We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden House to your Saves list
The Garden House
Pravetnakorn Rd., Sukhothai 64000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed just one night in the Garden House and were a bit disappointed. The bungalow was full of spiders nests and a bit dingy. The bungalow also had very thin walls and we could hear everything going on outside and in other peoples huts.The bed was hard and small for two of us. The girl behind the desk was rather unfriendly and seemed very unimpressed and annoyed when we tried to speak Thai to her. We looked at the guest house next door and found that for 50 baht less at 250 a night we could get a really nice clean room with a big bed and friendly service so we moved there asap!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
21
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in a fan room Witt shared bathroom for two nights and really likes the place. It is close to the bus to the old town and the food and staff were great.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We just stayed one night in Sukhotai and in this guesthouse. We had a garden bungalow with fan, air condition and a hot shower for 350 Baht. The room was very small, but ok.
In comparison to another guesthouse that charged us even less for a similar room in Chiang Mai, we had the impression that the room could have been cleaner, especially the bathroom. This is the reason why we would not stay in this guesthouse for a longer period.
Advantages of this guesthouse are the position near the bus stop (the songthaew bus charges only 30 Baht to the old centre) and having a restaurant. Breakfast is definitely ok and the staff seems very nice. Since it was a short stay there is not much more we can say. We think Sukkhothai is worth a visit, and if you go you might as well stay in this guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011 via mobile

I felt warmly welcome as soon as i looked in the smiling face of the lady behind the reception. After a sleepless noisy night in a dirty room in another guest house next door i was so happy to see this nice clean bungalow in the backyard of the restaurant. 

Since i am a working traveler i appreciated the free wifi a lot and used it during my meals in the restaurant. The food was outstanding and even the breakfasts are one of the bests i've ever had in Thailand. After 2 pleasent nights i decided to head over to Chiang Mai with the 11 am bus for 218 baht. On the half way to the first stop in Tak i recognized that i forgot to collect my purse and some important paper that i deposited in the "safe box" with my check in. 

After same thoughts of planning returning to Sokhuthai after some days i decided that it would be better to return to collect my stuff. As soon as i mentioned my plan to the Bus stuardess everybody in the Bus and on the Pak bus terminal got in the "take care mode" and arranged the courier service for my stuff from the Garden House to the bus terminal. The kind lady from The Garden House offered to bring my envelope to the Sukothai Bus Terminal to hand it to a Bus company that will have a bus to where i am. 

Outstanding service ... no charge asked at any time ... only smiles and khoap khun khraps. 

I tipped some involved helpers and was happy to be on my trip with all my stuff without thinking about how and when to get the 350 km back from Chiang Mai to Sukhothai. 

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

i had a good feeeling from the moment my tuk-tuk dropped me off at this pre-booked guest house in Sukhothai, home of the famous Loy Kathong festival. The friendly greeting and subsequent welcome were initial evidence of a very well run but low key guest house.
My accomodation was in a lovely wooden hut in a tranquil garden well away from the road
The staff have a wealth of knowledge. most though is also posted on useful notice boards. The restaurant is good. There is usually a tuk-tuk waiting outside and the major bus stopmfor the old city is maybe 200 metres away.
FREE Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: Pravetnakorn Rd., Sukhothai 64000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great selection of rooms and bungalows to suit the needs and taste of the budget traveller. Together with a great location in the new city of Sukhothai and a diverse range of facilities and services, Garden House is a great choice for those looking for location and service without the cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.