We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Moon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel New Moon to your Saves list
Hotel New Moon
8 Eshoni Pir Street, Bukhara, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Bukhara
Wallaroo
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is in such a great location only 100m or so from the UNESCO world Heritage old town. Built in a courtyard style you can eat you buffet style breakfast inside or out. We chose to sit outside each morning. The staff are particularly friendly and most helpful. The room was a good size and very clean. Everything worked as it should. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is small and the rooms pretty basic. I could not stand in front of the sink because the shower was in the way. Beds were hard, and the window only had sheers, no solid curtain to block the light or keep someone from seeing in! Breakfast was very basic.
But the location is excellent. An easy walk to the square and old town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the first time and were surprised by how a limited number of staffers of run it pretty well. To make it clear, it's not the first we visit Bukhara, so I have something to compare with. The hotel itself is located in the heart of Old Bukhara, just a minute walk from Lyabi Havuz, old Jewish Synagogue, couple madrassahs, trading domes, etc. I believe those who want to save up some money and still enjoy a decent hotel service, would appreciate this hotel. Maybe you won't find its room decor as beautiful as in other neighboring hotels, but for a few-night stay it's more than OK.The only downside was that they misunderstood our reservation for a double room. Thus, we had to stay at a twin room (in fact, they brought two beds together, but it wasn't quite the same as a double) during our first night. Other than that, we do recommend it for tourists looking for a good place to stay and enjoy gorgeous Bukhara.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor, with a view to the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The central location is definitely the best feature of this hotel. It is only a few paces from the main sights of this fascinating city, ideal to be explored on foot. Otherwise, the staff are ok and the little courtyard with chairs, tables and some singing birds in cages is pleasant enough. The room we occupied wasn't bad either, but the bathroom was very cramped and there were some problems with the waterworks. Some people will no doubt like the decorations and the Ikea style furniture, we weren't so sure... The breakfast was simple but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our room in this hotel was clean and comfortable. The lighting wasn't very good for reading, but there was a small fridge, air conditioning, a television and a small, but clean bathroom. The location can't be beat as it is just a two-minute walk to the heart of the old city. Breakfast was good and it was nice to eat in either the courtyard or inside if the mornings were cool. Great laundry service and a friendly staff.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was spacious and quiet. The only window faced the alley and we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in Bukhara. Friendly staff. Great patio to stay and chill out after exploring the city. Internet is not for free. I got a very nice upper room all with new furniture and clean. my window was to the central patio. very nice place and with parking place just in front which was important since i had a car. Breakfast buffet very healthy and good variety.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel is located on the boarder of the old city. 10 minutes’ walk to the heart of Bukhara. Rooms are furnished a-la Ikea. New beds, very small refrigerator, TV+SAT, Shower. Very dark because of the wall just 1.5 meters opposite the window. Pretty noisy because of some room doors are skewed. Breakfast is enough for money I’ve paid for the room (50 000 Uz Sum ~20USD as UZ resident): Tea / instant coffee, fried egg, pancakes with jam, grapes and melon. There is the shop just next building where you can buy food for normal price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Moon

Address: 8 Eshoni Pir Street, Bukhara, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Bukhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel New Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Moon Bukhara, Uzbekistan, Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.