We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better for less” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thong Tarin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thong Tarin Hotel to your Saves list
Thong Tarin Hotel
60 Sirirat Road,Nai Muang, Surin 32000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Surin
3.0 of 5 stars 42 Reviews
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You can do better for less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Only stayed one night and moved onto another hotel. The room did have an odor and there was mold all around the bath and shower. We only were staying here due to our nephew being admitted into the local hospital. We had a reservation for the night train to Bangkok when we inquired about a late checkout we were advised 2pm as the latest, or we would be charged an additional 1,000 baht. We then had breakfast which was not much and the hot food was actually cold. We then checked out and went to a different hotel for only 500 Baht and much more hospitable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
13
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The alternative to Surin Majestic , Thong Tarin looks imposing from outside with a grand structure and big lobby. But as you step into the room, its a disapointment.The rooms are old, smelly and corridors are dark and scary sometimes. It seriously needs a refurb. The beds werent comfortabel either and the AC was noisy .The food served in the resturant was average.The hotel did have a pool too .Wifi was good and service standars were acceptable.If you dont have a accomdation in surin , you can get in here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's a big hotel so staff is proffessional but don't expect to have a friendly welcome.
We were in the oldest rooms which are ok for the price and are comfortable but there was a strange smell. Beeing at the 5th floor we had a great view.
We didn't try the swimming pool as the water had strange color.
Location is good and central.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Surin, Thailand-Thong Tarin Hotel
60 Sirirat Road
Surin, Thailand 32000
www.thongtarinhotel.com
Email: info@thongtarinhotel.com rsvn@thongtarinhotel.com sale@thongtarinhotel.com
Tel: +66(0) 4451-4281-8
Fax: +66(0) 4451-1580
Within walking distance (7”) of Surin bus station where I had a 1000 baht room on the 6th floor. There are other rooms at higher prices. Now, in January 2013, there is “renovation” going on upstairs. My large room with firm, lumpy twin beds (doubles were full) has air-con, hot water, closet, desk, medium size refrigerator, toiletries, a couple of chairs, 2 free recyclable 500ml glasses bottles of water and coffee packets along hot water boiler. Add the nice free, mostly Asian, but with eggs and toast, buffet breakfast. Excellent free wi-fi connection too. TV has a few channels in English among 72 channels.
Hotel has all the amenities, all the extras including massage, convention, disco, another separate restaurant and a beer garden plus plus! I didn't hear any noise from disco or... I asked for a quiet room!
I wish it was 800 baht, then I'd feel better. A bit expensive but I had zero problems.

Room Tip: Ask for and then look at a quiet room if you are bothered by noise, disco or...."renovations&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is old and not very clean, The Food is ok but they have a Cat wondering round the dinning room, Also ok if you dont mind having working girls downstairs in a place called the rose lounge part of the Hotel which a I later found out was full of working Girls.

The worst point is the Water from the hot taps is Brown and dont look under the bed, Also they burn incense in the hall ways to hide the damp smell.

Staff friendly enough

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the night life would be good if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Old, worn hotel.
Tiny swimming pool with one advantage - nobody swims there.
Airco not possible to set the right temperature - we almost freezed during the night!
In the hotel surroundings plenty of bars with ladies who are ready to accompany you during the evening.
Breakfast - rather OK but plenty of people, very crowded.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Room is small, beds are terrible and the Karaoke is nearby. Showers are pretty bad and the rooms are not very clean (don't look under the bed!).

Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thong Tarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thong Tarin Hotel

Address: 60 Sirirat Road,Nai Muang, Surin 32000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surin Province > Surin
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Surin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Thong Tarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thong Tarin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.