We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful home with a wonderful host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Sukhothai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukhothai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de Sukhothai
Save
You added Maison de Sukhothai to your Saves list
99/1 Baan Klong Haeng | Sawankhalok, Sukhothai 64110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A wonderful home with a wonderful host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Maison for 3 nights near the end of our time in Thailand - having spent a few weeks touring around. It was a much welcome break. The Maison is a lovely low key place perched between a small river and agricultural fields. The rooms are great, as is the food, with breakfast and supper served in the open air on a terrace overlooking the river, and the host, her cook and her helper (nephew?) are all charming. A high point for us was an evening walk with the host down the lane and into the rice fields. Her insight and details about life in the village were much appreciated, as were the tireless efforts to make sure we were comfortable. I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants something a bit more rustic, while having the comforts of a well appointed small hotel or guesthouse. We will definitely go again if we are back in Thailand. It is worth noting that the rate includes supper and breakfast, but there is no beer or wine onsite. Bring your own. You can pick up beer in the village on the way there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is such a wonderful place. OK, it is remote and quite hard to find if you are navigating yourself, but it is so worth the effort. Khun Tong is a fantastic host and went out her way to help us with all aspects of our trip (incuding calling out the local mechanic when we had car trouble). She also gives great advice on visiting the local sights. The package includes dinner and the food we had was excellent. Staying at Maison gives you an easy way to really experience rural Thai life as well as being very convenient for 2 amazing historic sites. Very relaxing. We stayed 2 nights and could have stayed a week. Payment is cash only.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I cannot recommend this place enough... The owner, Tong is an excellent host, friendly, hospitable, artistic and fluent in three languages. She gave me travel advice and helped me with my travel arrangements via emails before I even made the booking.
She has created a beautiful B & B with tasteful decorations in a tranquil setting. Having delicious breakfast (including homemade bread, jam and Thai rice soup specially requested by me!) by the river while watching birds built their nest in a tree was quite an unforgettable moment. Sadly, I only spent one night there... I wish I had more time to enjoy the tranquil setting and interesting conversations with Tong. However, I know that I will be back again soon and will make sure that I stay for much longer next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at the Maison de Sukhothai for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay.
Booking was easy and smooth (email and phone) despite being last minute.

Rooms and toilet/showers are spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds were comfortable, closet space ample. Free Wi-Fi (didn't work one night, but this has more to with Thai ISPs notorious service) in the room, no TV though (we thought it added to the general peacefulness of the place). The rooms are on the bank of the local canal, and set in a nice garden featuring bamboo and some interesting local flora. A narrow village road runs along the other side, but was quiet when we were there. Cars can be parked in a near yard, one of the staff stays there at night so seemed safe.

Meals( breakfast, dinner) are included and served on the balcony overlooking the canal.
Breakfast is mostly European (lovely home made jams), but items can easily be added if you ask for them. Dinner had different dishes every night - all were tasty and some pretty original, you're in good hands here :-).

Service was excellent, both by Khun Tong and her staff - nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. A couple of minor problems (light bulb, lock) were dealt with promptly. Owner is also a well of information on the area, ask her for pointers before you set out to explore, speaks fluent English and French. We payed cash so no idea if credit cards are ok.

Location...well, we liked being a bit out of the way and didn't mind the drive to the sites. It was well worth the peace and quiet we got mornings and evenings. Got there after dark without too many problems, road signs are mostly alright, map and explanations provided helped. That said, it is out of the way so might not be for everyone - much easier with your own vehicle.

We had a great stay and would definitely recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is not a hotel nor homestay, it has a bed and breakfast concept. The dinner is include in the room rate as the location is quite out of town however the atmosphere just awesome" . Don't you worry about the food, Khun Tong who is the onwer is very good cook and you will have more than enough food for dinner or breakfast.
This place is just beyond our expectation and we will definitely stay at Maison again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison de Sukhothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Sukhothai

Address: 99/1 Baan Klong Haeng | Sawankhalok, Sukhothai 64110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are neither a hotel (with staff, dining facilities, etc) nor a home stay (where one actually stays with the hosts, mostly in very basic conditions in hill tribe villages or during trekkings). Our concept is the one of “maison d’hotes,” i.e. small units in a typical environment where guests can enjoy an authentic more original and intimate experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Sukhothai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.