We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance & friendly staff, wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinlins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Quinlins to your Saves list
Quinlins
Ban Sobpam, Pai 58130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Voorburg, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Great ambiance & friendly staff, wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Quinlins, the resort is situated just 10 minutes from Pai. We suggest you to hire a motorbike or some form of transportation to discover Pai. The area around the resort is great, a lot of nature and the best sunset view from the huge pool. John and Gaynor (owners) are very friendly and we enjoyed our stay in the beautiful cabbin with aircon ;-) The Quinlins also have two very sweet dogs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

On arrival we instantly extended our stay. The guest house, pool & surroundings were beautiful. Modest, private and modern you could really relax and feel comfortable. Gaynor made us feel very welcome and was extremely helpful whenever we asked for anything and in giving us extensive advice on the local area. Like the others have said it is a wee bit out of the centre of Pai but no problem if you have wheels. We wanted to be out in the wilderness a bit to get out running amongst it.
Most enjoyable.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed with John and Gaynor for over a week and had a great time. The bungalows are clean, comfortable and relaxing. The hosts are really friendly and they were so helpful when we were planning our trip. There's a lovely place to sit outside and chat with them and the other guests. It's 8km out of Pai but having a scooter was fun (and cheap) and we got into town easily. The location of Quinlins actually turned out to be a bonus because of the beautiful scenery and how relaxing the place was. We loved the atmosphere in Pai and would definitely come back and stay with John and Gaynor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Lovely place, clean & comfortable bungalows, prive pool where you can relax and enjoy only nature sounds. Unfortunately we did not meet John but Gaynor gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home immediately. We were there only for 2 nights but we could easilly spend a few weeks there. We will definately go back if we visit Pai. And.... it is absolutely very cheap for the luxery they offer you. It has it all!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

John and Gaynor are great hosts. Very funny and easygoing. The place is some kilometers outside of Pai located in a nice little village and the surrounding is simply amazing. The bungalows are cosy and clean and the pool an additional advantage. Great value for money.
A car or a motorbike to get around is useful, though.
We had some great time in Pai and will certainly get back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

When we arrived at the Quinlins we received a wonderful greeting from the owners, John and Gaynor and the "boss" their great dane Noi. Noi initially frightened us with her size and loud barking but within an hour we were feeding her, teaching her new tricks and thoroughly enjoying her humorous ways.

Quinlins is 8km (only 10mins) from town and in a lovely village which has its own temple and some shops.

The feeling you get right from the start is that you are at a homestay where everyone is made welcome and brought together. There's a great lounge area near to the wonderful pool where you can just sit and relax, read books, watch a film and enjoy the views.

The kids went for a great kayak ride down the Pai river for a small charge whilst I borrowed a push bike and took in the great views of Pai Canyon, which is on the Quinlins doorstep.

We booked the two bedroom house which is huge. It has two bedrooms, a large lounge and dining area (which was great to sit at and do computer work, etc.). The rooms are very clean with large fridge, free coffee and water and free wifi.

John, Gaynor, Sophie, Zoe and the dogs are just great. They make you feel so welcome from the minute you arrive until the minute you leave. We came as guests and feel like we left as friends.

Their knowledge of Thailand, this area and the Mae Hong Son loop is excellent.

Food/drink menu is very well priced and good value for money. The room price is excellent value and includes a lovely breakfast of homemade bread (delicious!) with other options available.

We will definately be back.

Thanks guys for such a memorable time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed at Quinlins for 9 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed my stay (would have stayed longer, only they kicked me out!) - only joking. This place is, as all the other reviewers have said, (except for the crazy one who said it was terrible).It is set in the beautiful countryside with wonderful views with the sight and sounds of many birds (my favourite was the woop woop bird). Great owners, that treat you like friends, rather than guests. They took me on several sightseeing tours for a minimal amount of money, if any. Food is great, so are the individual bungalows-they even let me move to the large bungalow at no extra cost. Some people mention this place, being not close enough to the town - thats the joy of this place!
No noisy mopeds or late night revellers here. Thoroughly recommend this place - you wont get better value for money anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinlins

Address: Ban Sobpam, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of a charming village near to the lively town of Pai. Set in 2 acres of landscaped gardens with beautiful mountain/countryside views.2 BEDROOM GUEST HOUSE - sleeps 4lounge, diner, twin room, kingsize room, personal safe, hot shower/wc, tv/dvd player, tea/coffee facilities, complimentary water.1 BEDROOM GUEST HOUSE - sleeps 2 kingsize room, A/C, hot shower/wc, mini fridge, tea/coffee facilities, complimentary water, personal safe, private veranda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quinlins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinlins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.