We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Orchid

The Red Orchid
44/3 Thedsaban 2, Pai 58130, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 78 Restaurants in Pai
Restaurant details
1 review
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I took a cooking class by chance, and then I fell in love with Dao and her foods. Not very systematic like other cooking classes in town cause Dao works single-handed, but it helped me to understand about Thai food and ingredients, so after the class I brought bunch of Thai cooking meterials home and still making some dishes. And about Dao, I really feel sympathy about her hard working as a mother, wife, and daughter. Hope see her again someday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if we just hit this place on a bad day but our our experience was well short of expectations and did not match the generally positive reviews on TA. Went for a day with my 2 kids, paid TB 550 for an adult and TB400 for a kid. Owner was charming and welcoming when we booked but the following day seemed preoccupied and disinterested. Had been told that our day would consist of two session preparing lunch and dinner with a break inbetween, instead prepared all 5 dishes that we chose in one session. Felt very rushed with the staff often taking over apparently to get finished ASAP. Overall not expensive for 6 hours but didn't leave us feeling that we'd learnt much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Dao is a lovely person, we had really good time there. We went to the local market to buy the food, then started the cooking class.
Really good food!
The only negative point, is that classes take long time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great cooking course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a cooking class at Red Orchid and we really enjoyed it. We cooked 8 dishes that we could choose from a big list and it was really tasty. The women who lead the course are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it!
Note: it is not a restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We meet it the casuality. One day before a friend spoke me about this place. When we come to seen, we feel the energy the Dao. Negociate the price to 11 days and start!! Ever day that we are in Red Orchid is better!! Sometimes we don`t belive all that we had been there!! For us is the best trekking or course that we did in Thailand! They are a little family and they are very generous and funny!! We recomend you if you want to enjoy, learn and know this culture!!
Thank you so much, Dao, May and Lan!! os quiero!!
Desde el alojamiento hasta la compañia han hecho nuestra estancia aquí una maravilla!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Orchid also viewed

Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
 
Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
 

Been to The Red Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.