We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lampang Wiengthong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lampang Wiengthong Hotel to your Saves list
Lampang Wiengthong Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138/109 Phaholyothin Road,Suandok, Lampang 52100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Lampang
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good location, but very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The bed wasn't bad, the bathroom and room decor were quite dated. The breakfast in the morning was a buffet, I tasted most dishes and enjoyed the food.

I caught a horse drawn coach to a local restaurant in the evening. I would definitely suggest that you try out a horse drawn cart, experience something local.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    19
    16
    5
See reviews for
1
11
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

nothing special and charging for WiFi is a no-no in this day and age - staff also were uninterested

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Chiang mai, the reason for choosing this particular hotel was for its swimming pool (apparently there are only two hotels in lampang with pools), however we should have looked at it before booking! There's nothing particularly wrong with the room itself, although it didn't have a balcony but the pool was very murky with no loungers so didn't use it. Breakfast is included in the price but wasnt very appetising. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We, a group of professionals had to stay in this hotel in the month of July 2011 and then in Sept 2011. What a mess in the reception area as it was converted to sell flea market goods. Totally messed up!! We all felt cheated for the environment. We went to the breakfast room.. Oh my God, it looked like a crowded bus stop and service was so poor. Unfortunately, we do not have good property in this town.

Room Tip: No tip is required! Best advise is to stay away from this property, if you can!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

En route to Bangkok from chiang Rai, I needed somewhere to rest, this place popped up on my search, and judging by the trip around the town it was probably the better choice.

This place is well dated, and in it's hay day was probably something else to be seen, sadly today it is just a stop off for travellers and the whole place is in a time warp basking on its glory days of the 1950's.

I was comfortable enough, and had a meal in the restaurant which was very nice, and not over priced. There was free water provided in the room and a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities.

If you need a place to stay when travelling through Thailand then this place is OK, go with an open mind and think It's just for the night and you should be ok.

Room Tip: ask for a deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel was probably quite nice when it was built, but such a description could not be afforded it now. It's tired, dog-eared around the edges, and is in desperate need of refurbishment. Exposed wiring in the rooms, stained carpets and dingy dirty bathrooms are it's current offering.
The staff too are in need of a makeover. The reception staff in particular appear uninterested, and at not time appear to put the guest first. Whilst staying on the 10th floor my wife called the reception to ask if they could send up a wifi voucher to our room. We were told that they would not be able to do this, as there was nobody available to bring the voucher to us. Yet when I made the journey down to the reception 2 minutes later I found 5 members of the reception staff sitting watching the tv.

The breakfast food is awful, the wifi 'speed' appalling and hotel offers very little value for money.

The only positive that I can say for it is that it's better than the Wienglakor Hotel across the street.

In summary: awful, avoid if you can.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel is a little out of city center, but the province is so small it didn't take long to get anywhere. It's close to night flea market which offer varieties of Thai gift ideas. It also very close to TESCO LOTUS & BIG C for those who needs to have western style market. There are several inner city traveling methods, Including the infamous Lampang's " Horse and carriage ride". FUN and cheap!...Make sure you bargain with several carriage owners for the best price. We received approx. 30% off our quoted fare.

The hotel: Room is small, need updating but clean. The staffs barely speak English, but it was expected since it's out of Bangkok region. They are not overly friendly and without much of a smile, but they did their job. The hotel breakfast was average at best.

Best part of Lampang: GREAT FOOD (very spicy), and its the HUB for Thai wooden style furniture.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lampang Wiengthong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lampang Wiengthong Hotel

Address: 138/109 Phaholyothin Road,Suandok, Lampang 52100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Lampang Province > Lampang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Lampang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lampang Wiengthong Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Lampang Wiengthong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lampang Wiengthong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.