We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zargaron Plaza Hotel

Zargaron Plaza Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bukhara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zargaron Plaza Hotel
Save
You added Zargaron Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
256, Bakhouddin Nakshbandi Str., Bukhara, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Bukhara
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Out of the four hotels I stayed at in four different cities in Uzbekistan this one was my favorite. It is in a fairly quiet area but is very well located. This is especially good for early birds like me who like to go for a wander in the early morning, watch the world come to life and take a few photos before the crowds spoil the views. There are some beautiful mosques and medressas very nearby as well as the Kaylon minaret.
The rooms of the hotel are very pleasant and sufficiently equipped for a comfortable stay. I was in a downstairs room, off a courtyard and as such did not have any views (the windows had a kind of black out curtain on them). However, I was fine with this. The staff here are keen to please and I think they did the best breakfast of any of the four hotels I stayed at.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a view don't get a ground floor room. The windows are obscurred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
8
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

the hotel was spanking clean and the room was big,but not very "userfriendly".Bathroom had a line to hang laundry,but no bathroomgoodies,although a hairdryer.Showercap seems an alien article in Uzbekistan and in no hotel (all****)were the "usual" shampoo,conditioner and showergel or bodylotion.Maybe one of these items,but that's it.So I advise all ladies who adhere to a certain showerroutine to bring their own goodies.I agree with Mark S that the hotel is too far from the old city.My best experience in this hotel was the bar.It's also accessible to locals,so you may have to put up with hookay-smoking or a noisy group,but it's fun,the staff is friendly and the beer is cold - and reasonably priced. Ladies,in the hotel is also a hairdresser,who is excellent and reasonable,I got there a great wash and blowdry that lasted DAYS!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
559 reviews 559 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
415 helpful votes 415 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had room 215, which was a large,with twin beds. The bathroom was great for doing laundry as there was plenty of space to hang stuff. There was cable TV with BBC and EuroNews. There was no view from the room.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, though cappuccino and expresso cost extra.

The reception staff was very friendly and helpful.

Though the property is said to be walking distance from “old” Bukhara, it is better to take a taxi and to save your energy for wandering around the old city. Shopping is great here and there are several vendors that sell antique tribal jewelry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not much you can say about Zaragon Plaza Hotel. It was clean. The room was large and the staff were helpful.

It is a good 15-20 minutes walk to the old city. I usually prefer to stay a little closer to the sights than this, so if I was ever there again I would probably look into the many hotels that are closer to the old town and don't appear on this website or its competition.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Zargaron means jeweler in the Uzbek language. This mid-size hotel located close to the old center of Bukhara has been recently open: everything is still very shiny. The room was large and very well furnished. The bathroom was simply perfect. No noise during the night, even if our room was directly on the wide boulevard. We stayed 2 nights there, and it was a real pleasure, especially after the long road trip from Khiva. The breakfast buffet was generous, but the breakfast room had a rather low ceiling and it gave an impression of being too confined. The staff was helpful to handle the luggage, but the people at the reception desk needed to learn a bit more about what a good and charming welcome should be. This was the only negative point for a hotel which was, otherwise, by far the best among the four we had during this trip in Uzbekistan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya-shi, Aichi, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were not booked into this hotel, our agent had changed the booking at the last minute. We were worried about the change but it worked out perfectly. Our first impression was that it had newly opened since everything seemed so new and clean, but we found out that it was 3 years old. The lobby decorations are tasteful and give the impression of a caravanserai. Our rooms were very large and spacious and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The amenities were all one would expect in a hotel in its class (presumably 4-star).
The hotel is about 1km. from the old town of Bukhara. This is an easy walk, or otherwise a cheap ($1-$2) taxi ride. The restaurant in the basement is excellent and the breakfast buffet gives a larger than normal choice. They had run out of yoghurt one morning and one of the boys ran to the market to replenish. Our only complain was that the coffee could be made stronger.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We book a standard room and they give us a Suite room. The Hotel is very comfortable and clean. The Suite room is really very big and very nice. The breakfast is very good and the location is very good too. The Hotel is a perfect choice to visit Bukara. I recommend a lots.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zargaron Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zargaron Plaza Hotel

Address: 256, Bakhouddin Nakshbandi Str., Bukhara, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Bukhara
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
email: zargaronplaza.gmail.comRelative new 4-star hotel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zargaron Plaza Hotel Bukhara, Uzbekistan, Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zargaron Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.