We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aqua Resort to your Saves list
Aqua Resort
Pai, Pai 58130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Pai
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked two nights here without knowing much about Pai, and based on the Tripadvisor ranking.
Our check in was disheartening, we booked by agoda and upon checkin the receptionist seemed to not have any idea about our reservation, and for the few minutes that she silently reviewed her booking logs with a concerned grimace on her face, we thought that we wouldn't have a room. Despite that, however, service was very accomodating on the whole!
Once we were checked in everything we asked for was provided to us. Unfortunately we required quite a few things:
The towels are that kind of slippery material that doesn't really absorp any water, so we needed more of those; no drinking glasses in the room; no minibar or refrigerator so some ants got into our things; the comforter is smaller than the bed, so we needed about two extra blankets to keep us sufficiently warm.
The grounds are beautiful and exceeded expectations! You can tell by the nature of the ground that it was all built on old rice patties. The plunge pool is nice, and there is a rushing stream running right through the resort.
The rooms were very tastefully decorated and just as good as the pictures you see - but the bathroom is not connected to the bedroom so you have to go out into the cold in the middle of the night! For me this was great, it was like a combination of camping and luxury living - but some people might find it maddening. One big boo boo i found, and only because i was hounding around - I found a used condom just in the bushes next to our porch, amongst some other trash that had been dropped there by previous guests....
No breakfast included with the room rate, which for some reason seems to be the industry standard in Pai, at least in the two places we stayed in. No food or roomservice available.
The staff were kind enough to build us a fire for one night when we had a marshmallow roast!
We would probably not come back - not because it was bad or service was terrible, everything was pretty good! Its just that Pai has SO many options and we would probably look around some more next time. We would recommend doing at least a night here for the novelty of the rooms and the grounds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in Pai.
The rooms and setting is beautiful but for the costs ( currently 1000bt) you can get better.
The rooms are nice and mosquito net is needed! The bathroom is outside so impracticable in the middle of the night in the pitch black. It looks lovely but the bathroom isn't that clean. There is no kitchen and drinks available are limited to water and beer.
As you are staying in the gardens and pretty much exposed you wake up in the morning and everything feels damp. There is no hanging space so your clothes/bag is on the floor.
You are out of town about a 15 minute walk.

Would i stay here again- probably not we moved into town closer to everything, bigger room and less money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We are travelling through thailand and only booked 1 night in Pai but really regret it!! This place is stunning!! The rooms are simple but so effective with a memory foam mattress complete with mosquito net and the surroundings just make you feel lost in a paradise. The hosts are really friendly, offering us to join them for food and lifts to town. We hired a scooter straight off the bus which cost about 200 baht for 24 hours and was perfect for getting to such a happy town and seeking the views at waterfalls etc... Would highly recommend to anyone who loves relaxing and falling asleep in the wild and doesn't rely on the boring stuff you get at home!! Was a really romantic setting for us and we are going to book 7 nights again at the end of our journey due to them being fully booked at the time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Aqua resort for 5 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The resort is a few minutes motorbike ride from town and has a beautiful tropical garden and a small river with waterfall running through its premises. The bungalow accommodation is basic with beds on the floor and unfortunately no space to put clothes or any other of your stuff for that matter so you end up unpacking everything on the floor. As we travel with a toddler the room therefore quickly turned into a mess. We noticed after our stay, once we arrved in Chiang Mai, that a colony of big ants had made their way into our rucksack, one of the perks of having to put your clothes on the floor :-(

The bathroom is attached but not accessible via the room so going to the bathroom over the balcony feels a bit like going to the bathroom when camping. The bathroom is also a little dirty and could do with some more thorough cleaning. The hot shower works well and saved our cold butts as the nights were starting to get colder. The resort has a small swimming pool which is good just for a quick dip.

The owners are supernice and easy going and although they do not serve any food they allow you to use their kitchen if you would like to make some food. Beware if you are allergic to dogs. They have a huge fat golden labrador who is very sweet but smells disgustingly and you can smell him from at least 10 meters away like wet dog. It wouldn’t be a bad idea if they bathed him once in a while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Rooms are in octagon shape, with bathroom outside at your head side. Because of the shape of the room that after put double bed (actually mattress) make room is very small without space, neither table nor chairs inside even have 2 chairs outside but lots of mosquitoes so we prefer to sit on the floor inside that's quite difficult for foreigner (my boyfriend). Room has no air condition but not a big deal because weather in Pai is very nice all year round, we have been there in rainy season.
This resort is out of town about 3 kms, less vehicles so would be nice to walk to town, taking some photos on the way. Rate for this resort is room only, there is no restaurant at the resort so town is the best choice to find food and outing.
Good deal for me at this resort with price even have no breakfast, I don't eat much anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here three nights. As previous reviewers have mentioned the rooms are basic - bed with mosquito net, fan (no A/C but really not needed) and lamps. Shower/toilet are outside and attached to the bungalows and are basic but more than adequate.

The bungalows are surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens and sitting out on the deck surrounding the bungalows on a warm evening while sipping a cold brewskie is fantastic! I really felt relaxed and comfortable for my entire stay.

Important note: The town center is a good fifteen minute walk from the resort. While walking in the mild mornings/evenings is quite pleasant, walking in the heat of the day is not so nice. Like most people who visit Pai, I hired a scooter - problem solved, however if you are not comfortable doing this then be prepared for a walk.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms are quite simple but nice. There was no A/C, only fan and a mosquito net. The bed is on the floor and the room is surrounded by windows. The total atmosphere is very nice and natural. The shower and the toilet are very basic, though. There was a pool, but we did not use it. However, we were able to see our own movies (from disc on key) on the big screen in the "living room". The hotel is located 5 minutes ride from the center, but if you're on foot, it's far away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Resort

Address: Pai, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pai
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Aqua Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Pai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.