We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Noom Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lop Buri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noom Guest House
Save
You added Noom Guest House to your Saves list
15 - 17 Phayakamjad Rd | Tumbon Thahin, Lop Buri 15000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Lop Buri B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Warning: Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at Noom because of the convenient location and the rooms appeared charming. We stayed in one of the bungalow rooms (Lotus). It was a charming room with bathroom and heated shower. However none of that mattered when we woke up the next morning with bites. We inspected the bed and discoverd telltale signs of bedbugs then we found a few meandering about the head of the bed. We did let the very gracious manager know and be seemed quite concerned.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    40
    17
    13
    10
See reviews for
9
40
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After travelling 2 ½ hours by train from Bangkok to Lop Buri (28 Baht per adult, 3rd class) it was very welcoming to be greeted by Wat Prasrirettanamahathat, one of the numerous ruins of the area. A stone throw away from the Train Station is the ever famous Noom Guesthouse which was highly recommended in most of the guide books. I paid 350B for a basic but nice Fan-bungalow in the backyard of the guesthouse. Unfortunately the toilet of the attached bathroom was out of order; however the shared bathrooms were clean and just across the yard. Free wifi is available in the restaurant and the signals were good in some of the rooms.
People are very friendly and helpful and you get a little city map where you can find the ruins that are in walking distance. There are different kinds of day trips available (Rock Climbing, Bat Caves) and they can also organize tickets for on going trips. Mopeds for rental cost 300B per day, but I opted to do the walk by myself as most of the ruins are not too far. There is a nice evening market for good and cheap food such as Thai Rotis (pancakes with egg) & Noodle Soup by the Train Station, which I would highly recommend.
One thing has to be said; at the time I was there they definitely had a Bed Bug problem. After the first night I thought there were just many mosquitoes, but after the second night I knew it was Bed Bugs also because I found them walking over my backpack when I kept travelling! ...It takes a lot of patience and chemicals to get rid of them!
Overall a nice place to stay, but talk to them and make sure they have solved that problem.

Room Tip: Overall a nice place to stay, but talk to them and make sure they have solved the Bed Bug problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very nice owners, unique bedrooms and great value. Shared bathroom was clean, room was clean too. Location was in the heart of town a little noisy in the morning but what can ya do! Noom guesthouse also has a reataraunt across the street which was a 6.5/10 just because it seemed to be flavorless

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I think we paid 300 baht a night for our double room, so about £6. It only had a fan, but we only stayed for 1 night so this wasn't a problem. We also had hot water which is great, a lot of basic hotels don't offer this.

The staff were lovely, can't fault them. Really helpful and friendly.

The room was fine, we were tired from travelling so we slept really well.

Lopburi is worth a visit. Even though there's monkeys seemingly everywhere in Thailand, Lopburi is an interesting place, and it had a really nice atmosphere. The Chinese Thai restaurant recommended in the Lonely Planet book is the best place to eat there. Fantastic food, and walking distance from Noom. It's literally packed with locals into the early hours of the morning!

Be careful - the monkeys will take anything they can. Don't be one of those tourists that wears their sunglasses to go and visit the temple - unless you want them stolen by a monkey! We had one bag with us, and a monkey tried to unzip that but we managed to shake him off! We didn't see anyone get bitten by a monkey, but do be sensible, they are wild animals!

Noom is in a great location, very close to the station and Lopburi sights. Worst thing was cleanliness - the place needed a good scrub, even the fan was covered in dust - bit gross! Fine for one night though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

About us:
My boyfriend an me travelled in december 2012 to thailand. We are a backpackers who try to get clean and safe budget guesthouses without reservation/on the fly. Fan-rooms are prefered because you will get used to the climate faster (and it's cheaper). We travel with sleeping bags, locks, powerstrip, toiletpaper, towels etc. so we will not shun a guesthouse if you get no free soap there.

Review:
We arrived in Lop Buri around noon and headed straight to this Inn. We weren't the first ones but there were enough rooms left. The owner was really friendly and helpfull. He gave us a map and also told us which temples etc. were open and which not because of the Kings birthday (december 5th). Our room was in the second building on the top floor. The size was nice but the furniture was a bit old. We payed 300B if I remember correctly and had towels provided. The shared bathroom had hot water and was located on the ground floor. The room was clean and the house itself too and the furniture there was vintage for example a fridge from the 1970's as a book shelf. In the entrance hall and in front of the house were places to rest. The house had a fence (because of the monkeys?) and therefore we got two keys.
We woke up at december 6.th and the nikolaus (aka my boyfriend) took some seets into my shoe. Unfortunately there were ants and I had to throw away the fudge :(
There was free wifi but (because of the monkeys?) there were some electrical power outrages.

Resume:
Nice and simple Guesthouse with great service but something was missing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed in a 3 bed doorm for 150 baht a night, I had fan & room was very clean, used shared bathroom which was also very clean. They own a second guest house round the corner where u can get a western breakfast. Location is good most things are in walking distance

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed one night at Noom Guesthouse and got literally hundreds of bedbug bites in one night. Very itchy. We told the management and they were indifferent so they will not be doing anything about it soon. We then took them with us in our luggage and got bitten again. This caused a lot of trouble at the end of our trip and we had to wash and heat all our belongings so we did not take them home. Bed bugs are very contagious.

Please do not stay there its not worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Noom Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noom Guest House

Address: 15 - 17 Phayakamjad Rd | Tumbon Thahin, Lop Buri 15000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Lopburi Province > Lop Buri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lop Buri
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Noom Guest House Lopburi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noom Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.