We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omar Khayyam Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bukhara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omar Khayyam Hotel
Save
You added Omar Khayyam Hotel to your Saves list
7, Khakikat Str, Bukhara 705000, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Bukhara B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel was better than we expected.The situation is good for visiting the town. We checked in,
went for a walk and saw most of the old town.
The rooms are pleasant and well equiped.There is a central courtyard where breakfast is served.
Most of the staff spoke English reasonably well.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room you must ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of all the sights, shopping areas and good restaurants. The street it faces on to is for pedestrians only, so its quiet and peaceful. You have to drag your luggage a short distance from the car parking area though, but it's not far and it's a lovely walk. The lobby is large (and the only place the WiFi works) and cool. There is a coffee shop and a nice place kitted out with cushions and carpets to sit and write or ponder or have a cup of coffee. Beakfast is served in the pretty courtyard but the selection is not great (and the fried eggs are awful), but it's adequate. The waiters were very obliging though and tried to keep us happy. We had bought our own oranges to use for juice and there was no juicer, manual or otherwise, available and when we asked for espresso they just made us a fresh pot of Nescafe, but they tried. The room was very comfortable (we got a triple room so lots of space) and the bathroom was very clean and modern and nice, with a shower over the bathtub. There was very little in terms of complimentary toiletries, if you like that sort of thing, but ample hot water and clean towels. The reception staff were kind and did what they could to help us find out about the puppet show we wanted to see. Directly opposite the hotel is a knife maker and he has the coldest drinking water we could find. This is a comfortable, well located hotel that will add to your enjoyment of Bukhara.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard could be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Modern but characteristic this hotel is very close to all the main monuments of the ancient Bukhara . As this part of the city is only for pedestrian the place is really quiet
The rooms are rather spacious and very clean .
The staff is very kind and helpful
The breakfast doesn' offer many choices bur is good

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very pleasant courtyard for breakfast. A balcony room overlooking the courtyard would be nice, we had a room facing the afternoon sun so it was pretty hot. Aircon just managed to cool it. Wifi supposedly available in rooms but didn't seem to work except in the foyer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Lovely hotel surrounding a courtyard (great for breakfast) where you can sometimes see the owners car on a pedestal looking like an extra from a Renault TV ad & sometimes see a tortoise as well

Comfy, quiet rooms

You are definitely in a great location here in the centre of the old town

Your fellow guests will primarily be German & French tourists in groups.

Room Tip: See if you can land a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We were scheduled to stay at the Asia but our booking was bumped in favour of a large German tour group and lucky for us, we ended up here.

Check in was instant (they had our keys ready and waiting), the room very comfortable, everything in the bathroom worked (!!!), the breakfast was very good and there was even a little balcony overlooking the central courtyard.

Being centrally located it's within 5 minutes walk of just about everything.

Our favourite hotel in Uzbekistan.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omar Khayyam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omar Khayyam Hotel

Address: 7, Khakikat Str, Bukhara 705000, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bukhara
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Omar Khayyam Hotel Bukhara, Uzbekistan, Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omar Khayyam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.