We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful viewpoint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple on the Hill (Wat Phra That Mae Yen)

Temple on the Hill (Wat Phra That Mae Yen)
Across the river from Pai, Pai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 things to do in Pai
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful viewpoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The temple itself is alright, but the view from the temple is pretty stunning. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    59
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“220 stairs of the temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

:-) I liked the view from top of it . Whole city was in front of you.

For us it was last step of our morning running sessions.

;-) I hated 220 staris after running 4 kms .
Anyways. Must place to be around PAI

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A global view of Pai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Although we had could have done it by foot, our driver brought us by car. And that was surely a good idea. A steep climb, but an extraordinary view. This and the bamboo bridge was the highlight of our stay in Pai.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not worth going”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am not a big temple person but thought I should at least check this out and it was a huge let down. I spent 2 mins here taking a photo of the view (which isn't that great either) as the temple is far from spectacular and another 10 mins climbing the hill to see the big buddha being constructed - this is by far the best part, it's huge!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'pore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good view of Pai town from this small hill top temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We like the quiet environment of this simple temple. Good for taking a rest after seeing too many tourists at the pai town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple on the Hill (Wat Phra That Mae Yen) also viewed

Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
 
Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
 

Been to Temple on the Hill (Wat Phra That Mae Yen)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple on the Hill (Wat Phra That Mae Yen), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.