We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuad Khon Thoe Pai Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kuad Khon Thoe Pai Cottage to your Saves list
Kuad Khon Thoe Pai Cottage
99 Moo 10 | Thung Yao, Pai 58130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Pai
5.0 of 5 stars 13 Reviews
Rijmenam, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very friendly place with great view over the valley. Nice pool. Delicious waffles for breakfast. Nice bungalows: excellent value for your money! Just 10 minutes by car from the center of Pai. We stayed here during our trip from Chiang Mai over Pai and Mae Hong Son. This place was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were there during 2 nights. We enjoyed the place, very quite, very authentic, a great swimmingpool where you can relax.
The hoster is really nice and kind.
You have to call her as soon as you arrive to Pai, she pick you up in her car. I advise you to rent a motorbike meanwhile she arrives to pick you or your bags, as the hotel is around 7km away from Pai Town.
We remember this hotel as one of the best places in Thailand. Rural, nice, confortable...you can have breakfast and lunch too. It's quite cheap and very good.

Place is great!!!! I would came back for sure!

Room Tip: Rent a bike in Pai and take a jacket!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Although this place was a little far out of town (9 km I believe), we rented a motorcycle and enjoyed the gorgeous countryside views you get along the road. Helpful owner with perfect English, and we got a great deal using Agoda. Cabins were adorable, simple and clean, and the location couldn't be more beautiful. Wouldn't have traded this experience for anything in Pai proper!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Pai for a night and decided to stay here as it already had some good reviews. We were by motorbike so the small distance from the center of town was not a problem at all. First off, I would like to point out that we ended up staying at a different hotel as Kuad Khon Thoe was fully booked that night. HOWEVER! We arrived there and the first thing you see as you walk through to reception are the fantastic mountains and fields stretching out for miles! There is barely a sound around aside from the birds and the swimming pool and snooker table right next to each other is something a little odd but it works really well.
My girlfriend ordered a fresh blueberry smoothie which was apparently to die for. As they were fully booked, they did help us out in finding another place to stay which was much bigger (Bara Lumpai I believe) but far from being as nice.

Next time we are in Pai I hope we can stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I loved our stay here. Everything about it was terrific. Kim is a great host and leaves nothing to be desired. The food is delicious, the pool is wonderful (waterside!!), the wifi is fast and Kim will shuttle you into town whenever you need. She also speaks flawless english, which is helpful.

The property reminded me of summer camp. It's large and spread out with only 8 bungalows. We booked both a more modern bungalow with a fridge and a rustic one that looked out over rice paddies and rolling hills. Both were very comfortable and private.

It's pretty far outside of Pai, but I didn't care at all and seldom left I was just so comfortable there. Out of all 4 places I have stayed in Pai this was by far our favorite and we will certainly stay there again if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

stayed here for one week and it was a really good choice. the hosts (kim + husband) and their staff are fantastic and do everything they can to let you have a nice time. had an big ac bungalow, very comfy bed, good and spacious shower. everything very clean. there is also a big terrace to sit outside. the sorrounding is so beautiful, you can enjoy a view at the mountains and the fields. this place is about 7km out of town so you will need a motorbike or car. but therefore you can enjoy the peaceful area there. kim will help you with everything you might need, trust her recomendations for places to eat or sights to see. the pool is a nice treat. if you`re not into going out for dinner, kim is also a fantastic cook.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June based on the reviews on a hotel booking site and we were not disappointed! The large property with only 8 or so bungalows afforded great views of small farms, fields and mountains. It is located in a small very local farming village about 7 kms from Pai so a car or a motorbike is essential . The place itself is beautiful with a well maintained garden and a very large lawn in front of the cottages. They were building a pool when we were there so it should be ready by July 2012

The large aircon cottage we stayed in was very clean and comfortable with a huge balcony with amazing unobstructed views. There’s coffee/tea facilities, free 2 bottles of water daily and a small satellite LCD TV and even a ref which is not standard for Pai. The wooden elevated walkway to get to the cottages was also very pleasant both as a path and as a place to sit on to enjoy the views. The free wifi was reliable from the restaurant/common area but was a weak from the rooms. Aircon worked well and the bathroom was clean with strong water pressure (maybe too strong)

The friendly and always smiling hostess, Kim also cooks excellent meals at near streetfood prices. The breakfast set (not included) was good and servings were generous. The menu is very limited but everything we tried was very good.

Another thing we liked was that there are some interesting walks from the place. The village itself is pleasant (nothing is built for tourists) with people going about their daily lives. You can also make a short walk to the dam/river passing vegetable and chili farms and enjoy almost 360 degree views. When the pool is completed, I wouldn’t mind staying here all day just relaxing and enjoying the vistas from the pool or the balcony.

Highly recommended for people who want peace and quiet or for families or for couples. Not really for the party people type.

Overall 5/5!

Room Tip: Aircon rooms have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuad Khon Thoe Pai Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuad Khon Thoe Pai Cottage

Address: 99 Moo 10 | Thung Yao, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kuad Khon Thoe Pai Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuad Khon Thoe Pai Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.