We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with nice breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pailyn Sukhothai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pailyn Sukhothai Hotel to your Saves list
Pailyn Sukhothai Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10/2 Moo 1, Jarodvithithong Rd., Muangkao, Amphur Muang, Sukhothai 64210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Sukhothai
Landstuhl, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As part of a tour, my friends and I stayed here in early Apr. The food at the restaurant on site was good and reasonably priced. The room and bathroom was clean and neat. There is a little noise from the nearby road, but it didn't bother me even though I'm a light sleeper. The beds are firm, but that's normal for most of the hotels in Thailand. The breakfast was good and offered a choice of a typical American breakfast or a Thai breakfast. Overall, I was happy with the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    30
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
4
28
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A hotel built when cement was cheap and expectations were high. Rather grandiose but passed its prime. The view in the main lobby doesn't inspire - unlit closed off rooms, chairs stacked and furniture covered with dust-cloth. Obviously, business has been better. Havng said that, my double deluxe room was clean, the mattress was comfortable and it had a new reverse-cycle air-conditioner. TV was standard 5 Thai channels with poor reception. It had a bar fridge but no tea or coffee making facilities. The bathroom was basic (shampoo and soap), the shower curtain had about 3 broken rings and several tears. This was basic 2 star fare. A used tissue lay on the floor of the lift for a day and an on-duty bellboy sat in a guest room watching football. The upside was a very nice evening meal taken from an extensive menu. I was really looking forward to the breakfast as a result, but boy, what a disappointment! Tired and limp and short of everything. I'd suggest you breakfast at 6 rather than 7 if you want a good choice.
Staff were pleasant throughout. Pricing is according to Western standards - a little on the high side for such a hotel. I'd recommend this place for the dinners, but it's pretty basic otherwise. The pool looked good and was being enjoyed on the day I was there, by a group of young Europeans on a tour package. There's very little in the immediate vicinity, but a local bus takes you past the Big C supermarket and on into Sukhothai.

Room Tip: The hotel has a karaoke singer from 8.30. You might prefer a room some distance away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First i would like to make this clear ...this review is based on my travel in 2007 july...since TA doesn't have options to mark that date i have to put it at dec 2011- having said that...we stayed in this hotel during our 6-day old kingdom tour and this was our first night stop over and...very nice hotel and very spacious rooms and beautiful garden in front...lots of space to run around...well maintained and a good place for a stay.. good food.good location good hotel

Room Tip: room facing the swimming pool is a good choice...but here any room will do actually
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Pailyn Sukhothai hotel is reasonably located if you are intending visiting the Sukhothai historical park. It is run more along Thai lines than perhaps the lines that may be expected by international clientèle. Having said that all of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room I was allocated was clean if perhaps a little dated. The hotel has a reasonably sized swimming pool but I was put off slightly by the fact that the water was a little cloudy but others seemed to be enjoying the facility. Food and drink was very reasonably priced for a hotel, I ordered a burger for lunch which was just about OK. My booking did not include breakfast which is a buffet but you can simply pay for that at the time, again not the best breakfast but not too bad. Would I stay there again? Well yes, it is OK for a night especially with a price of around £20.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

When i told Ken about my Sukhothai plan he said why you stay there nobody stay there, all come see and go, the place is just one long road and the historical park. He could only book one and one hotel only in Sukhothai, and Pailyn it was.

Plan was to leave Chiangmai in the morning reach and see the Sukhothai park, stay the night and leave next morning.

So after a great show at the elephant village i was back inside a bus. Said Ken bye and had a nice trip through 4 lane curvy roads till all of a sudden the bust stopped at a non descript place. Thought some one wanted to get down or something, but noh. It was a major breakdown, unrepairable there, so we wait and wait and wait and just before dark another long distant bus arrives at the place with full passengers and we hop in. So it was a standing journey till the last one hour or so when the bus dropped us at Sukhothai stand. I straight went to the counter for a evening Bangkok ticket next day, but had to change plan and postpone my trip by a day as only morning buses were available.

Then was the tuktuk ride to hotel which was a total rip off but given the late night arrival i was out of option. On top of that the bus came crossing the hotel on way. Anyways the Pailyn looked more like a resort with an impressive entrance and lobby. I showed the reception girl booking papers and asked if i should pay for the next nights stay upfront. Somewhy the friendly girl told me no need twice, which i would discover why the next day.

I was shown into my room which was large compared to most Bangkok rooms and had a nice view of the front lawn. Saw the swimming pool in the middle with children still enjoying in the water with parents. I bathed and all getting ready for dinner and while coming out realised that the room had not cooled despite the ac being in full blast.

Reception was called and a technician came n checked, saying that machine was working fi.e but it would take time to cool.

Ok fine so i go down to the restaurent which was a huge hall and live musical performence was going on. Yet another lovely Thai lady came to give me the menu and take my order all smiles. Big or small she asked i said a small Heinken would be fine. I ordered some chow and enjoyed the Thai modern song sipping the beer. Things were heating up as a lively large group sitting at a distant celebrating something joined the singer on stage and for sometime sang along amd ultimately took the mike.

So i ordered another beer and some more food. The fun continued and the hostess lady told me not to mind the noise. But it was a local family out for fun so i said it was all right. No problem. I had to leave for my room ultimately out of sight of the loveliest face i saw during the entire trip. And with some sweet memories i dozed off despite the ac still not working.

Next morning after a simple breakfast, took a shared benched van to the Sukhothai historical park and hired a cycle for a round. Crossed the main temple area and drove off to a village behind. Was resting on a rock when two eastern European backpackers said hi and we chatted. I asked them if i could cycle along as alone i was finding it boring. We paddled along the Sukhothai countryside for quiet some time and finally stopped at a roadside eatery for some coolers.

We shared email ids and came to the conclusion that i may very well shift to a guest house right in front of the park gate with wider food options and save some cash. From here on i was on a rush to reach the Pailyn receptiln as it was past check out time. But i think the girls at the reception knew what was coming so they told me no need to pay last night. So i bid farewell to this grand old dame of a hotel and hit Vitoon guest house. Spend the afternoon at the Sukhothai museum with some impressive display of arms.

Evening was spent walking around the few shops arou.d and having a nice spring roll, chow dinner at a restaurent nearby. This place had some very cute young hostess as well. But once i fi.ished eating there was no way i could have kept admiring the food and all.

The Vitoon owner an elderly lady was helpfull and friendly letting me know the fare to station without asking and even keeping my shoes inside at night.

As for Pailyn i think the owners had made it way too big for a small sleepy town and could not sustain ultimately so the recent bad reviews.

But its not a bad place to spend a night, specially i loved the restaurent food and overall atmosphare.

And thanks to all the friendly staff who made it an memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nites.Unfortunately we had to stay the 3 nites in the hotel due to budget constraints and we had already pre-paid.Otherwise,I would have left the hotel after the 1st nite.
Location: Terrible.8km from New Sukhothai.There is not 1 tuk tuk or taxi to be seen so the hotel charge you 200B (approx €5) for ONE WAY to New in their shuttle taxi whereas a tuk tuk charges approx 100B on the way back. If you do go to the new town,u have to eat in either Chopper Bar,Poo Bar or Dream Cafe-Amazing Restaurants.
Reception Staff: The reception staff have poor English so even trying to explain where you want to go in their taxi is exhausting.
Pool: The outdoor pool is dirty.There are only 3 sun lounges that are wooden & have bn der since the 70s & are destroyed in ants.Then there are a few chairs around the pool that again are ancient and dirty.The pool itself has so many flies etc in it-In 3 days We didn't see anyone clean it.
Restaurant: We only got food here twice-once we got a Hawaiian pizza which was actually amazing,the 2nd time we got Thai food and it was so bad.The waitresses again have poor English so ordering cocktails etc was so hard.On the subject of cocktails,they had a huge cocktail menu but you could only ever choose 3 and 2 of those tasted the same! The breakfast was shockingly bad.Half cooked crossiants and the likes.
Bedroom: only pro was the room was really big.But so many cons-in a nutshell,ants everywhere,the bedroom,the bathroom-I would have complained only the staff wouldn't have been able to understand so there was no point.The smell coming out of the air con is nothing short of horrendous.Especially in the mornings and evenings-the smell of a sewer coming out was horrible. The carpets were filthy,the towels were raggedy and old,and the bathroom hasn't seen a good clean In a few years.
Wifi:only in lobby which is so inconvienient.
In short:Don't stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

It seems that the hotel had better to offer in the past, but we cannot say that we were satisfied of our experience (maybe the raining day and the empty hotel contribute negatively to our feeling). Since the hotel is located in a green area with a lot of tree, it was not surprising to find as well geckos in your room (even if not expected). Excepted the gecko the room was properly clean but really noisy. The glass of the window was really thin and you can hear anything from outside (at the beginning I thought that the window was opened). During the night there was as well a cat in the corridor which starts to mew interrupting my sleep.
The common areas were not really clean (i.e. spider net in the elevator)
Since the hotel is located in a “deserted” area we had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was cheap. The plate with the tempuras was well done. Unfortunately, the experience at the restaurant was not positive during the breakfast. Since there were only few people they did not set the buffet up and since the English of the staff was really basic, we had difficult to understand us. Result: poor breakfast with only a piece of toast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pailyn Sukhothai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pailyn Sukhothai Hotel

Address: 10/2 Moo 1, Jarodvithithong Rd., Muangkao, Amphur Muang, Sukhothai 64210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pailyn Sukhothai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pailyn Sukhothai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pailyn Hotel Sukhothai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pailyn Sukhothai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.