We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here and feel neglected” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Resort

Save Saved
You added Aqua Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua Resort
Pai, Pai 58130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in Pai
Hue, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay here and feel neglected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

When I first checked in I couldn't believe how beautiful the setting was. The cabins are gorgeous. Unfortunately, after a few days, I discovered the place was a mess. The bathrooms were impossible to keep clean as the floors are gravel. I doubt that they had ever been cleaned. The roofs leek and ooze some strange substance that ruined my clothes. The decks are made with decayed wood and your lucky if you don't go thru the floor. You need a scooter to stay here. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else. There are many better and cheaper options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked and paid for 4 nights at Aqua resort. I didn't even stay one night! Ended up forfeiting the money and booking elsewhere. It was alright, little bit out of the main drag - 20min walk, nice grounds, beautiful gardens, pool looked nice.. I found the rooms looked ALOT better in the pictures. The bungalows are cute, but it's literally just a mattress on the floor with mosquito net around it. Nothing more, nothing less. The toilets are to the back of your bungalow so you need to go outside to use it. They were basic, not the cleanest but certainly not the worst. My main issue - and the reason we left - the ceiling had large holes in it, big enough so you could see the sky, and the mosquito nets were laddered and covered in holes also. Obvious problem with lizards and mozies aside, what if it had rained!??
Asked to see another room - was shown two others both of which had the same problem. I don't know, it could be amazing, and I'm not out to tarnish the reputation of these hardworking people..but it was just something I couldn't overlook. Again - what if it had rained!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

stayed in December for 3 nights and it was fantastic!! We arrived after thinking we could fly into Pai but taking a taxi instead for 3 hours which was an experience. Den the owner had been waiting around to collect us! The rooms are just perfect nothing more is needed, it was so great to be in the gorgeous grounds and lovely area where everyone sits and chats. we felt like we were part of the family they way they look after you. Den took us to the hot springs and even paid for us all to get in! this was the 6 people all of us staying at Aqua. During the evenings they cooked us BBQ and fresh fish on the open fire for free! They ran us around before we got us scooters and one of their friends even gave us a lift home the night we got Dens phone number wrong.

I wouldn't have any bad comments to say about this place! Pai is amazing and northern thailand is so much more beautiful than the south. I will definitely be returning

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked two nights here without knowing much about Pai, and based on the Tripadvisor ranking.
Our check in was disheartening, we booked by agoda and upon checkin the receptionist seemed to not have any idea about our reservation, and for the few minutes that she silently reviewed her booking logs with a concerned grimace on her face, we thought that we wouldn't have a room. Despite that, however, service was very accomodating on the whole!
Once we were checked in everything we asked for was provided to us. Unfortunately we required quite a few things:
The towels are that kind of slippery material that doesn't really absorp any water, so we needed more of those; no drinking glasses in the room; no minibar or refrigerator so some ants got into our things; the comforter is smaller than the bed, so we needed about two extra blankets to keep us sufficiently warm.
The grounds are beautiful and exceeded expectations! You can tell by the nature of the ground that it was all built on old rice patties. The plunge pool is nice, and there is a rushing stream running right through the resort.
The rooms were very tastefully decorated and just as good as the pictures you see - but the bathroom is not connected to the bedroom so you have to go out into the cold in the middle of the night! For me this was great, it was like a combination of camping and luxury living - but some people might find it maddening. One big boo boo i found, and only because i was hounding around - I found a used condom just in the bushes next to our porch, amongst some other trash that had been dropped there by previous guests....
No breakfast included with the room rate, which for some reason seems to be the industry standard in Pai, at least in the two places we stayed in. No food or roomservice available.
The staff were kind enough to build us a fire for one night when we had a marshmallow roast!
We would probably not come back - not because it was bad or service was terrible, everything was pretty good! Its just that Pai has SO many options and we would probably look around some more next time. We would recommend doing at least a night here for the novelty of the rooms and the grounds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in Pai.
The rooms and setting is beautiful but for the costs ( currently 1000bt) you can get better.
The rooms are nice and mosquito net is needed! The bathroom is outside so impracticable in the middle of the night in the pitch black. It looks lovely but the bathroom isn't that clean. There is no kitchen and drinks available are limited to water and beer.
As you are staying in the gardens and pretty much exposed you wake up in the morning and everything feels damp. There is no hanging space so your clothes/bag is on the floor.
You are out of town about a 15 minute walk.

Would i stay here again- probably not we moved into town closer to everything, bigger room and less money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We are travelling through thailand and only booked 1 night in Pai but really regret it!! This place is stunning!! The rooms are simple but so effective with a memory foam mattress complete with mosquito net and the surroundings just make you feel lost in a paradise. The hosts are really friendly, offering us to join them for food and lifts to town. We hired a scooter straight off the bus which cost about 200 baht for 24 hours and was perfect for getting to such a happy town and seeking the views at waterfalls etc... Would highly recommend to anyone who loves relaxing and falling asleep in the wild and doesn't rely on the boring stuff you get at home!! Was a really romantic setting for us and we are going to book 7 nights again at the end of our journey due to them being fully booked at the time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Aqua resort for 5 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The resort is a few minutes motorbike ride from town and has a beautiful tropical garden and a small river with waterfall running through its premises. The bungalow accommodation is basic with beds on the floor and unfortunately no space to put clothes or any other of your stuff for that matter so you end up unpacking everything on the floor. As we travel with a toddler the room therefore quickly turned into a mess. We noticed after our stay, once we arrved in Chiang Mai, that a colony of big ants had made their way into our rucksack, one of the perks of having to put your clothes on the floor :-(

The bathroom is attached but not accessible via the room so going to the bathroom over the balcony feels a bit like going to the bathroom when camping. The bathroom is also a little dirty and could do with some more thorough cleaning. The hot shower works well and saved our cold butts as the nights were starting to get colder. The resort has a small swimming pool which is good just for a quick dip.

The owners are supernice and easy going and although they do not serve any food they allow you to use their kitchen if you would like to make some food. Beware if you are allergic to dogs. They have a huge fat golden labrador who is very sweet but smells disgustingly and you can smell him from at least 10 meters away like wet dog. It wouldn’t be a bad idea if they bathed him once in a while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Resort

Address: Pai, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Aqua Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Pai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.