We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home, sweet home of paradise, feel like a dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amy's Earth House

Save Saved
You added Amy's Earth House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amy's Earth House
99 Moo 5, Ban Maekhong | Mae Na Toeng, Pai 58130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 Specialty lodging in Pai
Dalat, Vietnam
1 review
“home, sweet home of paradise, feel like a dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

it is such a lovely and beautiful resort, feel like home, a sweet home from dream, it is surrounded by very wild and beautiful nature, everywhere is green, everything is so natural and organic, the room has very artistic style with unique look, the breakfast was excellent, it is always well prepared before we got up, a cup of wonderful coffee, the tasty orange juice, fresh toast, wow, yummy! the food there was so delicious, as it is home made, the thai lady cooks so well with her heart:) everything was perfect in this wonderful cozy resort! we would come back again soon:)

Room Tip: we stayed in the room 7, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Manager at Amy's Earth House, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Yanzirun
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Amy's Earth House, we appreciate it.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed the surroundings here. 'The Thai lady' (Netty) does cook very well and is always pleased to hear that people have enjoyed her food; as you say, she cooks with her heart.
We look forward to being your hosts again on your next trip to Pai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
15
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at Amy's as as one member of a group booking. Was not sure what to expect but could not have been more pleased. Staf are friendly and helpful. Rooms are excellent and perfectly clean. Food is wonderful.
Even as part of a group it was possible to find peace and space to yourselfjust to enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Manager at Amy's Earth House, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Blownalong,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Amy's Earth House.
We were pleased to have your group stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you all.
Group tours can sometimes be stressful and we are happy to hear that you found it possible to relax at Amy's.
Our kitchen staff were delighted that you enjoyed the European food that you ate here and we hope that you are now fully recovered from the stomach upset that you brought along with you from Chiang Mai.
We hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Northern Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

I went to Pai just to stay at Amy's. I'm interested in earth house construction and was thrilled to have a tour of the rooms from Rob, the owner. The owners are excellent - very helpful in every way - in suggesting things to see and do and in helping to make arrangements. Location is a couple of kilometers out of town - so made for a peaceful,quiet setting after a day of taking in the sights. I walked into town, but it might be a bit far/too hot for some. Might want to rent a bike. It was a perfect setting for deep relaxation. Enjoyed the gazebo space for early morning yoga. Excellent breakfast! Will absolutely be back when I'm in Northern Thailand again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Manager at Amy's Earth House, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear LMaljan,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Amy's Earth House.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and were happy to able to show off Amy's Earth Houses to someone who really appreciates them.
We would like to thank you once more for your visit and, most especially for extending, your stay.
If you do return to the north of Thailand, we shall be pleased to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Can't find anything bad to say about Amy's. Booked 3 nights, but ended up staying 5 nights. So many good things.

The location is great, just outside of Pai, easy to reach and with a very nice view of the surroundings. The houses are nice and clean, with an outdoor shower, which is excellent, very strong water pressure and hot water. Even with 42 degrees during the daytime I never had any problems sleeping, the mud houses do indeed get nice and cool to sleep. Very comfortable.

The area is excellent to explore by motorbike. Rent one in Pai and see whatever you want to see, nice hilltop views or a few very nice waterfalls. Even riding around in the hills is a nice experience, lovely roads with a lot of bends and good views. Even went as far as mae hong son to visit a Karen longneck village on my own.

So a lot of positive things, as is the case with the owners. They are really friendly and flexible. I was there during Songkran (Thai newyear) and on the last day took me along in their truck, sitting in the back throwing water at people, getting some much needed payback:) Very cool. They also have tasty food and drinks for fair prices.

Awesome stay and would really recommend.


If you like or can, try to drive here from Chiang Mai or back. The road has stunning views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Manager at Amy's Earth House, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear BM,
Thank you for your kind review of Amy's Earth House.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and were able to discover the advantages of our earth houses. They really are cool inside in the summer months, but warm during the winter. Visit us again in winter — you can try for yourself!

We were pleased that you wanted to join us when we took part in the Songkran festivities. We like to be able to actively introduce our guests to local Thai traditions, such as Poi Sang Long, Songkran or Loi Kratong. The staff at Amy's is proud that we could make your stay a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My and my girlfriend had a wonderful time at Amy's. Rob and Netty are the best hosts you can imagine. A free pickup from the bus station, the houses are beautiful with a stunning view over the valley, the food is great and Rob lent his own scooter to get our own. At the end of our stay we had to take a minivan at 05.30 but Rob was so kind to make us a take-away breakfast.

If you want a pleasant stay out of the little, but busy center go to Amy's. You'll not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Manager at Amy's Earth House, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear StanleyIpkiss008
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of Amy's Earth House.
We agree with you that Amy's is very lucky to be set within stunning surroundings.
We are delighted that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be obliging and helpful, they do their utmost to offer the best service possible.
We hope to see you and your friend again the next time you visit Pai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Situated on a hill overlooking the valley, this plot counts only 7 cute terra colored bungalows nicely spread out in a beautiful garden. Just 4 km. outside Pai village in a rural environment, this is a hidden gem you almost want to keep secret, not tell anybody about its existence. The adobe style bungalows are simple, but well maintained and clean. You won't find hotter showers in other bungalows anywhere else. Rob and his wife will be at your service anytime. They are dedicated to their guests and care much about this magnificent and well maintained place. They also can make delightful meals, you absolutely must try. Be aware once you visited this place you might get addicted to it and stay longer than you planned or keep coming back later."

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Manager at Amy's Earth House, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Eagle21nl
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I was extremely pleased that you had an enjoyable time in Pai and found Amy's Earth House to be comfortable. Our staff are extremely passionate and committed to giving the best possible service and I am glad that this reflected on to your stay.
If you ever return to Pai, we would be glad to welcome you at Amy's again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We have visited Amy's Earth House on five occasions before — we just keep coming back!
When we arrived this time round, our hearts sunk – we were greeted by two new faces. Amy has passed her business on.
We needen't have been worried, though, Rob & Netty are the best hosts you could wish for and Netty is such a good cook (Rob's cooking is very good too).
After a five night stay, we are convinced that Amy's is even better than before. The whole place is very clean and tidy, the rooms are cleaned daily and the towels are changed often.
We spent many great evenings together with our hosts they have karaoke and a great selection of DVDs.
The rooms now all have WiFi internet and television (not too many TV-channels though). The breakfast included with the room is basic: tea, coffee, toast, preserves, orange-juice and fruit if it is in season.
Rob's English breakfast is the best this side of London and Netty's rice soup or fried rice are great – both cost a little extra but both are well worth it.

We shall be back for a sixth visit just as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Rooms five and six have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Manager at Amy's Earth House, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
Our staff work hard to make your stay as memorable as possible and we are happy that we succeeded.
We are aware of the lack of TV-channels and are working to change this. As of immediately we shall be able to supply DVD-players for individual rooms to compensate for this drawback.
We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amy's Earth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amy's Earth House

Address: 99 Moo 5, Ban Maekhong | Mae Na Toeng, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Specialty lodging in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guesthouse with ecological Adobe Houses just outside Pai with beautiful views over the valley to the mountains. Be in tune with nature, visit local cultural sites. Great hospitality and a personal touch by Netty. The rooms are well finished, with coloured glass bottles set into the wall to create ambient lighting, and a large open bathroom. Once you have experienced the peace and quiet of Amy's place you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Amy's Earth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amy's Earth House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.