We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Angkor Wat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prang Sam Yot (Wat San Phra Kan)

Prang Sam Yot (Wat San Phra Kan)
Wichayen Road, Lop Buri, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 attractions in Lop Buri
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
426 reviews 426 reviews
230 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Not Angkor Wat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

It is perhaps a great historical monument but taking a few pictures outside seemed enough for me. Did no bother paying entrance fee to enter to have a good look. From the street, you get a nice whole view anyway.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very strange town... (AKA Monkey Town)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Where I come from (England) you walk down the street and have to dodge the occasional pigeon walking in front of you, but in Lop Buri it's gangs of monkeys you need to worry about.

My girlfriend got mugged (in a cheeky way, not aggressive) by a monkey near this temple ruin. It spotted the carton of orange juice, ran up and grabbed it straight from her. It was quite amusing.

You pay a small amount to see this small ruin and it is practically owned by the monkeys. Lopburi is a strange town. Somehow the people of Lopburi and the monkeys seem to live in harmony. I've went to a restaurant in Lanta (old town) that had a monkey chained up in what seemed like a bird cage, I walked straight out again. I think I'd rather see monkeys roaming free in Lopburi.. very bizarre.

Lopburi is very cheap to get to from Bangkok via train, less than 50 baht for a train ticket at Hua Lampoong station. It may not be for everyone though. Refer to the photos I've uploaded to get a better insight.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yet another temple”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Impressive, but not anything that you won't see in thousands of different places in Thailand.
Not worth the hassle of getting off the train.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Escape from the monkeys.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a historical monument that the city and the government should kept well maintained. There are bats inside that should be taken care of since they can slowly damage the site.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
246 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“It's a Monkey temple - see similar posting :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's a Monkey temple - see similar posting for additional details. In short, it's not worth the trop to see it. Nice, but badly located (railways, roundabout),

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prang Sam Yot (Wat San Phra Kan) also viewed

Lop Buri, Lopburi Province
Lop Buri, Lopburi Province
 
Lop Buri, Lopburi Province
Lop Buri, Lopburi Province
 

Been to Prang Sam Yot (Wat San Phra Kan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prang Sam Yot (Wat San Phra Kan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Prang Sam Yot (Wat San Phra Kan) to your Saves list