We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that could be improved with some better management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand to your Saves list
Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53, Shokhrukh str, Bukhara 140100, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Bukhara
lincs UK
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“A hotel that could be improved with some better management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

On entering this hotel now under the name of Registan Plaza Hotel - you felt like you were on one of those big cruise liners whose pictures are sometimes on the TV - a big atrium. Rooms up to 7 floors high - it was more than hot enough on floor 3 - goodness knows what temperature the upper rooms were! Air con ineffective and /or switched off. So we opened the window to cool off - fortunately we had a quiet room. Beds - moderate - they were on the soft side, no kettle or safe. Shower over bath - plenty of hot water. Sauna $3.

Breakfast was buffet style - but nothing was cooked fresh. Fruit on offer other than apples was pre-cut.

The bar area was dismal - ask for a beer & they would ask whether you wanted a glass; the beer was then fetched from the kitchen area



It should, however, be noted that the incident of gut upsets ran at 80% over a 9 nights trip. Which restaurants need to improve their hygiene and/ or cooking practices is not known - but until standards improve - treat food like you would in the sub-continent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    37
    44
    16
    3
See reviews for
7
24
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is not a 4 star hotel, the staff were most unhelpful and food was awful, the room smelt stale, the toilet was broken, the bath towels had holes in them, the bedding also had holes in it. Internet is $6 an hour and did not connect in the room had to go to the reception. They turn the interiors light off it was dark and dingy. Asked for ice and got a cup full.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The rooms were clean and the bed quite comfortable.
The reception is awful, they are not helpful at all, and they try to rip you of. Wanted to charger me much higher rate for minibar then menu said.
They charge 6 usd for one hour internet in the lobby because the wireless is not accessible from the rooms. But after talking to the manager we were able to get free access.
There is also a large variation of room charge per night depending on from what nationality you have.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Hotel built by Germans after Uzbeki independence to provide a place for them to stay when touring Samarkand. Unfortunately, the facility feels like a pre-fab deal and is really cheesy. Rooms arranged around a large enclosed inner atrium, with a small charmless bar and a coffee machine that they refused to use. Room itself was small, stuffy, claustrophobic, and without air conditioning. Forced to open a window, street noise made sleep virtually impossible. Staff appeared deceptively professional: in actuality they refused to do anything. Location was good. Booked in Tashkent at corporate rate was cheap, but even at any price, this is lousy hostelry.

Room Tip: Looked at many, all were bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

This 4 star rated hotel is located in heart of Samarkand, near the Tamerlano statue and not very far from The Opera House and Registan. Inside it lookes like a crusery ship with the rooms located in the semicircle until 7th floor. The rooms are simple, clean, with satellite Tv, mini bar. The restaurants serve regional and international food on buffet. There are also a swimming pool, sauna, some shops, internet service and ATM. I liked this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Expect a really basic room: a bed with a very hard mattress (broke my back), a very basic bathroom, a tiny tv. Ugly decoration.
Unlike others, I had plenty of hot water
Breakfast: basic and tasteless.
Restaurants closed because few guests, nothing open in the neighborhood.
$6 an hour for internet in the lobby. I went to an internet cafe around the corner where I got internet for 50 cents an hour.
Reception at Hotel President insisted to keep my passport for registration (it takes 5 mn, so makes no sense) until the following morning and I had to ask and wait for it to get it back. This was the one time it happened in my trip.
Typical level of service: on the first night the TV was not working and I called them in to do something about it. I waited for 20 mn then went out. Staff were waiting for me in the same dark lobby at 11 pm when I came back. They did not seem happy they had to wait for me. I was not impressed.
On the second night, I realized at 10 pm that the cleaning staff had not replaced the shower cap. I called and asked for one, but reception told me it was too late to get me a cap. There was a handful of rooms occupied in the whole hotel, so it was quite simple to get a cap in an empty room. It's only when I asked to speak to the manager that a showercap was brought to my room.
My conclusion: not a good hotel, staff with an attitude. Avoid.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Luxury hotel in Samarkand, Registan in walking distance. Rooms not very big but sufficient, bathroom clean, but lack of maintenance: shower and washing basin drainage
breakfast quite simple/ not international standard in comparison with room charge
Unfortunately free WiFi only in the lobby available!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand

Address: 53, Shokhrukh str, Bukhara 140100, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Bukhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand Bukhara, Uzbekistan, Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Registan Plaza Hotel Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.