that backs onto the courtyard and so it can be noisy if people are arriving late at night or leaving early in the morning.
On an earlier comment on toilet paper my understanding is it is OK to flush it. The sign is confusing but I think only relates to tampons etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was shown four rooms, each more luxurious and exquisite from another. I chose the "mirror room" where beautiful wooden latticework covered mirrors on the walls, everything was spotless and every detail thought out. Welcome tea and sweets were brought in. I paid less than 40 USD per night as it was off season. The bed was like an ocean liner. In the morning I was served breakfast in the 18th century dining room and it was nothing short of a religious experience! Fruits, bread, pancakes, french toast, syrniki, cold cuts, cheese, plums, coffee and tea inside a true work of art in its original shape. Overall the service was outstanding, I even borrowed a USB cable for charging my battery from the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very charming small hotel close to shops and restaurants. Bukhara is an ancient city on the famous silk route with still buildings from before Genghis Khan's destruction. A 600 year old tea house still run by the same family is very charming.
The breakfast included in the price of your room is wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel, and loved it. Our room was located downstairs in the main building. It was a good size, beautifully painted with tile-like motifs on the walls and ceiling, fresh wood trims around the windows, and very comfortably furnished. We appreciated the good-sized bathroom, the ability to watch English-language news on the TV, and adequate storage space for our clothes and suitcases. We loved the trek upstairs and across the 2nd story catwalk to the neighboring building for breakfast every morning. Breakfast itself was wonderful, with lots of fresh fruit, eggs (if desired), bread and cereal, and served in a gorgeously restored 18th c. dining room, with morning breezes through the large casement windows overlooking a courtyard. We loved the approach to the building, entering through large wooden doors off a narrow alley, finding ourselves in the comfortable reception room, with a courtyard bordered by the guest rooms on a ground- and second story level.

We found the staff to be consistently courteous and helpful. The owner (I am forgetting his name) was almost always on the scene at least part of the day, and paying close attention to the guests' needs. He was particularly helpful when we were shopping for carpets, providing useful information about vendors, and helping us figure out appropriate shipping methods.

I have only two slightly negative things to mention. One is about the bathroom shower, which consistently drained from the shower pan onto the floor itself. We encountered this in many other locations in Uzbekistan and elsewhere in the region during our trip, however; I think it is just a function of ancient and inadequate city plumbing systems -- as indicated further by the inability of the toilets to handle toilet paper. (A bin is provided for used toilet paper, and our bathroom was spotlessly cleaned every day.)

The second is the Wifi. We were only two doors away from the reception area, where the router seems to be located, but we were never able to use Wifi in the room. I spent hours on the couch in the lobby, in order to use Wifi to check emails and work on a blog project.

All in all, we really enjoyed the Amelia. It's a very special property, well run by people who care about the quality of their guests' experience.

Room Tip: We toured as many rooms as we could, and thought they were all charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We loved our stay. Clean room, large bathroom with nice toiletries. Lots of TV channels.
Free Wifi in the room, which is always handy.

Friendly staff, always smiling and greeted us as we left/arrived. I used the business centre too and it was set up like a little office, perfect!

The hotel is in a good location, right next to highlights of Bukhara. We never felt unsafe at all. We had late evening check out in our last day stay for no charge.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to experience homy atmosphere.

Room Tip: Our room name was Art Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel

Address: 1 Bozor Hoja Street, Bukhara 200118, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Bukhara
Also Known As:
Amelia Hotel Bukhara, Uzbekistan, Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amelia Hotel to your Saves list