We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Family Owned business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Thai Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ban Thai Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ban Thai Guesthouse
38 Pravet Nakhon Road, Sukhothai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Sukhothai B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Family Owned business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have stayed here twice - the owner remembered us from the first time we stayed - more than two years earlier. The owner is the young man with the young child. His parents were killed in a car accident when he was 13 and he took over running the guest house since then with the help of his sister and his Aunties. He is in his early 20's now and has a lovely wife and has built the business up, and has some amazing networks in the Bonsai growing community - many of the bonsai's on display are from the Bonsai growers group he is a member of.

The guest house is in genuine thai style, so don't expect plush mattresses, and the hot water is from the small instant hot water systems, so not very reliable, but for what you pay, it is well worth the money - and it is worth taking the time to get to know the family who run it. They are a beautiful, generous and loving family who we will see again in our future travels.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cabin with a private bathroom - much more convenient, and more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
66
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. The room was fine, small with no storage at all however it was clean with an effective ceiling fan. The bathrooms were fine too with the exception of the mosquitoes which congregated in there throughout the day. The showers were cold with little power too. For $6 per night though you can't complain - cheap & cheerful.

The location was ok, close to 7 Eleven and night market in the new town however if you are only visiting Sukhothai for the historical park, I would be tempted to stay in the old town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's 100Bt/night if you stay in the shared bathroom area. And even this was very comfortable. We got a fan and a towel and had access to a great sitting area. They also have a restaurant so you don't have to go anywhere for breakfast.

One thing I would advise you to do is to bring your own soap. They do not provide this.

Also, you're walking distance from the shuttle that takes you to the ruins. And 100m away from 7-11 and the night market. Excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The setting of the guesthouse is amazing. It's a little retreat from the hectic daily pace -- set among so many plants you feel as if you're in a garden. The family that runs the guesthouse is very friendly. Although I don't know their names, I had a great time talking with the young woman, her mom, and her aunt. They did our laundry for a reasonable price and we had several excellent meals from there. We especially liked the fruit shakes and the hardy pancakes! We stayed in the bungalows which were fine -- I cannot comment on the other accommodations though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We really liked it here, nice little guesthouse with the main rooms and then the bungalows. We had just one of the normal rooms with a fan, it was so warm but being able to move the fan around made it fine. Location was great, and on the Saturday there was a huge market/ event going on just over the bridge you can see, was a great day so if this is every Saturday it's something you can't miss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely a good choice if you are looking for a budget hostel - 200 Baht/night for a large private room with shared bathroom It's a 5 min walk from the centre of town. It has a nice garden area to sit and relax in. The other guests were all very friendly. Rooms and bathroom all clean. Staff were helpful

They offer breakfast and dinner in their restaurant. I only had breakfast which I though was a little expensive.

A few negatives which stopped me giving it 4 stars:
-The mattresses were way too hard, like sleeping on wood.
-You have to provide your own toilet paper
-The shower heads are those annoying kind that you have to hold up yourself and they are way too close to the toilet basins

Although this place is clean and great value I would probably try somewhere else if returning to Sukhothai because of the points above.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As far as guesthouses go, this one is absolutely average. I've no idea where this super friendly family was, the service I got was lukewarm and uninspiring (and I think I'm a super friendly traveller!). I think it's probably more of a hostel with private rooms.

The room itself was okay, nothing to rave about. There's no toilet paper in the toilets (why?!) and it was unbelievably stinking hot. The fan just doesn't provide any respite at all, it was a huge disappointment. It was hard to have a good night's sleep with the heat, not to mention the dog that wouldn't stop barking.

The wifi didn't work at all when I was there, and two other people I spoke to had the same problem.

If I was to return to Sukhothai, I definitely wouldn't stay here. I'd be looking to pay a couple more dollars to have the comfortable stay this place can't provide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ban Thai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Thai Guesthouse

Address: 38 Pravet Nakhon Road, Sukhothai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ban Thai Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Thai Guesthouse Hotel Sukhothai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Thai Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.